SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method.
Below is a list of authoritative research handbooks available through the library's collection. To see a full list of titles click here.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Collection by 
The Practice of Social Research by 
Research Design by 
The SAGE Handbook of Innovation in Social Research Methods by 
SAGE Handbook of Mixed Methods in Social and Behavioral Research by 
The Oxford Handbook of Multimethod and Mixed Methods Research Inquiry by 
Case Study Research by 
Discovering Qualitative Methods by 
Research Design by 
Creative Research Methods in the Social Sciences by 
Case Study Research and Applications by 
Frameworks for Thinking: a handbook for teaching and learning by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Handbook for new teachers by
This resource book was compiled in September 2001 from two previous publications--the Beginning teachers' handbook and the Teachers on call handbook. The book is designed to help teachers on call understand the services and resources of the B.C. Teachers' Federation, enhance classroom-management skills, and improve job-search skills. Practical tips and information on beginning your career as a teacher on call and as a classroom teacher, classroom management and teaching strategies, resources available, and job search strategies are among the many articles included in this resource booklet.
Handbook for Qualities of Effective Teachers by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
A Handbook for the Art and Science of Teaching by
What will I do to establish and communicate learning goals, track student progress, and celebrate success? -- What will I do to help students effectively interact with new knowledge? -- What will I do to help students practice and deepen their understanding of new knowledge? -- What will I do to help students generate and test hypotheses about new knowledge? -- What will I do to engage students? -- What will I do to establish or maintain classroom rules and procedures? -- What will I do to recognize and acknowledge adherence and lack of adherence to classroom rules and procedures? -- What will I do to establish and maintain effective relationships with students? -- What will I do to communicate high expectations for all students? -- What will I do to develop effective lessons organized into a cohesive unit?
Handbook of Contemporary Learning Theories by
The Transitive Nature of Contemporary Learning Theory / Robert R. Mowrer, Stephen B. Klein -- A Componential Theory of Pavlovian Conditioning / Allan R. Wagner, Susan E. Brandon -- The Extended Comparator Hypothesis: Learning by Contiguity, Responding by Relative Strength / James C. Denniston, Hernan I. Savastano, Ralph R. Miller -- Experimental Extinction / Robert A. Rescorla -- Motivational Modes in Behavior Systems / William Timberlake -- Theories of Conditioning and Timing / Russell M. Church, Kimberly Kirkpatrick -- Contingency Learning and Causal Reasoning / A.G. Baker, Robin A. Murphy, Frederic Vallee-Tourangeau, Rick Mehta -- Incentive Processes in Instrumental Conditioning / Bernard W. Balleine -- Perceptual Learning: Association and Differentiation / Geoffrey Hall -- Autoshaping and Drug-Taking / Arthur Tomie -- Neurobiology of Reinforcement: Interaction Between Dopamine and Cholecystokinin Systems / Norberto J. DeSousa, Franco J. Vaccarino -- Effects of Uncontrollable Aversive Events: Some Unsolved Puzzles / Vincent M. LoLordo, Tracy L. Taylor -- The Attenuating Effects of Drug Preexposure on Taste Aversion Conditioning: Generality, Experimental Parameters, Underlying Mechanisms, and Implications for Drug Use and Abuse / Anthony L. Riley, Gregory R. Simpson -- The Neurotic Paradox: Attempts by Two-Factor Fear Theory and Alternative Avoidance Models to Resolve the Issue Associated With Sustained Avoidance Responding in Extinction / Donald J. Levis, Karen E. Brewer.
Handbook of Reading Interventions by
Comprehensive, authoritative, and designed for practical utility, this handbook presents evidence-based approaches for helping struggling readers and those at risk for literacy difficulties or delays. Leading experts explain how current research on all aspects of literacy translates into innovative classroom practices. Chapters include clear descriptions of effective interventions for word recognition, spelling, fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, and writing, complete with concrete examples and teaching scripts. Coverage also encompasses preschool literacy instruction and interventions for older readers, English language learners, and students with learning disabilities, as well as peer-mediated and tutoring approaches
Handbook of Reading Research by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Literacy and Bilingualism: a handbook for all teachers by
Approaches with focus on writing -- Approaches with focus on reading -- Approaches with choice of focus -- Implementation and assessment -- Learning from students' performance.
