Skip to main content

Citation Styles

Links to citation guides including Chicago, APA, MLA and more!

EndNote

EndNote is an online citation management tool. Users can track citations, organize them into folders, attach full-text articles, and export bibliographies. To create an account, users need to: enter EndNote Web (use the link above) from a computer at UNBC; click on Create an Account; and, enter the required information.

EndNote has also put together some tutorials and training videos.

Creating an EndNote Account

How to use EndNote

Begin by accessing EndNote via the library's homepage. If you are off campus, you will have to log in using your UNBC credentials. 

Log in to EndNote. Please note, this account is external to the library. 

EndNote is a citation management system that allows you to create records manually or import them directly from another database.

Creating Manual Citation Records:

  1. Begin by clicking on the "COLLECT" tab
  2. Select "NEW REFERENCE"
  3. Enter in pertinent bibliographic information

4. Always ensure that you save the reference

Importing 

  1. Log in to EndNote and keep it open in a separate tab or browser window. Doing this ensures ease of use when importing citations.
  2. Open the desired database in a separate tab. Select the items you wish to export.

3. Follow the instructions listed in your chosen database to export your records. Ensure you select EndNote as the export option.

4. A new tab will open and EndNote will then import the records. To view your newly imported records click on the "MY REFERENCES" tab.

5. The imported records will be in the unfiled folder.

Migrating your Refworks data to EndNote Web

Export from Refworks

  • Login to your Refworks account
  • Navigate to the folder you wish to export (while you can export all of your citations if you use folders we recommend exporting and importing on a folder by folder basis).
  • Go to References >> Export (you may need to enable pop-ups in your browser )
  • In the resulting popup select "all in list" from the "References to include from" option
  • In the "Select an Export Format" you should select the default - "Bibliographic Software..."
  • Click "Export Reference"  (Your browser may automatically download the .txt file or it may open it in a new browser tab. If it opens in a new browser tab simply navigate to File and save the page as a .txt file.)
  • Repeat for each Refworks folder


Import to Endnote Web

  • Login to Endnote Web at http://myendnoteweb.com
  • Navigate to Collect >> Import References
  • Choose the file you just downloaded from Refworks
  • Select the Import Option "Refman RIS" NOT Refworks Import
  • In the "To" drop down select "New group"
  • Click Import
  • At the resulting prompt enter the name of the "folder" you exported from Refworks
  • When import is complete check that all references imported and that the data looks great.
  • Repeat for each Refworks folder you exported

Exporting from Ebsco Databases

Exporting from Web of Science

Exporting from Science Direct

Cite While You Write