Skip to main content

Northern BC Archives Digital Collections: Digitized Photographs

Showcases some of the Northern BC Archives collections that are available online.

The following gallery is a sample of our digital photograph collections. All of our digital photographs are available through our database where you can browse or search through them.

David Davies Railway Collection

The David Davies Railway Collection encompasses all facets of railway history specifically in the province of British Columbia and the Yukon territory. This collection includes ca. 4000 digitized photographs.

Image: 2013.6.36.1.056.13 - "Dunrobin" locomotive and saloon coach

View of Prince George

Kent Sedgwick fonds: Photograph Series

Kent Sedgwick was an urban planner with the City of Prince George, as well as one-time instructor in geography at CNC and part time lecturer in Geography at UNBC. His ca. 6860 photographs are primarily related to the history and historical geography of the Central Interior of BC, especially Prince George, Giscome and East Line communities covering the period c.1900-c.2010.

Image: 2012.13.1.3.135 - Prince George

Iona Campagnolo helping transport totem pole at Kispiox

The Honourable Iona Campagnolo fonds: Photographs

This fonds illustrates the Honourable Iona Campagnolo’s careers as a broadcaster, a theatre producer, community leader, a politician, a feminist, a social activist, a speaker, a lecturer, a Chancellor, an advocate, a consultant and Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia. It includes over 2300 photographs digitally available online.

Image: 2009.6.13.49.0430 - Iona Campagnolo helping transport totem pole at Kispiox

Reforestation - Willow Canyon Nursery - Air photo

Northwood Pulp and Timber Ltd. fonds

This fonds consists of 14,764 photographs, 2116 of which have been digitized. The Photographic Material series consists of photographs, slides and negatives illustrating a wide variety of Northwood Pulp & Timber Ltd. operations and events

Image: 2001.26.1.1807 - Reforestation - Willow Canyon Nursery - Air photo

Cariboo stagecoaches in front of the Hotel Northern in South Fort George, BC

Northern BC Archives Historical Photograph Collection

The Northern BC Archives Historical Photograph Collection consists of ca. 800 photographs representing a variety of subjects areas including but not limited to Transportation and Utilities; Industries; Geographic Features; Military; First Nations; and Exploration, Discovery and Travel. The geographic focus of this collection stretches from Williams Lake to the Yukon border, and from the Alberta border to Haida Gwaii.

Image: 2006.20.9.6 - Cariboo stagecoaches in front of the Hotel Northern in South Fort George, BC

Prince George Townsite, From Above (ca. 1940)

Taylor-Baxter Family Photograph Collection (1899-1959)

Collection consists of 629 photographs documenting early development of the Central Interior including such subjects as: homesteading, railway construction, packing & freighting, modes and routes of transportation, schools, mercantile development, leisurely activities, sports, natural resource development and exploitation, political movements, town-site development and policing.

Image: 2009.5.3.81 - Prince George Townsite, From Above (ca. 1940)

Black and white photo of a man in a canoe at a log jam at the side of a river

Parker Bonney Photograph Collection

Consists of ca. 600 photographs that illustrate Parker Bonney's early years as a Forest Engineer. Includes photographs of the expedition to the Nass Valley undertaken by Parker Bonney, Sam Brown, and others. May also include photographs of later surveying expeditions.

Image: 2003.13.1.1.019 - Log Jam - Finley River

Asbestos Mountain Expedition Party

Cassiar Asbestos Corporation Ltd. fonds: Photographic Material Series

Photographic Material Series of the Cassiar Asbestos Corporation Ltd. fonds consists of ca. 7000 photographic items (1480 digitized) documenting a wide variety of subject areas pertaining to both the operations of Cassiar Asbestos Corporation Ltd., and the company township of Cassiar, B.C.

Image: 2000.1.1.1.01.01 - Asbestos Mountain Expedition Party

Arthur Holland Land Surveying Collection

This collection consists of 475 photographs from A. H. Holland, a British Columbia Land Surveyor, that were taken while working in the Central Interior, the Cariboo, the Chilcotin and southeast British Columbia. These images visually documents steamboat, stagecoach and horse travel in British Columbia and also captures the prepatory work and dawn of the age of rail travel.

Image: 2014.10.1.099 - "Settlers", South Fort George

District Officers meeting at Aleza Lake Experimental Station

Aleza Lake Research Forest fonds

Fonds contains significant materials covering a wide range of topics related to forestry research and forest management practices in Central British Columbia from the 1920s to the 1980s with the bulk of the materials dating from 1924 to 1963. These materials include 419 photographs of the Experimental Station dating from its inception.

Image: 2007.1.25.6.12 - District Officers meeting at Aleza Lake Experimental Station

Collison family sitting on dock in Portland Canal, BC

Archdeacon W. H. Collison fonds: Photographs Series

The Archdeacon W.H. Collison fonds consists of textual materials, maps, published materials and photographs all documenting Collison’s life and work with North Coastal First Nations communities in British Columbia. The 315 photographs (ca.1873 - ca.1939) pertain to the Collison family, North Coastal First Nations communities, means of transportation along North Coastal British Columbia, and various church structures and religious events.

Image: 2009.7.1.004 - Collison family sitting on dock in Portland Canal, BC

Reverend R.W. Large fonds

Reverend R.W. Large (M.D.) was a Methodist minister and doctor on the Northwest Coast of British Columbia from 1898 to 1920. His fonds consists of 165 black and white photographs depicting Northwest Coast communities including Bella Bella, Rivers Inlet, Port Simpson, and Prince Rupert between approximately 1900 and 1920.

Image: 2004.2.1.150 - "Princess May" on the Rocks, as seen at Low Tide

Survey crew and horses at camp, Mt. Robson, BC

Prince George Railway & Forestry Museum Collection: Photographs Series

The Prince George Railway & Forestry Museum Society Collection consists primarily of textual, photographic, and cartographic records related to the regional developments of the railway industry in Northern BC. The photographs consists of images depicting the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway, the Pacific Great Eastern Railway, the British Columbia Railway, the Canadian Pacific Railway, the Canadian National Railway, and various forestry-related scenes.

Image: 2002.1.9.1.024 - Survey crew and horses at camp, Mt. Robson, BC

Loading supplies onto canoes at Fort Grahame for a trip down the Finlay River

Phipps-Mackenzie Collection: Photographic Material Series

Series consists of three albums and loose photos, most of which relating to the surveying of Northern BC between 1929 – 1935. The albums in particular, feature photographs from 1929, 1931 and 1935; while the loose photos are mostly dated from 1934 when the Bedaux Expedition was initiated.

Image: 2004.1.2.4.66 - Loading supplies onto canoes at Fort Grahame for a trip down the Finlay River

Using an image from the archives?

A credit line must be given for the publication, exhibition, presentation, or use of reproductions from the NBCA. Credit line to be written in the manner as follows:

Northern BC Archives, UNBC Accession No. ______.

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed 12:30 PM-1:00 PM daily
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays
Appointments Recommended

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)