Skip to main content

Natural Resource Development and Environmental Impact in Northern BC

This guide highlights the Northern BC Archives collections on natural resource development and environmental impact in Northern BC.

Search the Archives

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed 12:30 PM-1:00 PM daily
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays
Appointments Recommended

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)

Sources on Natural Resource Development in Northern BC Archives

The Northern BC Archives contains over 580 linear meters of materials related to the development of natural resources in Northern BC and their environmental impact. A small portion of these materials - usually photographs, reports, and serials - are available digitally. These records cover the history of various natural resource development industries throughout northern BC from 1912 to 2001. These records present a variety of perspectives including those of: companies such as the Cassiar Asbestos Mining Corporation (CAMC) and Northwood Pulp & Timber Limited; businessmen such as Adam Zimmerman; politicians and governments; surveyors; and finally workers in these industries and their families. These extensive collections have had little to any scholarly research attention and are full of original research potential. Browse these pages, visit our website, and contact the archives for more information about these collections.

Add to Our Collections

Much of the history and development of this province is tied to its natural resources of forests, minerals, and fish. We want to further expand our collections to show the importance of natural resource industries as well as their impact on communities to the history of Northern BC. If you, your family, or your organization have materials that could expand this area of our collections, we would love to hear from you. Please visit our page on donations for more information and contact us if you have any questions.

Digital Collections on Natural Resource Development

2007.1.30.2.147 - Forest Service ranger station at Aleza Lake

Digitized photos from the Aleza Lake Research Forest fonds 2007.1

Image: 2007.1.30.2.147 - Forest Service ranger station at Aleza Lake

2007.1.25.4.09 - The Results of Stand Treatment in the White Spruce Alpine Fir Type of the Northern Interior of British Columbia

Digitized reports from the Aleza Lake Research Forest fonds 2007.1

Image: 2007.1.25.4.09 - The Results of Stand Treatment in the White Spruce Alpine Fir Type of the Northern Interior of British Columbia

2000.1.3.1.024 - The Asbestos Sheet Aug. 1959

Digitized newspapers from the Cassiar Asbestos Corporation Ltd. fonds 2000.1

Image: 2000.1.3.1.024 - The Asbestos Sheet Aug. 1959

Unidentified man standing on a wooden road beside a steamshovel

Digitized photos from the Alexander Manson mining collection

Image: 2004.8.1.28 - Unidentified man standing on a wooden road beside a steamshovel

Digitized photos from the Northwood Pulp and Timber Ltd. fonds

Image: 2001.26.1.1516 - Woods Division - Logs/Log Decks - Log decks near Hansard Ferry and ice crossing

Digitized photos of the Parker Bonney Photograph Collection 2003.13

Image: 2003.13.1.1.016 - Forest Ranger Camp - Parsnip River

The John H. Holzworth Field Report, 1923

"Report on Trip Taken in August, September and October 1923 by John M. Holzworth in Northeastern British Columbia in the Interests of the United States Biological Survey on the Subject of Mountain Sheep and Caribou Distribution"

The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship

The Office of Graduate Research, with the generous assistance of an anonymous donation, is pleased to announce the creation of The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship. Up to two awards per year with a value of $2,500 each will be awarded to full-time UNBC graduate students in any discipline who are pursuing archival research at the Northern BC Archives for their graduate thesis or project.

Check out our scholarship page or brochure for more information:

Applications accepted: October 15, 2019 to March 1, 2020

Application Instructions: Applicants must apply online through their "myUNBC" portal. Applicants must provide a detailed description of their research proposal including an in-depth explanation as to which archival materials from the NBCA they are interested in researching.

For additional information and criteria, please see the UNBC Scholarship, Bursary, and Awards Guide for the scholarship.

Apply now!