Business Source Complete provides the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. The database offers full text from 11,200 sources including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals, country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch, detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies as well as Bernstein's White and Black Book series with financial information.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is more than a modern English dictionary: while it provides current meanings and pronunciation, it also traces the history of each word using quotations to illustrate past usage. Quarterly updates ensure the Oxford English Dictionary stays current with new words and revised entries.
SimplyAnalytics Canada is a web-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Additionally, UNBC users have access to the premium D&B business directory, providing detailed information on more than 1.3 million Canadian businesses including: sales volume, key contact information and number of employees.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India. Coverage from 1604-1804.
19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the British Empire and the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others. This collection also includes some Canadian journals.
British Literary Manuscripts Online presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Coverage from 1100-1900.
Canadiana Online is a collection of historical documents from the early years of Canada, including newspapers, journals, primary source monographs, and government documents such as bills, acts, regulations, and treaties. Coverage includes 1500s to 1930.
Chatham House Online Archive contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the world-leading independent international affairs policy institute founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference." This collection includes "access to the full text of two of Chatham House's flagship periodicals, International Affairs and The World Today. Additionally, the archive offers unique access to thousands of hours of audio recordings of Chatham House lectures and their fully searchable transcripts, offering valuable insight into the experiences and opinions of key figures in international affairs.
The Daily Mail archive includes both the regular editions of the newspaper as well as the Atlantic Editions, printed on board the transatlantic cruise liners between 1923 and 1931. Coverage from 1896-2004.
"Eighteenth Century Collections Online contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800." These works are full-text searchable; for some, multiple editions are available.
Indigenous Peoples of North America provides "insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century." This collection includes "diverse manuscripts; book collections; newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations; materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages."
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database "includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports."
The JSTOR Sustainability Collection contains thousands of journals, books, and academic and policy reports related to how society and the environment impact each other. Subtopics include urban planning and development, population geography, natural resources, agriculture and forestry, and environmental engineering, policy, and conservation.
Liberty magazine was a popular weekly American magazine; the archive includes all content, including ads and original contributions from artists, writers, celebrities, and statesmen. The magazine captured the lifestyles, attitudes, fads, and fortunes of working-class and middle-class America during two significant historical events: the Great Depression and World War II. Coverage from 1924-1950.
The Making of the Modern world focuses on how trade and wealth shaped all aspects of the modern western world from 1450 to 1914. This large collection of rare books, serials, and primary source materials is full-text searchable and covers a wide array of topics such as politics, legal and religious history, women's studies, economics, and industry.
Nineteenth Century Collections is a multidisciplinary primary source collection focused on the "long nineteenth century." Sub-collections include: worldwide politics, culture, and commerce; science and technology; literature; feminism and suffrage; photography; and, religion and spirituality.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers contains newspapers of all sizes and scopes, including rural and small town papers, national dailies, and newsletters published by groups such as African Americans, Native Americans, women's movements, labour groups, political parties, and many others. Every article is full-text searchable, and digitations of these newspapers include advertisements and illustrations. Coverage from 1800-1899.
Odesi is a repository of Canadian social sciences data, including public use microdata files (PUMFs) and statistical tables from Statistics Canada, as well as public opinion polling data from companies such as Gallup Canada and Ipsos Reid. Users can explore, analyze, subset, and download datasets.
The Picture Post was Britain's pioneer photojournalism newspaper, capturing everything from daily life to international events. This archive includes every photograph, article, and editorial published, including coverage of World War II and Nazi Germany, the Korean War, and postwar reconstruction in Britain. Coverage from 1938-1957.
From 1841 to 1992 Punch was the world's most celebrated magazine of humour and satire - imitated, parodied and pirated from America to India and Japan. The Punch Historical Archive will allow users to navigate and search all issues, seasonal numbers and almanacs of this iconic publication, providing a unique insight into the politics, culture and society of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Coverage from 1500 to the early 1990s.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive brings together historical books, legal documents, court records, portraits, maps, manuscripts, monographs, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals from different countries. It covers a wide spectrum of interests related to the history of slavery: legal issues; the Caribbean; children and women under slavery; modes of resistance; and much more. Coverage from 1490-1963.
Smithsonian Collections Online "combines rare 19th and 20th century archival materials on topics such as the evolving modes of flight, World's Fairs, and trade literature, with recent and backfile issues of Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine."
State Papers Online is a full text collection of reports, parliamentary drafts, correspondence, and memoranda from ambassadors, civil servants, and provincial administrators in Early Modern Britain, from Henry VIII to George III. Coverage from 1509-1782.
The Economist Historical Archive contains every issue of the Economist published between 1843 and 2015. These digitized issues are full-text searchable while retaining the original page layout, including advertisements and images.
The Financial Times was launched in 1888 as a chronicle of global financial and economic events; it later expanded to include energy, industry, management, personal finance and international politics. This collection includes full-text searchable images of each page published from the first issue up to 2010, including photographs, advertisements and illustrations. Coverage from 1888-2010.
The Independent is a daily non-partisan British newspaper that includes articles on topics such as electoral reform, foreign policy, immigration, and environmental issues from writers across the political spectrum. Coverage from 1986-2016.
The Listener was developed as a way of accessing BBC broadcasts, both radio and television, and commentary through print. Upholding the BBC's mission to inform, educate, and entertain the general public, it includes articles on current events, literature and poetry, culture, history, and science. Coverage from 1929-1991.
The Sunday Times newspaper (which is a separate editorial entity from The Times newspaper) specialized in "hard-hitting and investigative journalism, with in-depth information and widely researched, long-term news stories." Covering social, cultural, and political events in the United Kingdom and around the world, this full-text searchable collection includes over 180 years of cover-to-cover weekly issues, special editions, and supplements. Coverage from 1822-2006.
Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the world's most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 1930s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s. Coverage from 1902-2014.
Documents contained in U.S. Declassified Documents Online come from collection editors who actively monitor the release of formerly classified documents from presidential libraries as well as numerous major releases of declassified documents from the Atomic Energy Commission, Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), Department of Defense, Department of Justice, Department of State, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), National Security Council, White House, and other executive agencies. Coverage from 1900-2008.