Skip to main content

Transportation Development and Impact in Northern BC

This guide highlights Northern BC Archives collections on railways, highways, and other methods of transportation across Northern BC.

Prince George Railway & Forestry Museum Society Collection (1894-1999)

2002.1.9.1.040 - Steam Locomotive, No. 859

Prince George Railway & Forestry Museum Society Collection (1894-1999) - 2002.1

The Prince George Railway & Forestry Museum Society Collection consists of textual, photographic & cartographic records related to regional developments of Canadian National, Pacific Great Eastern, BC Rail, and Grand Trunk Pacific Railways in Northern BC, including Prince George, Peace River Region, Terrace, Bulkley Valley, Hazelton and Prince Rupert. See online finding aids. Extent: 7.68 m textual records; 24 maps; 28 blueprints; 150 loose photographs; 10 negatives; 1 photo album. See links to individual Railways Series below:


Canadian National Railway Series (1914-1993) - 2002.1.1

The Canadian National Railway series consists of administrative records, safety records, and correspondence between departments, labour records, related to train movements, maintenance records, and ephemera. It includes publications concerning unionized labour, railway operation, maintenance of way, handling of hazardous materials, safety, & Royal Tours of BC 1939 and 1959.


2002.1.9.2.094 - An American Railway Ditcher at workGrand Trunk Pacific Railway Series (1900-1939) - 2002.1.2

The Grand Trunk Railway & Grand Trunk Pacific Railway Series consists of administrative records, correspondence between railways, as well as cartographic & technical drawings depicting GTP and GTPR plans of rail lines in BC. Other records include 50+ photographs of equipment, rail lines and accidents. See also R.A. Harlow Collection – GTP Surveying Collection (1914-1952) 40+ b & w photographs and album of 80+ photographs of early GTP rail developments particularly in the Prince Rupert and Bulkley Valley region.


Pacific Great Eastern Railway - 2002.1.3

Pacific Great Eastern Railway Series consists of correspondence between departments, records pertaining to train movements, and ephemera. Also includes publications concerning the topics of unionized labour, railway operation, and public interest. Also consists of maps and technical drawings depicting Pacific Great Eastern Railway lines and structures.


2002.1.9.1.020 - Five unidentified First nation men standing in, or next to, a boat pulled up to a sandy bank along the Fraser River

British Columbia Railway Series (1962-1998) - 2002.1.4

The BC Rail series consists of promotional material, time tables, fare rates, items pertaining to daily train movements and BCR operations. It includes employee manuals, employee examination material, employee seniority listings, and union agreements.

Images (top to bottom):

  • 2002.1.9.1.040 - Steam Locomotive, No. 859
  • 2002.1.9.2.094 - An American Railway Ditcher at work
  • 2002.1.9.1.020 - Five unidentified First Nation men standing in, or next to, a boat pulled up to a sandy bank along the Fraser River