Use the following journal indexes to help you find peer-reviewed, scholarly articles for your assignment:

• GEOBASE
  • Good for all fields of Geography.
  • Note the Turn Off AutoSuggest / Turn On AutoSuggest toggle in Quick Search - How you want to set this will depend on how many results you are getting and how relevant your search results are.
  • Examples of search terms to try combining with the word "Quebec": Independence, Nationalism, Federalism, Policitial geography, Geopolitical geography, National unity, Nation state, Identification of ideologies, National identity, Identity construction, Sovereignty, Political ideology, Cultural geography, Cultural identity.
  • Search results screen: note the terms under Controlled vocabulary, to the left of search results for ideas of ways to refine a search.
  • You may limit the language of your search results to English.
• CBCA Reference & Current Events
  • Good for Canadian journals and Canadian content. 
  • Contains academic and non-academic ariticles.
  • Click Peer reviewed to limit your search to peer-reviewed, scholarly articles.
• Academic Search Complete
  • Multidisciplinary
  • You may limit your search to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. 
  • You may add the keyword "Canada" to your search.

In addition, consider the multidisciplinary nature of your topic.  Other specialized journal indexes to consider:

• America: History & Life: Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
• Bibliography of Native North Americans: Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
• Arctic & Antarctic Regions: Multidisciplinary, focusing on northern and antactic regions.
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Found the perfect article?  Use ISI Web of Science to find other articles with a similar focus.  To do this,

1. Search for the article by title in ISI Web of Science, and click on the title of the article.
2. Then you can do one of two things:
• Click on the number beside Times Cited to get a list of which articles have cited the article.
• Click on Find Related Records to find other similar articles.  (The result list is ranked by the number of references each article has in common with the original article.)

Note that Google Scholar has similar features and may be used in the same way to complement the ISI Web of Science.  (Each will give different search results for the same article.)

Note: Because neither the Web of Science or Google Scholar are indexed (i.e., they do not have subject headings), they are not necessarily the best place to start looking for articles.  However, they can be good places to turn to if you are having trouble finding articles on your topic.  Search results will be ranked by relevancy (unless you change the sorting in the Web of Science), so some relevant articles should show up at the beginning of your search results.  Entering the title of these articles into one or more journal indexes to see what subject terms have been assigned to them can help give you ideas for improving your search strategy.