Databases and Indexes - Health Sciences - General - Subject Guides at University of Northern British Columbia

Databases

Most Relevant Databases
Other Related Databases

Listed below are the names of databases associated with field of global and international studies. Databases are the best place to search for primary research published in academic and peer-reviewed journals. Scroll down for videos demonstrating the search process.

Back to UNBC Library

AnatomyTv
3-D interactive models of human anatomy. Includes narrated animations and quizzes.
Biomedical reference collection : comprehensive
EBSCO database covering topics in the fields of medicine, nursing, and related allied health disciplines.
CINAHL complete
EBSCO database covering topics in the fields of medicine, nursing, and related allied health disciplines. Also contains care sheets, education modules, research instruments records, standards of practice, and educational software.
EBM reviews
Online collection of evidence-based medicine reviews. Includes Cochrane Library , ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.Hosted by OVID.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Hosted by EBSCO.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Online health information resource that contains high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is free, from a trusted source, is easy to understand, and in multiple languages.
Native health database
Open Access index to documents related to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives and Canadian First Nations. Hosted by the University of New Mexico.
APA PsycArticles
EBSCO database, covering topics on general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
APA PsycInfo
EBSCO database covering the field of psychology, behavioral science and mental health.
PubMed
Covers the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also provides access to NCBI databases covering molecular biology. From the NIH's National Library of Medicine.
Web of science
Index of scholarly literature covering a wide range of topics. Includes current and retrospective bibliographic information, cited reference searching and bibliometric searching.

Joanna Briggs Institute

Science Direct
Information platform of scientific, technical, and medical research content from journals, books, series, and reference works published by Elsevier.

Sage journals online
Online platform for journals from Sage Publishing, covering a wide range of disciplines.

Health Evidence

Video tutorials introduction

For more videos, go the Weller Library's YouTube channel.

Choose from the videos below to find helpful tips for getting the best of your searches in the indexes and databases. Remember that it is best to search by individual terms and then combine them with other terms afterwards, using boolean operators (AND, OR).

Please stop by the Research Help desk at Circulation for detailed help, or contact Terri McKellar, librarian for the School of Nursing.

If you have suggestions for other tutorials you would like us to create, please contact Terri McKellar with your suggestion/s.