Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find journal articles, search the journal indexes covering journals in your discipline. Remember that elements of a topic may fall into other disciplines. Hence, you may find that you also need to search journal indexes that cover other disciplines.
CINAHL (the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides full text for almost 1,400 current nursing and allied health journals & other publications dating back to 1937. Indexing and abstracts are available for over 5,300 journals. This database covers nursing (including 50 nursing specialities), biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health & 17 allied health disciplines.
Social Work Abstracts
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), Social Work Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems. This resource is aimed at researchers seeking scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more.
Social Sciences Full Text
Social sciences full text covers concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. More than 350 key international, English-language periodicals. Indexing of periodicals provided from 1983-current; full text coverage starting 1995.
SocINDEX with full text
SocINDEX is the world's most extensive and highest quality sociology research database. It provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Below is a list of the most highly ranked journals in the field of Social Work with an emphasis on Child Welfare, according to Impact Factor and h-Index. All of these journals are electronically available to UNBC students and faculty. These titles could be a good starting point for your research.
A thesis or dissertation is an academic paper submitted for the attainment of a degree. Theses and dissertations usually represent original research, but are often unpublished. They can be a very useul source of information. In order to find theses and dissertations, check out these resources:
Unpublished theses and dissertations
Databases containing unpublished and published theses and dissertations
Theses Canada provides access to all Canadian dissertations and theses deposited at the National Library of Canada since 1998. Full text for each thesis or dissertation is available four years after publication.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses provides subject, title, and author access to American and many Canadian and international dissertations. Masters theses have been selectively indexed since 1962. Professional and honorary degrees are not included. The electronic full text of theses/dissertations published at other Canadian universities are included in Theses Canada.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) Union Catalogue
A collaborative effort of the NDLTD, OCLC, VTLS, and Scirus, the NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. For students and researchers, the Union Catalog makes individual collections of NDLTD member institutions and consortia appear as one seamless digital library of ETDs.
Evidence-based practice refers to "[t]he conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the case of individual patients" (Sackett et al., 1996, 71). The resources listed below provide information on programs, interventions, and therapeutic methods in the field of Social Work.
Drop by the Research Help Desk today!
Have a question? We are available at (250) 960-6475
Text a Librarian
Have a research questions? Text us! (250) 999-0478
Can't find a book or book chapter, article, thesis or dissertation, or multimedia that you need?
If we don't have the item in our collection, you can request it through interlibrary loan at no cost for students.