Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research From 6 Feet Away

Northern BC Archives & Special Collections

The Northern BC Archives collects materials related to the history and culture of Northern BC and UNBC. Please browse the Northern BC Archive (NBCA) website where we have collected and showcase digital materials both within and outside of NBCA collections. Most notably, we have compiled a list of Digitized Historical BC Newspapers. You can also get a general idea of our holding by browsing our Topic and Subject Guides.


Email Us!

We provide our best service via email. Please email us with any questions or requests and we will get back to you within 2 business days. If do not hear from us within that time, do not hesitate to reach out again and CC Kim.Stathers@unbc.ca and Erica.Hernandez-Read@unbc.ca.

Accessing Archives & Special Collections

Digital Archives Searching

Access the NBCA database here: search.nbca.unbc.ca. Please watch our Northern BC Archives Database Tutorial for more search tips. The following are simple way to limit results to digital materials:

1. To limit search results to digitized content only, click "show results with digital objects" just above your search results as shown in the image below.

Show results with digital objects

 

2. When looking through fonds of collection you can view all the digital content of that collection by clicking on the "Show all" button at the bottom of the slide viewer or click "Browse digital objects" on the right side as shown in the image below.

"show all" and "browse digital objects" in a fonds or collection

Northern BC Digital Collection

NorthernBCCollections.ca contains digitized historical books, maps, and newspapers that pertain to Northern BC. All items in the Northern BC Digital Collection can also be found through the Library's General Search. Watch the video tutorial below for search tips:

Digitization On Demand

Northern BC Archives & Special Collections continues to provide access to archival records and Special Collections on request by providing digitized copies for free. Digitization is a time-consuming, labour-extensive process, especially since our staff are primarily working from home during the pandemic. A small digitization request (up to one file) can typically be provided within one week. Multiple files may take longer. If you require access to many files or entire boxes, email us at archives@unbc.ca and we can discuss alternative options for access. Digitization of Special Collections materials may be subject to copyright (i.e. limited to one book chapter), please contact us at archives@unbc.ca to discuss options to access more content.

Email Us!

We provide our best service via email. Please email us with any questions or requests and we will get back to you within 2 business days. If do not hear from us within that time, do not hesitate to reach out again and CC Kim.Stathers@unbc.ca and Erica.Hernandez-Read@unbc.ca.