Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About Us: Services

Northern BC Archives Services during COVID-19

Northern BC Archives & Special Collections is open for virtual research requests. Email archives@unbc.ca with your queries or to set up a virtual research assistance appointment.

The physical space on the 4th floor of the UNBC Library building in Prince George is currently closed to public access, but archival material is still accessible through digitized-on-demand and lending workflows. See our Temporary Lending Service Plan and Temporary Digitization Service Plan below for additional details.

COVID-19 Temporary Lending Service Plan

Scope This Temporary Lending Service Plan applies only to the borrowing of Special Collections materials, in good condition, during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic which requires all citizens to maintain physical distancing in their daily activities. Archival material is not available for loan. This Temporary Lending Service Plan is not available to the general public or to UNBC Library community borrowers.
Lending Service Overview In continued support of the research objectives of UNBC faculty, staff, and students, NBCA patrons with active UNBC Library accounts may request items from the NBCA Special Collections for short term loan in accordance with the following guidelines.
Making a Request
  • Requests for Special Collections materials must be made via email to archives@unbc.ca and must identify title, call no., UNBC Library Card #, and estimated duration of check-out time required. An NBCA Archivist will reply to your request quickly.
  • Items requested via email will be individually assessed, wherein the fragility, rarity, and monetary value of the item being requested will be considered prior to its release for loan. 
  • If items are determined to be in poor physical condition, to be rare, or their monetary value to be too great to release off-site, patrons will be referred to the NBCA Temporary Digitization Service Plan
  • Alternatively, the Northern BC Archives & Special Collections may work with UNBC Library acquisitions department to acquire an e-book version of the requested item, if available. 
  • If only a portion of the requested item is required, patrons will be directed to our Temporary Digitization Service Plan.
Item Checkout
  • Requested items approved for lending, will be checked-out by UNBC Library circulation staff and added to the patron’s UNBC Library account. 
  • Items will be securely packaged, and either mailed directly to the patron, or dropped off at a secure pick-up location outside the main entrance to UNBC Library.
Item Loan Period
  • The loan period will follow in accordance with regular UNBC Library loan periods.
  • Fees for late, lost, or damaged books will apply as per UNBC Library policy.
Item Return
  • Materials must be returned in secured original packaging directly to the UNBC Library Circulation Desk.
  • For items being returned via mail: materials must be returned in their original packaging, with the return mailing label provided affixed to the top of the box. Materials can be dropped off at UNBC’s regional campuses and sent without cost to the Patron via the internal UNBC mail system. Alternatively, patrons can contact the NBCA directly (archives@unbc.ca) to determine courier delivery of materials, again at no cost to the patron.
  • NBCA reserves the right to request early return of materials before the end of a loan period.

COVID-19 Temporary Digitization Service Plan

Scope This Temporary Digitization Service Plan applies to reproduction and digitization of Northern BC Archives & Special Collections materials during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.
Digitization Service Overview In continued support of the research objectives of UNBC faculty, staff, students, and the general public, NBCA patrons may request digitization of NBCA Archives and Special Collections material. This service will be provided on a first-come, first-served basis as staffing resources allow.
Conditions Materials requested for digitization must meet the following conditions:
  • Must be free from privacy, copyright, and other rights encumbrances
  • Must be able to be safely digitized using in-house NBCA digitization equipment
  • Extent of requested material must not exceed reasonable staffing capacity to digitize
Fees Reproduction fees for research or personal use will be waived. 
Reproduction fees will still apply for digitization requests for commercial purposes. See below for details.
Making a Request
  • Requests for reproductions must be made via email to archives@unbc.ca. An NBCA Archivist will reply to your request as soon as possible.
  • Items requested via email will be individually assessed, based on the above conditions.
  • Reproduction requests for commercial use require the completion of the NBCA reproduction form, available here.
  • If requested reproductions of Special Collections items are determined to suitable for lending, patrons will be referred to the NBCA Temporary Lending Service Plan.
File Delivery Turn-around time for digitization services will depend on queue and extent of material requested.
Digitized files will be delivered to the patron via email and/or Sync.com.
Credit
  • A credit line must be given for the publication, exhibition, presentation, or use of archival reproductions from the NBCA. At a minimum, the following information should be included: Northern BC Archives, UNBC Accession Number. See below for details.
  • Additional information about citing archival and special collections materials is available here.

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays

Northern BC Archives & Special Collections is open for virtual research requests during COVID. Email us at archives@unbc.ca with your queries or to set up a virtual research assistance appointment.

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)