The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Counseling
by
v. 1. Changes and challenges for counseling in the 21st century -- v. 2. Personal and emotional counseling -- v. 3. Cross-cultural counseling -- v .4. Career counseling.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence
by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 677-706) and indexes.
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
by
Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia (500 entries) that covers a wide variety of disorders, treatments, tests, and therapies, focused specifically on topics in mental health
35 Techniques Every Counselor Should Know
by
Section 1. Techniques based upon brief counseling approaches -- Scaling -- Exceptions -- Problem-free talk -- Miracle question -- Flagging the minefield -- Section 2. Techniques based upon Adlerian or psychodynamic approaches -- I-messages -- Acting as if -- Spitting in the soup -- The mutual storytelling -- Paradoxical intention -- Section 3. Techniques based upon Gestalt principles -- Empty chair -- Body movement and exaggeration -- Role reversal -- Section 4. Techniques based upon social learning approaches -- Modeling -- Behavioral rehearsal -- Role play -- Section 5. Techniques based upon cognitive approaches -- Self-talk -- Visual/guided imagery -- Reframing -- Thought stopping -- Cognitive restructuring -- Section 6. Techniques based upon behavioral approaches using positive reinforcement -- Premack principle -- Behavior chart -- Token economy -- Behavioral contract -- Section 7, Techniques based upon behavioral approaches using punishment -- Extinction -- Time out -- Response cost -- Overcorrection -- Section 8. Techniques based upon cognitive-behavioral approaches -- Rational-Emotive Behavior Therapy (REBT) -- Bibliotherapy -- Deep breathing -- Progressive Muscle Relaxation Training (PMRT) -- Systematic desensitization -- Stress inoculation training.
Appraisal Procedures for Counselors and Helping Professionals
by
Historical and philosophical foundations of appraisal -- Legal and ethical issues -- Statistical concepts -- Measurement concepts -- Process and procedures in testing -- Ability and intelligence testing -- Aptitude testing -- Achievement testing and alternate forms of assessment -- Career and employment testing -- Personality assessment -- Clinical assessment -- Assessment of development -- Environmental assessment -- Computer use in assessment -- Assessing diverse populations -- Assessment issues in education -- Communicating test results.
The Handbook of Conflict Resolution: theory and practice
by
Introduction / Morton Deutsch -- Interpersonal and Intergroup Processes -- Cooperation and Competition / Morton Deutsch -- Justice and Conflict / Morton Deutsch -- Constructive Controversy: The Value of Intellectual Opposition / David W. Johnson, Roger T. Johnson, Dean Tjosvold -- Trust, Trust Development, and Trust Repair / Roy J. Lewicki, Carolyn Wiethoff -- Power and Conflict / Peter T. Coleman -- Communication and Conflict / Robert M. Krauss, Ezequiel Morsella -- Persuasion in Negotiations and Conflict Situations / Shelly L. Chaiken, Deborah H. Gruenfeld, Charles M. Judd -- Intergroup Conflict / Ronald J. Fisher -- Problem Solving and Decision Making in Conflict Resolution / Eben A. Weitzman, Patricia Flynn Weitzman -- Intrapsychic Processes -- Judgmental Biases in Conflict Resolution and How to Overcome Them / Leigh Thompson, Janice Nadler -- Anger and Retaliation in Conflict: The Role of Attribution / Keith G. Allred -- Self-Regulation in the Service of Conflict Resolution / Walter Mischel, Aaron L. DeSmet -- Personal Differences -- Process and Outcome Goal Orientations in Conflict Situations: The Importance of Framing / Tal Y. Katz, Caryn J. Block -- Personality and Conflict / Sandra V. Sandy, Susan K. Boardman, Morton Deutsch -- The Development of Conflict Resolution Skills in Children: Preschool to Adolescence / Sandra V. Sandy, Kathleen M. Cochran -- Creativity and Change -- Creativity and Conflict Resolution: The Role of Point of View / Howard E. Gruber.
Handbook of Crisis Counseling, intervention, and Prevention in the Schools
by
General Principles of Crisis Counseling and Prevention -- Conceptualizations and General Principles of Crisis Counseling, Intervention, and Prevention / Jonathan Sandoval -- Preparing for the School Crisis Response / Stephen E. Brock -- Culture, Diversity, and Crisis / Jonathan Sandoval -- Crisis Throughout Childhood and Adolescence But Particularly Common in the Elementary School -- School and Learning: School Entry, School Failure, and the Discovery of Learning Disabilities / Colette L. Ingraham -- Divorce: Crisis Intervention and Prevention With Children of Divorce and Remarriage / Andrew M. Lamden, Mariam J. King, Ruth K. Goldman -- Bullying / Dorothea M. Ross -- Child Maltreatment / Robert Germain, Jonathan Sandoval -- Helping Children Cope With Death / Pamela Green Hawkins -- Illness: a Crisis for Children / Margaret S. Steward -- Children of Parents With Disabilities / Mari Griffiths Irvin -- Moving / Jonathan Sandoval -- School Violence and Disasters / Jonathan Sandoval, Stephen E. Brock -- Adolescent Crises -- Suicide / John M. Davis, Stephen E. Brock -- Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Questioning Youth / Suzy R. Thomas, Timothy G. Larrabee -- Adolescent Parenthood: A Crisis for Males and Females / Barbara S. Hardy -- Parent-Adolescent Crises / Marvin J. Fine, Linda D. Robert, Jonathan Sandoval -- Rape and Sexual Assault / Virginia L. Schiefelbein -- Helping Children with Eating Disorders: Quintessential Research on Etiology, Prevention, Assessment, and Treatment / Shane R. Jimerson, Renee Pavelski, Micah Orliss.
Handbook of Evidence-Based Therapies for Children and Adolescents: bridging science and practice
by
Intended for clinical child, school, and counseling psychologists; clinical social workers; and child psychiatrists, this book provides advanced clinical and counseling psychology programs. It offers evidence-based therapies for the covered disorders, and case examples, tables, and reference lists.
Handbook of Interventions That Work with Children and Adolescents: prevention and treatment
by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Handbook of Research in Emotional and Behavioral Disorders
by
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
The Handbook of School Psychology
by
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Stop the Bullying: a handbook for schools
by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 59-63).
To find journal articles, search the journal indexes covering journals in your discipline. Remember that elements of a topic may fall into other disciplines. Hence, you may find that you also need to search journal indexes that cover other disciplines.
Databases with information on Counselling:
Our access to ERIC is now on the Proquest platform.
References to published and unpublished texts on education topics sourced from journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and more.
Guide and reviews of commercially published English-language tests for educational, personality, vocational aptitude, psychological, and related areas.
Databases with Streaming Video on Counselling:
Streaming videos of experts and practitioners discussing various aspects of counseling and psychotherapy research and practice.
Not finding what you need? Here is a complete list of Education databases.
Covers the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also provides access to NCBI databases covering molecular biology. From the NIH's National Library of Medicine.
Focused on areas of the social work profession, including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems.