Finding aids are created by archivists and contain contextual information about the archival materials they describe. This information may come directly from the donor or record creator(s) and may not be available through other sources.
A credit line must be given for the publication, exhibition, presentation, or use of reproductions from the NBCA. Credit line to be written in the manner as follows:
Northern BC Archives, UNBC Accession No. ______.
If you are not required to use a specific citation style guide, we recommend using the How to Cite Archival Sources guide by Library and Archives Canada to cite archival sources.
View their guidelines and examples here: https://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/services-public/access-documents/Pages/archival-sources.aspx
Print/PDF Version Examples
Northern British Columbia Archives & Special Collections. The Honourable Iona Campagnolo fonds: Accession No. 2009.6. Prince George, BC: University of Northern British Columbia, n.d. https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/downloads/honourable-iona-campagnolo-fonds.pdf
Northern British Columbia Archives & Special Collections. Aleza Lake Research Forest fonds: Accession No. 2007.1. Prince George, BC: University of Northern British Columbia, 2019. https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/downloads/aleza-lake-research-forest-fonds.pdf
In-text: The Aleza Lake Research Forest was first opened in 1924 under the name Aleza Lake Experiment Station (NBCA 2019, 5).
*When referencing two or more finding aids with the same date and from the same institution in a paper, include shortened title information in the in-text citation: (NBCA, Iona Campagnolo fonds, n.d.)
NBCA (Northern British Columbia Archives & Special Collections). 2019. Aleza Lake Research Forest fonds: Accession No. 2007.1. Prince George, BC: University of Northern British Columbia. https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/downloads/aleza-lake-research-forest-fonds.pdf
Northern BC Archives. "Fonds 2009.6 - The Honourable Iona Campagnolo fonds." Accessed April 10, 2019. https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/index.php/honourable-iona-campagnolo-fonds
In-text: (NBCA, n.d.)
NBCA (Northern BC Archives). n.d. "Fonds 2007.1 - Aleza Lake Research Forest fonds." Accessed April 10, 2019. https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/index.php/aleza-lake-research-forest-fonds
There are no guidelines for citing archival finding aids in the APA Style Guide. We recommend citing finding aids in the same way other archival contents is cited.
Enclose the author's surname and date in brackets (and/or the title if the author is unknown or you are citing multiple works by that author with the same date).
General format: Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of material. [Description of material]. Name of Collection (Identification number, box #, file# or name, etc.). Name and location of repository.
Northern BC Archives. (n.d.). Adam Zimmerman fonds. [Finding Aid]. Adam Zimmerman fonds (2003.8). Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George. Retrieved from https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/index.php/zimmerman
For more guidance/examples, refer to the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association section 7.10 on Archival Documents and Collections.
Give enough information to identify the source in the works-cited. Usually the author’s surname is sufficient, and/or title if citing multiple works by the same author, or an item with no known author.
Example created through the MLA template.
Digital Finding Aid:
Northern BC Archives. "Fonds 2009.7 - Archdeacon W. H. Collison fonds." Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/index.php/archdeacon-w-h-collison-fonds. Accessed 16 April 2019.
Print Finding Aid:
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections. W.H. Collison fonds Accession No. 2009.7: File Level Inventory. University of Northern British Columbia, n.d., Prince George, BC. https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/uploads/r/northern-bc-archives-special-collections/b/c/0/bc0a70c06aaf46ed8b16cab71e8669352e1d4ce9492f844b1eb94813a6e1c390/Collison_fonds_File_Inventory-edited.pdf. Accessed 16 April 2019.