Skip to main content

Northern BC Archives Digital Collections: Digitized Audio

Showcases some of the Northern BC Archives collections that are available online.

Oral Histories

Oral Histories of Northern BC

Browse our oral history collections through this guide. Many of the interview transcripts have been digitized and occasionally the audio files of the interview.

Image: 2009.6.13.49.1579 - Iona Campagnolo at interview for CBC radio

Harry Coates Oral History Interview (2013)

2006.18.1.36 - Harry Coates Oral History Interview (2013)

File consists an oral history with Harry Coates recorded by Barbara Coupe. Includes a transcript and audio recording.

Jack Carbutt Collection

2000.21 - Jack Carbutt Collection

The fonds consists of audio reels and dubbed audio cassettes of a radio programs hosted by Jack Carbutt at CKPG Radio in Prince George, and includes transcriptions in electronic and textual format.

Known in Central British Columbia as "Mr. Radio," Jack E. Carbutt made enormous contributions to the broadcasting history of both Prince George and the province of British Columbia.

Restrictions on access: None

Access Digitized Recordings

Access Finding Aid for more details

Collection includes:

Terry Bell interviews Margaret "Ma" Murray, September 6, 1964, for broadcast by CKPG in Prince George. 2000.21.1.6

Margaret Lally "Ma" Murray, OC (1908-1982) was the wife of publisher and MLA George Murray, and an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Originally from Kansas, "Ma" Murray was co-founder and editor (with her husband George) of the Bridge River-Lillooet News, the Alaska Highway News and other publications.

Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project Collection

2017.6 - Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project Collection

The Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project was conducted by UNBC faculty and a team of researchers between 1999 and 2002. The lead researchers were Aileen Espritiu, Gail Fondahl, Greg Halseth, Debra Straussfogel, and Tracy Summerville. The project resulted in the creation of 93 oral history records and their transcripts. Participants included regional forest industry executives, politicians (including former MLA Ray Williston, local mayors and Fraser Fort George Regional District representatives), forest industry workers, and former and contemporary Upper Fraser community residents. The oral histories document the rise, consolidation and demise of the forestry-based settlements along the Upper Fraser River between 1915 and 2000. The original audio cassettes have been digitized and are available in both MP3 and WAV format.

Restrictions on access: Some restrictions apply. Digitized material made available online may be redacted to exclude privacy concerns.

Access Digitized Transcripts

Access Digitized Recordings

Access Finding Aid for details

Archives Speaker Series - March 6, 2018 - Dr. Greg Halseth - "Using Archives to Share Stories of Change in the Upper Fraser Region of Northern BC"

History of Women in Science

Dr. Marianne Ainley was a historian of science and pioneer in the study of 19th and 20th century Canadian women in science. She is a former chair and a professor of Women’s Studies at the University British Columbia. This audio recording was taken from a seminar presentation held on April 3, 1989. In this presentation, Ainley traces the history of women in science and the professionalization of science that occurred after the Industrial Revolution.

Marianne Ainley presents on the History of Women in Science. 2002.14.1.11.25.49 - ISB seminar

For more information about digitized audio collections please contact the Archives.

Bob Harkins Audio Recordings Collection

Bob Harkins began his broadcasting career as a Copy Writer at CKPG radio in 1954; three years later at the age of 26, he was appointed General Manager and President of the station. Mr. Harkins was one of the first local personalities, viewers saw when CKPG-TV went on the air in 1962. In 1969, Mr. Harkins transferred to CJCI radio station, where he worked until returning to CKPG in the early 1990s. This collection of recordings were conducted by Harkins c.1970s-c.1990s with local personalities documenting their personal and professional memories of life in Prince George.

Bob Harkins Audio Recordings Collection

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed 12:30 PM-1:00 PM daily
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays
Appointments Recommended

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)