Subject Guides: Social Work: Databases

Finding Journal Articles

Indexes and databases serve as a "table of contents" to thousands of journals and are the most efficient and effective tools to use when searching for literature in your field. Listed below are the names of databases to get you started on the research journey.

Databases

Academic search complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a large multidisciplinary resource that includes the full text for most of the publications in its index.
ILL: allowed for non-commercial libraries only
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Social work abstracts This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), Social Work Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems. This resource is aimed at researchers seeking scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more.
CINAHL complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL (the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides full text for almost 1,400 current nursing and allied health journals & other publications dating back to 1937. Indexing and abstracts are available for over 5,300 journals. This database covers nursing (including 50 nursing specialities), biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health & 17 allied health disciplines.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) indexes a large collection of documents and journals related to education, including journals in the Current Index of Journals in Education and the Resources in Education Index. Of the over 1.4 million citations in ERIC, nearly 350,000 include access to the full text.

iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. This initiative began in 2005 at the University of Saskatchewan as a resource for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community and currently links to nearly 50,000 items. Anyone can use the freely available materials in the iPortal but some resources are licensed and may only be available from your own library.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

All social work databases

Evidence-Based Practice Resources

Evidence-based practice refers to "the conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the case of individual patients" (Sackett et al., 1996, 71). The resources listed below provide information on programs, interventions, and therapeutic methods in the field of Social Work.

Social work reference center This link opens in a new window Social Work Reference Center is an evidence-based collection including quick lessons, care sheets, clinical assessment tools, and patient education information.

Subject Librarian

Kealin McCabe

Email Me

Contact:

Library: 5-483

250-960-6473

Geoffrey R. Weller Library

Social Work: Databases

Finding Journal Articles

Databases

Evidence-Based Practice Resources

Subject Librarian

Reach Us

About Us

Services

Resources