This guide provides a directory of resources related to the practice and study of life cycle inventory and assessment - including tips for searching the scientific literature on LCA, links to examples, and other resources.
Durability of Engineering Structures by
Structures often deteriorate because not enough attention is given during the design stage. Designing for durability is often left to the structural designer or architect who does not have the necessary skills, and the result is all too often failure, incurring high maintenance and repair costs. Knowledge of the long-term behaviour of materials, building components and structures is the basis for avoiding these costs. This book is aimed at degree students in civil engineering, engineers, architects, contractors, plant managers, maintenance managers and inspection engineers.
Eco-Efficient Construction and Building Materials by
Part I. Life cycle assessment (LCA), eco-labelling and procurement -- part II. Assessing the environmental impact of construction and building materials -- part III. Assessing the environmental impact of particular types of structure.
Environmental Life Cycle Assessment by
Environmental life cycle assessment is a pivotal guide to identifying environmental problems and reducing related impacts for companies and organizations in need of life cycle assessment (LCA). LCA, a unique sustainability tool, provides a framework that addresses a growing demand for practical technological solutions. Detailing each phase of the LCA methodology, this textbook covers the historical development of LCA, presents the general principles and characteristics of LCA, and outlines the corresponding standards for good practice determined by the International Organization for Standardization.
Examining the Environmental Impacts of Materials and Buildings by
This book provides emerging research exploring the theoretical and practical aspects of ecological performance within modern building design and materials-based construction. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as life cycle assessment, material flows analysis, and sustainability, this book is ideally designed for architects, civil engineers, construction professionals, environmentalists, ecologists, business practitioners, scientists, policymakers, designers, researchers, and academicians seeking research on current trends in environmental performance within building design.
Handbook of Construction Management by
The book is developed to provide significant information and guidelines to construction and project management professionals (owners, designers, consultants, construction managers, project managers, supervisors, contractors, builders, developers, and many others from the construction-related industry) involved in construction projects (mainly civil construction projects, commercial-A/E projects) and construction-related industries. It covers the importance of construction management principles, procedures, concepts, methods, and tools, and their applications to various activities/components/subsystems of different phases of the life cycle of a construction project. These applications will improve the construction process in order to conveniently manage the project and make the project most qualitative, competitive, and economical. It also discuss the interaction and/or combination among some of the activities/elements of management functions, management processes, and their effective implementation and applications that are essential throughout the life cycle of project to conveniently manage the project.This handbook will:Focus on the construction management system to manage construction projectsInclude a number of figures and tables which will enhance reader comprehensionProvide all related topics/areas of construction managementBe of interest to all those involved in construction management and project managementProvide information about Building Information Modeling (BIM), and ISO Certification in Construction Industry Offer a chapter on Lean constructionThe construction project life cycle phases and its activities/elements/subsystems are comprehensively developed and take into consideration Henri Fayol's Management Function concept which was subsequently modified by Koontz and O'Donnel and Management Processes Knowledge Areas described in PMBOK® published by Project Management Institute (PMI).The information available in the book will also prove valuable for academics/instructors to provide construction management/project management students with in-depth knowledge and guidelines followed in the construction projects and familiarize them with construction management practices.
Life Cycle Assessment in the Built Environment by
Life cycle assessment enables the identification of a broad range of potential environmental impacts occurring across the entire life of a product, from its design through to its eventual disposal or reuse. The need for life cycle assessment to inform environmental design within the built environment is critical, due to the complex range of materials and processes required to construct and manage our buildings and infrastructure systems. After outlining the framework for life cycle assessment, this book uses a range of case studies to demonstrate the innovative input-output-based hybrid approach for compiling a life cycle inventory. This approach enables a comprehensive analysis of a broad range of resource requirements and environmental outputs so that the potential environmental impacts of a building or infrastructure system can be ascertained. These case studies cover a range of elements that are part of the built environment, including a residential building, a commercial office building and a wind turbine, as well as individual building components such as a residential-scale photovoltaic system. Comprehensively introducing and demonstrating the uses and benefits of life cycle assessment for built environment projects, this book will show you how to assess the environmental performance of your clients' projects, to compare design options across their entire life and to identify opportunities for improving environmental performance.
Managing Product Life Cycles by
The power of product integrity – From the ‘ladder of science’ to the product development cycle – Organizing for manufacturable design – The house of quality – The new product development map – commercializing technology: what the best companies do – The new new product development game – Customize your product development – How northern Telecom competes on time – Exploit the product life cycle – The dynamics of process-product life cycles – Make sure your customers keep coming back – Exploit your product’s service life cycle.
Sustainable Construction Technologies by
Sustainable construction technologies: life-cycle assessment provides practitioners with a tool to help them select technologies that are financially advantageous even though they have a higher initial cost. Chapters provide an overview of LCA and how it can be used in conjunction with other indicators to manage construction. Topics covered include indoor environment quality, energy efficiency, transport, water reuse, materials, land use and ecology, and more.
Start with this search: "life cycle assessment" OR "life cycle inventory" OR "life cycle impact assessment" OR "environmental impact analysis"
and add additional search term(s) in the search box at the top of the page to focus search results on your topic, e.g.: ("life cycle assessment" OR "life cycle inventory" OR "life cycle impact assessment" OR "environmental impact analysis") AND tire*
Note: Use brackets to let the computer know which terms to group together.
Search tips:
Academic Search Complete is a large multidisciplinary resource that includes the full text for most of the publications in its index.
There is no single database with life cycle assessment data. However, there are a number of Open Source databases and/or websites that may be valuable.
