A credit line must be given for the publication, exhibition, presentation, or use of reproductions from the NBCA. Credit line to be written in the manner as follows:
Northern BC Archives, UNBC Accession No. ______.
If you are not required to use a specific citation style guide, we recommend using the How to Cite Archival Sources guide by Library and Archives Canada to cite archival sources.
View their guidelines and examples here: https://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/services-public/access-documents/Pages/archival-sources.aspx
No guideline for citing objects exists in the CMOS. We recommend citing the digital or print finding aid description for that object.
Footnotes:
Bibliography:
Northern BC Archives. "File 1994.1.1.6.2 - 'UNBC is Now Open' banner." Accessed April 15, 2019. https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/index.php/unbc-is-now-open-banner
Northern British Columbia Archives & Special Collections. The Honourable Iona Campagnolo fonds: Accession No. 2009.6. Prince George, BC: University of Northern British Columbia, n.d. https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/downloads/honourable-iona-campagnolo-fonds.pdf
Author-Date:
Provide as much information about the object and its archival context in your text.
In-text: The Nanoose Bay Lions Club banner from the 25th Anniversary Dinner in Nanoose Bay on March 29, 2003 currently housed at the Northern BC Archives (Accession no. 2009.6.11.31)...(NBCA, n.d., 237-238)
Reference list:
NBCA (Northern BC Archives & Special Collections). n.d. The Honourable Iona Campagnolo fonds: Accession No. 2009.6. Prince George, BC: University of Northern British Columbia, https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/downloads/honourable-iona-campagnolo-fonds.pdf
APA
In-text citations:
Enclose the author's surname and date in brackets (and/or the title if the author is unknown or you are citing multiple works by that author with the same date).
(Author, date)
Reference list:
General format: Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of material. [Description of material]. Name of Collection (Identification number, box #, file# or name, etc.), Name and location of repository.
Examples:
Glass fishing float in netting. [between 1974 and 1979]. [Object]. The Honourable Iona Campagnolo fonds (2009.6.13.44.04), Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George.
For more guidance/examples, refer to the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association section on Archival Documents and Collections.
MLA
In-text citations:
Give enough information to identify the source in the works-cited. Usually the author’s surname is sufficient, and/or title if citing multiple works by the same author, or an item with no known author.
Works-Cited List:
The 8th edition of the MLA Handbook provides one example for using archival reference codes but conflates manuscripts and archives, which are not the same in Canada. The contextual information that archives preserve - in the form of the fonds and reference code - is essential for object identification yet appears at the end of the citation as though it is of least priority.
This one example can be used for all formats, with the option of adding a medium/format element.
Examples:
Pewter bird figure mounted on white marble. 1976, Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC. The Honourable Iona Campagnolo fonds 2009.6.13.44.20. Statue.
