Skip to main content

About Us: Scholarships

The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship

The Office of Graduate Research, with the generous assistance of an anonymous donation, is pleased to announce the creation of The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship. Up to two awards per year with a value of $2,500 each will be awarded to full-time UNBC graduate students in any discipline who are pursuing archival research at the Northern BC Archives for their graduate thesis or project.

Check out our scholarship page or brochure for more information:

Applications accepted: October 15, 2019 to March 1, 2020

Application Instructions: Applicants must apply online through their "myUNBC" portal. Applicants must provide a detailed description of their research proposal including an in-depth explanation as to which archival materials from the NBCA they are interested in researching.

For additional information and criteria, please see the UNBC Scholarship, Bursary, and Awards Guide for the scholarship.

Apply now!

Requirements

This award is only available to full time UNBC graduate students in any discipline at the graduate level of her/his program. Applicants must provide a description of their research proposal including an in-depth explanation as to which archival materials from the NBCA they propose to research for their thesis or project.

When developing your proposal, check out our subject based research guides. These guides provides an overview of significant archival holdings at UNBC available for academic research. Northern BC Archives’ holdings include unique materials not found anywhere else that document significant developments in BC & Northern Canada since the late 19th to late 20th century.

Recipient Selection: Senate Committee on Scholarships and Bursaries on recommendation by an Adjudication Committee to be identified by the Office of Research

Notes: The student’s archival research must be undertaken at the Northern BC Archives and the scholarship award must be acknowledged by the awards recipient(s) in their subsequent graduate thesis or graduate report. It is also proposed that the successful applicant be available to provide a future presentation on their NBCA-based archival research and, if applicable, that an open access licensed copy of the completed work be deposited with the Weller Library’s Institutional Repository.

About the Award and the NBCA

The intent of the Northern British Columbia Archives is to provide a scholarship for graduate students who pursue archival research at the NBC Archives for their graduate thesis or graduate project. It may also encourage overall future use of the holdings of the Northern BC Archives for academic research work.

The Northern BC Archives acquires unique holdings related to the industrial, economic, and technological development of Northern British Columbia. Many of the Archives’ major holdings provide key evidence of the impact of natural resource developments on Northern BC’s economy, society, and natural landscapes - key themes of UNBC’s Research Areas. As well the Archives holds records relating to literary and cultural developments, including unpublished records of Canadian/BC writers from Northern BC. Three bodies of archival records held by NBCA have been designated by the Department of Canadian Heritage as archival records of outstanding provincial and national significance: the Honourable Iona Campagnolo fondsthe Bridget Moran fonds, and the Brian Fawcett Literary fonds. The Foundation supporting this scholarship has provided significant financial support towards the creation and enhancement of many of these finding aids, virtual exhibits, and research guides and its continued support and valued contributions has led to this new opportunity to now promote these archival records for in-depth graduate level research.

Donor: UNBC (Office of Research and Graduate Programs) and Anonymous Foundation

Award Established: January 2018

Past Theses Based Upon Research Using the NBCA Holdings

  1. Daniel Sims (UofA PhD research, 2013) - analysis of the Ray Williston fonds
    Citation: Sims, Daniel. Dam Bennett: The Impacts of the W.A.C. Bennett Dam and Williston Lake Reservoir on the Tsek'ehne of Northern British Columbia. University of Alberta, 2018. https://doi.org/10.7939/R33J39G5V
  2. Brendan Plummer (SFU MA thesis, 2013) – analysis of the Cassiar Asbestos Mining Corp. fonds through which he investigated the linkages between Aboriginal land issues and Cassiar environmental issues.
  3. Jeffrey Weingarten (McGill English, PhD dissertation research, 2012) – analysis of the Barry Mckinnon fonds with particular focus upon his correspondence with other literary figures in Canada including Purdy, Newlove and Suknaski.
    Citation: Weingarten, Jeffrey. Lyric historiography in Canadian modernist poetry, 1962-1981. Montréal: McGill University, 2014. 
    Full text available through Theses Canada http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/services/theses/Pages/item.aspx?idNumber=880373276. See works cited for "Barry McKinnon fonds".
  4. Jonathan Peyton (UBC Geography, PhD dissertation research, 2010) – analysis of Cassiar Asbestos Mining Corp. fonds through which he investigated community memory and process of deindustrialization in the north.
    Citation: Peyton, Jonathan Wynne. Unbuilt environments: unrealized geographies of energy and enterprise in the Stikine. Vancouver: University of British Columbia, 2011. 
    Full text available through Theses Canada http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/services/theses/Pages/item.aspx?idNumber=1032997939. See pages 39, 165-166, 184-188, 190, 338, 344.
  5. Yuka Izu (UNBC Masters thesis, 2002): What do Inuit drawings mean to Nisga'a children? – Analysis of the Inuit art drawings held by UNBC in the Art collection.
    Citation: Izu, Yuka. What do Inuit drawings mean to Nisga'a children? Prince George, BC: University of Northern British Columbia, 2003.
    Full text available through Theses Canada and UNBC https://doi.org/10.24124/2003/bpgub269

Other academic researchers (past and current):

  • Dr. Jon Swainger – UNBC – history of university including Interior University Society – review of IUS records (2014-2012)
  • Dr. Patricia Roy – University of Victoria (Professor Emeritus, History Dept).  – analysis of HGT Perry fonds – post-war rehabilitation council activities in BC. (Fall 2012)
  • Dr. Dominique Clement, University of Alberta, - analysis of archival records from the PG Women’s Centre – comparative sociology research of women’s resource centres in Canada in 1970s-1980s – looking at history of women/feminism activism’ and ‘human rights’ issues. (Research conducted in 2010)
  • Dr. Robert McDonald – University of British Columbia (Professor History) – analysis of HGT Perry fonds - Perry’s political career in BC in 1940s-1960s in WAC Bennett government. (2009)
  • Dr. Suzanne LeBlanc – UNBC (Previous faculty member, Women’s Studies) – analysis of Cassiar holdings for the publication “Cassiar – A Jewel in the Wilderness”, (2004)

How Can We Help You?

Professional Archivists are available to:

  • help with reference inquiries and guide you to the best archival resources
  • give instruction on accessing finding aids

Our spacious reading room is open to all for in-house research. Here you will find:

  • in-house finding aids
  • reference materials
  • a variety of media players suitable for playing/viewing multi-media archival material
  • two computer terminals for searching our database
  • reproduction services

Northern BC Archives

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed 12:30 PM-1:00 PM daily
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays
Appointments Recommended

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)