Skip to main content

Northern BC Archives Digital Collections: Digitized Videos

Showcases some of the Northern BC Archives collections that are available online.

2012.12 - Viksten collection

Collection consists of digitized home videos created by the Viksten family. The videos include scenes of Horsefly Lake and the Williams Lake Stampede.

View Finding Aid: 2012.12

2012.12.1 - Williams Lake Stampede

Digitized video clip of silent film footage depicts the Williams Lake Stampede and a parade.

View Finding Aid Description: 2012.12.1

2012.12.2 - Horsefly Lake

Digitized video clip of silent film footage depicts Erik and Adolph Viksten, as well as other members of the Viksten family, fishing at Horsefly Lake.

View Finding Aid Description: 2012.12.2

2014.2.2 - Cornel Neronovitch Logging and Sawmills film

This film was created by Cornel Neronovitch who owned three sawmills in the Prince George area in the 1950s: the Prince George Sawmill at Peden Hill, a sawmill at the west end of Tabor Lake, and the Cornel Mill at Dewey.

Film footage shows early logging and sawmilling practices in Northern BC, as well as interior shots of what are presumed to be bunkhouses. Also shows a short clip of family film footage.

View Finding Aid Description: 2014.2.2

View Collection Finding Aid

Spotlight on UNBC

Spotlight on UNBC logo“Spotlight on UNBC” was a promotional television show created by the UNBC Communications Department and was shown on the local Prince George Shaw television channel. The first 30-minute episode of “Spotlight on UNBC” aired in February 1993 and continued with one episode a month until 1998, when it switched to one episode every other month. After the year 2000, the show began to evolve into various shorter iterations for Shaw television audiences. The host of “Spotlight on UNBC”, as well as the show’s later iterations, was Rob van Adrichem. Northern BC Archives holds the complete run of the original “Spotlight on UNBC” episode masters from February 1993 to December 2000. "Spotlight on UNBC" was digitized with funding from the UNBC 25th Anniversary Project.

Watch the 68 episodes on Youtube or, for more information, view the archival descriptions.

Queen Elizabeth II Opens UNBC

Queen Elizabeth II walking down the steps to the UNBC agora surrounded by crowds of peopleThese video clips are taken from "Royal Visit '94: The Visit of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II", which was produced by CKPG in Prince George.

Part I

Part II

For more information about digitized video collections, please contact the Archives.

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed 12:30 PM-1:00 PM daily
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays
Appointments Recommended

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)