The Oxford Handbook of Developmental Psychology by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
v. 1. Body and mind -- v. 2. Self and other.
Preparing a Course: practical strategies for teachers, lecturers and trainers by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The SAGE Handbook of Philosophy of Education by
What is philosophy of education? / D.C. Phillips -- Schools of thought in philosophy of education / Robin Barrow -- The philosophy of education and educational theory / David Carr -- The philosophy of education and educational practice / Richard Pring -- Plato and education / Ieuan Williams -- Rousseau's 'Emile' and educational legacy / Jack Martin, Nathan Martin -- John Dewey and educational pragmatism / James Scott Johnston -- T.S. Eliot, education and culture / Andrew Reid -- R.S. Peters: liberal traditionalist / M.A.B. Degenhardt -- Poststructuralism, postmodernism and education / Richard Smith -- Feminism and education / Cris Mayo, Barbara Stengel -- Education and the Catholic tradition / Kevin Williams -- Gazetteer of educational thinkers / Robert Manery -- The professional status of teaching / Timothy Reagan -- Teaching and pedagogy / David T. Hansen, Megan J. Laverty -- The wider ethical dimensions of education and teaching / Hugh Sockett -- Moral and citizenship education / J. Mark Halstead -- Indoctrination / Richard Bailey -- Knowledge and truth / Harvey Siegel -- The value of knowledge / Brenda Almond -- Concepts of mind / Christine McCarthy -- Learning / Andrew Davis -- Motivation and learning / Frederick S. Ellett Jr., David P. Erickson -- Transferable skills / Stephen Johnson -- Educational assessment / John Halliday -- Inclusion and diversity / Penny Enslin, Nicki Hedge -- Equality and justice / Claudia Ruitenberg, Daniel Vokey -- Individual and community aims in education / John P. Portelli, Francine Menashy -- Art and aesthetics in education / Constantin Koopman -- Religious education / James C. Conroy, Robert A. Davis -- Physical education / Mike McNamee, Richard Bailey -- Philosophical questions about learning technologies / Craig A. Cunningham, Briana L. Allen -- Personal and social education / Graham Haydon -- Education and the environment / Michael Bonnett.
Teaching to Learn, Learning to Teach: a handbook for secondary school teachers by
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 708-747) and indexes.
Encyclopedia of Education
Includes bibliographical references and index. v. 1. AACSB-Commerce -- v. 2. Common-Expertise -- v. 3. Faculty-Hutchins -- v. 4. IEA-Lowenfeld -- v. 5. Macdonald-Putnam -- v. 6. Race-State -- v. 7. States-Zirbes -- v. 8. Appendixes. Index.
Encyclopedia of Educational Research by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
International Education: an encyclopedia of contemporary issues and systems by
Topics in international education. Introduction -- Sociopolitical and cultural issues in education -- Gender and education -- Formal education -- Informal education -- Content, curriculum, and resources -- Intellectual and motor development -- Technologies and global education -- Institutions of education throughout the world -- Systems of education throughout the world. Africa -- East Asia -- Australia, New Zealand, and Melanesia -- Europe -- North America and Caribbean -- South America -- Post-Soviet nations.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Dictionary of Developmental and Educational Psychology by
Includes bibliographies and index.
Dictionary of Education Terms by 
Dictionary of Multicultural Education by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
International Dictionary of Adult and Continuing Education by Can't find a book or book chapter, article, thesis or dissertation, or multimedia that you need?
If we don't have the item in our collection, you can request it through interlibrary loan at no cost for students.
