Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the English Language and Etymology Library Research Guide!
The librarians at the Geoffrey R. Weller Library understand that your success depends on your ability to access quality research materials. This guide was developed to assist students to locate authoritative, accurate, and current materials relating to the study of the history, development, and social aspects of the English language.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is more than a modern English dictionary: while it provides current meanings and pronunciation, it also traces the history of each word using quotations to illustrate past usage. Quarterly updates ensure the Oxford English Dictionary stays current with new words and revised entries.
MLA international bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Coverage is international and dates back to 1963; subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
The Barnhart Dictionary of Etymology by
Call Number: PE1580.B35 1988
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Contains over 30,000 entries with word derivations, spelling, pronunciation, and meanings. Also traces how the meanings have developed over time.
Call Number: PE1580 .W58 2015
Publication Date: 2014-11-07
A collection of 176 short essays on key words in our society. Demonstrates how various words have changed over time to take on new meanings, and how these changes reflect our shifting values and politics.
Drop by the Research Help Desk today!
Have a question? We are available at (250) 960-6475
Text a Librarian
Have a research questions? Text us! (250) 999-0478