Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes and Databases
Listed below are the names of databases associated with field of First Nations / Native American Studies. Each of the databases listed below are hyperlinked to the resource title in the catalogue to provide you with easy access, as well as a brief description of the resource and its uses. Look up which search terms to use when searching for research relating to First Nations / Native American Studies.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large multidisciplinary resource that includes the full text for most of the publications in its index.
Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles reports commentaries edited works and obituaries in the fields of social cultural physical biological and linguistic anthropology ethnology archaeology folklore material culture and interdisciplinary studies from the late 19th century to today.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Bibliography of Native North Americans is an index of publications from the sixteenth century to present relating to all aspects of native North American culture history and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology multicultural relations gaming governance legend and literacy.
Anthropological index online
The Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the British Museum (Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology from academic institutions and publishers around the world.
eHRAF world cultures
The eHRAF World Cultures is a full-text fully-indexed cultural database. It focuses mainly on pre-industrial cultures from around the world and on North American immigrant groups.
Native health database
The Native Health Database focuses on the health and health care of American Indians Alaska Natives and Canadian First Nations. It includes citations and abstracts of health-related articles surveys reports and other resource documents.
America: history and life
America : History and Life covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from 1863 to the present. For literature pertaining to world history excluding the United States and Canada use http://wizard.unbc.ca/record=e1000645~S3>Historical Abstracts.
Drop by the Research Help Desk today!
Have a question? We are available at (250) 960-6475
Text a Librarian
Have a research questions? Text us! (250) 999-0478