Skip to main content

Northern BC Archives Digital Collections: Digitized Archival Documents

Showcases some of the Northern BC Archives collections that are available online.

Digital Text Collections

Northern BC Digital Collection logo

Northern BC Digital Collection

The Northern BC Digital Collection holds digitized books, maps, magazines, and other publish materials pertaining to Northern BC history, culture, and industrial development.

The Asbestos Sheet logo

Cassiar Newspapers

The NBCA has digitized 313 newspaper issues from the company mining town of Cassiar, B.C., published between 1956 and 1991 by the Cassiar Asbestos Mining Corporation. The papers detail numerous events in the town and surrounding area, including company business.

The Asbestos Sheet (1956-1976) & The Cassiar Courier (1976-1991)

Report cover page

Aleza Lake Research Forest fonds Documents

Most of the Aleza Lake Research Forest fonds has been digitized excepting special formats, unlicensed copyrighted works, works restricted per privacy legislation, small ephemera (such as business cards or post-its), duplicate documents within the file, and blank sheets.

Journal of W.H. Collison

Archdeacon W. H. Collison fonds

The Archdeacon W.H. Collison fonds consists of textual materials, maps, published materials and photographs all documenting Collison’s life and work as a missionary with North Coastal First Nations communities in British Columbia. Digitized textual document include two of his journals and some published materials he and his family collected.

Handwritten letter

John McCormick Collection (1869)

Collection consists of two letters written by John McCormick to a friend describing his experiences in Barkerville and the gold mining conditions on Williams Creek.

handwritten page

2004.1.1.3.2 - A. H. Phipps Memoirs of Charles E. Bedaux Sub-Artic Expedition 1934

Consists of a typewritten report together with three earlier complete or partial drafts of this report “A. H. Phipps Memoirs of Charles E. Bedaux Sub-Artic Expedition 1934” along with original notebook which includes 11 pages of handwritten notes about the expedition.

Funeral Ledger Cover

Richard Corless Funeral Ledger

Prince George funeral ledger consists of personal information regarding individuals' causes of death, their name, age, and place of residence covering the period of May 18, 1916 through July 9, 1931. The ledger also contains information regarding payment for caskets or other funeral arrangements.

BC Provincial Police Organizational diagram from 1936

British Columbia Provincial Police Veterans Association fonds

Fonds consists of materials related to the BC Provincial Police, including bound volumes of "Shoulder Strap," "Off Patrol" newsletters, General Orders 1923-1950, Constable Correspondence 1904-1909, and Criminal Investigation Branch Vol. 1-14. The "Shoulder Strap" volumes and General Orders 1923-1950 have all been digitized

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed 12:30 PM-1:00 PM daily
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays
Appointments Recommended

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)