Reference materials are an excellent way to gather background information on your subject areas and to acquaint yourself with a particular topic. Click on the links below to discover some of the reference materials available relating to History.
Companion to Historiography by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing by
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
A Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Routledge Companion to Historical Studies by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 249-278) and index.
Encyclopedia of Social History by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by
v. 1. Accounting and bookkeeping - Contract labor and the indenture system -- v. 2. Cooperative agriculture and farmer cooperatives - Hughes, Jonathan -- v. 3. Human capital - Mongolia -- v. 4. Monte di Piet - Spain -- v. 5. Spices and spice trade - Zoos and other animal parks.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by
Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. Offers a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
The Oxford Companion to Canadian History by
This indispensable new guide to Canadian history is comprehensive, authoritative, and -above all- companionable. It the essential guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, people, and places that have shaped Canadian life from earliest times to the late twentieth century. In more than 1,600 entries, the country's leading historians describe and analyse events in political, military, social, economic, cultural, and intellectual history, drawing on the latest scholarship. Topics such as gambling, potlatches, abortion, hockey, capital punishment, jackatars, andshipwrecks find a place alongside more traditional entries like prime ministers and suffragists, exploration and fur trade, railways and responsible government. Politicians, soldiers, scientists and industrialists, feminists, social activists and religious leaders, all make an appearance. Vikingsand Basque whalers, Jesuits and filles du roi, the Huron Feast of the Dead, privateers, charivaris, the Acadian grand derangement, the Metis buffalo hunt, rebellions, the On-to-Ottawa trek, bunkhouse men and bush pilots, the battle at Vimy Ridge, gold rushes, Spanish influenza, Frontier College,corvettes, trade unions, midwives, Automatistes, the Mad Trapper, La Bolduc, free trade and the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, all contribute to the fascinating story which is Canada's history. Entries are arranged from A-Z and fully cross-referenced, with a complete index to guide readers to related topics. This new companion, from a publisher with an unrivalled reputation for authoritative reference works, provides learned, accessible, and up-to-date studies of the key subjects and personalities in Canadian history. Lively and informative, no Canadian should be without it.
Encyclopedia of Native American History by
European explorers reached North America more than 400 years ago, and since that time Native Americans have had to struggle to survive. Yet, despite injustices both past and present, the Native American community has persevered over the centuries. The three-volume Encyclopedia of Native American History offers a comprehensive and authoritative look at the most important individuals, events, and topics in American Indian history. Researchers and students alike will benefit from the in-depth coverage of tribes, notable leaders and events, customs, dress, dwellings, weapons, government, religion, and more. Covering the period from the first human settlements in the Americas to the present day, this set features black-and-white photographs, an insert of full-color maps, an appendix, and cross-references. Written for high school and college students as well as the general public, this resource will be invaluable to anyone interested in learning about this fascinating topic.
Conflict in the Early Americas: an encyclopedia of the Spanish Empire's Aztec, Incan, and Mayan conquests by
Includes bibliographical references (pages 451-461) and index.
The Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Nationalism by
v. 1. Fundamental themes -- v. 2. Leaders, movements, and concepts.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-century African History by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of African History by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Modern China by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000 by
v. 1. Methods and theoretical approaches -- The periods of social history -- Regions, nations, and peoples -- Europe and the world -- v. 2. Processes of social change -- Population and geography -- Cities and urbanization -- Rural life -- State and society -- v. 3. Social structure -- Social protest -- Deviance, crime, and social control -- Social problems and social reform -- v. 4. Gender -- The family and age groups -- Sexuality -- Body and mind -- Work -- v. 5. Culture and popular culture -- Modern recreation and leisure -- Religion -- Education and literacy -- Everyday life -- v. 6. Biographies -- Contributors -- Index.
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Thought by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Russian History by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 467-472)
