Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Northern BC Archives: Home

Northern BC Archives & Special Collections is now open for virtual research requests. Email us at archives@unbc.ca with your queries or to set up a virtual research assistance appointment.

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays

Northern BC Archives & Special Collections is open for virtual research requests during COVID. Email us at archives@unbc.ca with your queries or to set up a virtual research assistance appointment.

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)

Archives Staff

Erica Hernandez-Read, MAS
Head, Archives & Special Collections
Email: Erica.Hernandez-Read@unbc.ca
Tel: 250-960-6603

Kim Stathers, MAS, MLIS
Archivist
Email: Kim.Stathers@unbc.ca
Tel: 250-960-6644

UNBC Northern BC Archives Logo

Search the Archives

New at Northern BC Archives

Aleza Lake Research Forest: Learning Resource Title Image

Aleza Lake Research Forest: Learning Resource

Image: 2007.1.25.6.12 - District Officers meeting at Aleza Lake Experimental Station

Title screen of

The Mark of Progress

Video created by the British Columbia Forest Service and first played for a live audience in 1959 in Prince George, BC.

Accession # 2016.5.3.16.1

Opening of Pacific Great Eastern Railway (PGE) Line in Fort St James

Pacific Great Eastern Railway Film Collection

Image: 2017.5.2.2 - Opening of Pacific Great Eastern Railway (PGE) Line in Fort St James with Premier Bennett

Group of soldiers caring for their feet

World War II Polar Bear Training Exercise Photograph Collection

Image: 2019.11.32 - [Group of soldiers caring for their feet]

Log raft guided through log boom by a boom boat and workman

Digitized photos, maps, and diagrams from the Columbia Cellulose Company, Limited fonds

Image: 2012.05.01.03.01 - Log raft guided through log boom by a boom boat and workman

Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project

Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project

Listen to the life stories of residents of the Upper Fraser communities. These forestry-based settlements thrived in the early 20th century, but as forestry practices changed so did the land and people of the Upper Fraser.

2007.1.30.2.147 - Forest Service ranger station at Aleza Lake

Digitized photos from the Aleza Lake Research Forest fonds 2007.1

Image: 2007.1.30.2.147 - Forest Service ranger station at Aleza Lake

2007.1.25.4.09 - The Results of Stand Treatment in the White Spruce Alpine Fir Type of the Northern Interior of British Columbia

Digitized reports from the Aleza Lake Research Forest fonds 2007.1

Image: 2007.1.25.4.09 - The Results of Stand Treatment in the White Spruce Alpine Fir Type of the Northern Interior of British Columbia

2009.10.3.48 - Drying nets on the racks at Nass Harbour Cannery

Digitized photos from the Fred Jeffery Photograph Collection 2009.10

Image: 2009.10.3.48 - Drying nets on the racks at Nass Harbour Cannery

Sunday in Camp, Giscome Portage

Digitized photos from the Arthur Holland Land Surveying Collection 2014.10

Image: 2014.10.1.111 - Sunday in Camp, Giscome Portage, 1910

News

Our Mandate

The Northern BC Archives & Special Collections acquires, preserves, and provides access to materials of permanent value that relate to:

  • The institutional history of UNBC
  • The culture and history of Northern British Columbia

We serve research and scholarship by making these records available to researchers, students, faculty, and the general public.

Our Holdings

Our holdings contain materials from 1697 to the present:

  • 2,719+ Linear metres of archival materials
  • 9,795+ Rare books
  • 33,000+ Photographic images
  • 3,000+ Cartographic materials
  • 1,000+ Sound and moving image recordings
  • 500+ Artworks from the University Art Collection

Privacy Notice

When you contact us at archives@unbc.ca, your email will be processed through third-party software. Although we take precautions to protect the personal data you provide to us, we cannot guarantee the security of your information when using third-party services. Our full privacy statement with additional details is available here.