Skip to Main Content

Consumer Health: Useful Databases

This guide is intended to be a starting point for finding consumer health resources.

Databases & Indexes

Please see the suggested databases on the "Finding Articles" tab.

HerbMed
An interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health.
Native American Ethnobotany - University of Michigan

Journal articles in library databases

Academic Search Premier
CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
Cochrane Reviews
Medline (Ovid)
PubMed
Sage Premier
Wiley Online Library

Open Access Journals, Databases and Indexes

Directory of Open Access Journals
e-HLbc, Free resources for health professionals
An increasing amount of health information is available for free online and on mobile devices to meet the demands of busy health students, researchers, practitioners and students.
Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health
Free public health databases
Free Medical Journals: PubMed Search - HardinMD

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

https://unbc.libcal.com/appointments/

Contact Us

Frequently Asked Questions
Check out our FAQs!
In Person
Drop by the Research Help Desk today!
Email
library@unbc.ca
Call
Have a question? We are available at (250) 960-6475
Text a Librarian
Have a research questions? Text us! (250) 999-0478

Last Updated: Jan 11, 2024 1:44 PM
URL: https://libguides.unbc.ca/consumerhealth
Print Page

Subjects: Consumer Health, Health Sciences

Tags: aboriginal, aging, alternative, complementary, consumer, elderly, health, multilingual, public

© Copyright 2016 The University of Northern British Columbia | Privacy Policy | Website Feedback