Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
A Concise Dictionary of Literary Terms by
Includes bibliographical references (p. [279]-280).
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by
Includes bibliographical references (p. [279]-280).
Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms by
Includes bibliographical references.
Handbook is just another name for guide. Each of these handbooks serves as a brief and easy-to-use guide to literature, containing entries on writers, literary theories, literary movements and more.
Postcolonialism by
This work provides an overview of the emergence of postcolonialism as a discipline and examines its important critical writings. In particular, it demonstrates how many of the ideas and concepts can be applied when reading texts.
The Cambridge Companion to Postcolonial Literary Studies by
Introducing postcolonial studies / Neil Lazarus -- Social and Historical Context -- The global dispensation since 1945 / Neil Lazarus -- Anti-colonialism, national liberation, and postcolonial nation formation / Tamara Sivanandan -- The institutionalisation of postcolonial studies / Benita Parry -- The Shape of the Field -- Postcolonial literature in the western literary canon / John Marx -- Poststructuralism and postcolonial discourse / Simon Gikandi -- From development to globalisation: postcolonial studies and globalisation theory / Timothy Brennan -- Reading subaltern history / Pryiamvada Gopal -- Temporality and postcolonial critique / Keya Ganguly -- Sites of Engagement -- Nationalism and postcolonial studies / Laura Chrisman -- Feminism in/and postcolonialism / Deepika Bahri -- Latin American postcolonial studies and global decolonisation / Fernando Coronil -- Migrancy, hybridity and postcolonial literary studies / Andew Smith.
A Companion to Postcolonial Studies by
Mission impossible: introducing postcolonial studies in the US Academy / Henry Schwarz -- Imperialism, colonialism, postcolonialism / Neil Larsen -- Postcolonial feminism/postcolonialism and feminism / Rajeswari Sunder Rajan and You-me Park -- Heterogeneity and hybridity: colonial legacy, postcolonial heresy / David Theo Goldberg -- Postcolonialism and postmodernism / Ato Quayson -- Postcolonial studies in the house of US multiculturalism / Jenny Sharpe -- Global capital and transnationalism / Crystal Bartolovich -- A vindication of double consciousness / Doris Sommer -- Human understanding and (Latin) American interests: the politics and sensibilities of geohistorical locations / Walter D. Mignolo -- US imperialism: global dominance without colonies / Donald E. Pease -- Indigenousness and indigeneity / Jace Weaver -- Creolization, orality, and nation language in the Caribbean / Supriya Nair -- Middle-class consciousness and patriotic literature in South Asia / Sumit Sarkar -- Africa: varied colonial legacies / Tejumola Olaniyan -- The "Middle East"? Or ... Arabic literature and the postcolonial predicament / Magda M. Al-Nowaihi -- King Kong in Hong Kong: watching the "handover" from the USA / Rey Chow -- Japan and East Asia / Sandra Buckley -- Intellectuals, theosophy, and failed narratives of the nation in late colonial Java / Laurie J. Sears -- Settler colonies / Anna Johnston and Alan Lawson -- Ireland after history / David Lloyd -- Global disjunctures, diasporic differences, and the new world (dis-)order / Ali Behdad -- Home, homo, hybrid: translating gender / Geeta Patel -- Humanism in question: Fanon and Said / Anthony C. Alessandrini -- Spivak and Bhabha / Bart Moore-Gilbert -- A small history of subaltern studies / Dipesh Chakrabarty -- Feminist theory in perspective / Ipshita Chanda -- Global gay formations and local homosexualities / Katie King -- Rethinking English: postcolonial English studies / Gaurav Desai -- Postcolonial legality / Upendra Baxi -- Race, gender, class, postcolonialism: toward a new humanistic paradigm? / Bruce Robbins.
A Concise Companion to Postcolonial Literature by
Framing identities / David Richards -- Orality and literacy. Part 1: India / G.N. Devy ; Part 2: South Africa / Duncan Brown -- The politics of rewriting / C.L. Innes -- Postcolonial translations / Susan Bassnett -- Nation and nationalism / John McLeod -- Feminism and womanism / Nana Wilson-Tagoe -- Cartographies and visualization / David Howard -- Marginality : representations of subalternity, aboriginality and race / Stephen Moron -- Anthropology and postcolonialism / Will Rea -- Publishing histories / Gail Law.
The Empire Writes Back by
Includes bibliographical references (p. [246]-269) and index.
A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Literatures by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Thought in English by
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Postcolonial Literature by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 186-197) and index.
Encyclopedia of African Literature by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
A History of South African Literature by
Includes bibliographical references (p 254-286) and index.
The Oxford Companion to Australian Literature by 
The Oxford Companion to New Zealand Literature by 
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Routledge Reader in Caribbean Literature by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Postcolonial Indian Novel in English by
Indian writers of English such as G. V. Desani, Salman Rushdie, Amit Chaudhuri, Amitav Ghosh, Vikram Seth, Allan Sealy, Shashi Tharoor, Arundhati Roy, Vikram Chandra and Jhumpa Lahiri have taken the potentialities of the novel form to new heights. Against the background of the genre s macro-history, this study attempts to explain the stunning vitality, colourful diversity, and the outstanding but sometimes controversial success of postcolonial Indian novels in the light of ongoing debates in postcolonial studies. It analyses the warp and woof of the novelistic text through a cross-sectional scrutiny of the issues of democracy, the poetics of space, the times of empire, nation and globalization, self-writing in the auto/meta/docu-fictional modes, the musical, pictorial, cinematic and culinary intertextualities that run through this hyperpalimpsestic practice and the politics of gender, caste and language that gives it an inimitable stamp. This concise and readable survey gives us intimations of a truly world literature as imagined by Francophone writers because the postcolonial Indian novel is a concrete illustration of how 'language liberated from its exclusive pact with the nation can enter into a dialogue with a vast polyphonic ensemble.
Literary theory can be challenging to grasp, but there are many guides to theory available in the Library. The books listed below are a selection of works that can give you a general overview of literary theory; for more theory guides, and for in-depth works on specific literary theory areas (Feminist theory, Marxist theory, Postmodernism, etc.), please visit the Library catalog.
Key Concepts in Literary Theory by
Includes bibliographical references.
Modern Literary Theory and Criticism by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Literary Theory by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 237-246) and index.
A Reader's Guide to Twentieth-Century Writers by 