The library catalog's default search setting is set to keyword.
Begin by identifying the key words in the question or the subject you wish to find materials for. Here is an example:
Question:
I am looking for books relating to anxiety in children.
Answer:
Begin by identifying important words in the question.
I am looking for books relating to anxiety in children.
Go to the library catalog to perform the keyword search. Remember to think about different terms (synonyms) which may prove to be more effective during the search process. Children for instance may be changed to, or searched in conjunction with, youth or adolescents.
Searching by subject heading ensures that you are able to pull up all of the materials associated with a given subject. Each and every book in the library has a predetermined subject heading assigned to them. These subject headings indicate the different subjects or topics being dealt with in a particular book. Each of the subject headings found in the catalogue is hyperlinked to other materials dealing with the same subject matter.
Do a Subject Heading search and see what you can find:
Begin by going to the library catalogue and selecting subject from the drop-down menu next to the search bar. Try searching any and or all of the following subject headings to see the various materials we have.
You can use either Subjects or MeSH Subject to conduct your searches. MeSH subjects are designed specifically for the life sciences. Therefore, they are very useful when searching for items with a medical focus. The results you can retrieve using a MeSH subject search are very different from a regular subject search. To test this out, try searching the following terms both as Subject and MeSH Subject:
Searching by a book's call number is one of the most efficient ways to search for materials! Searching this way allows you to go directly to a book's bibliographic record, while gaining the ability to search the shelves virtually from the comfort of your own desk or home!
Every item in the library has been assigned a call number. These numbers tell us the subject area of the material, the location of the item in the library, and the physical order of the books on the shelf. It is these numbers that allow you to see all of the titles of the books located next to the searched item on the shelf.
Give it a try!
To find books and other materials about Psychology, you may want to browse these subject areas in the Library stacks:
BF
1-990... Psychology
173-175.5... Psychoanalysis
176-176.5... Psychological tests and testing
180-198.7... Experimental psychology
203... Gestalt psychology
207-209... Psychotropic drugs and other substances
231-299... Sensation and aesthesiology
309-499... Consciousness and cognition
318-318.5... Learning
321-323... Attention
353... Environmental psychology
370-395... Memory
408-426... Imagination
431-449.5... Intelligence
455-463... Psycholinguistics
501-505... Motivation
511-593... Affection, feeling, and emotion
608-635... Will, volition, choice, and control
636-637... Applied psychology
660-685... Comparative psychology
692-692.5... Psychology of sex and sexual behaviour
697-697.5... Differential psychology, the individual and the self
698-698.9... Personality
699-711... Genetic psychology
712-724.85... Developmental psychology
725-727... Class psychology
795-839... Temperament and character
HF
5548.7-5548.85... Industrial psychology
HM
1001-1281... Social psychology
1041-1101... Social perception and social cognition, including
perception of the self and others 1106-1171... Interpersonal relations and social behaviour
LB
1050.9-1092... Educational psychology
ML
3830-3840... Psychological aspects of music
RA
790-790.95... Public aspects of medicine, including community mental health and mental health services
RC
49-52... Psychosomatic medicine
321-580... Neuroscience, biological psychiatry, and neuropsychiatry
436-571... Psychiatry
500-510... Psychoanalysis
512-569.5... Psychopathology
512-528... Psychoses
530-552... Neuroses
554-569.5... Personality disorders
RJ
47.5-47.53... Pediatrics -- Psychological and psychosomatic aspects
499-507... Mental disorders of children and adolescents
RM
301-302... Drugs and their actions
315-316... Neuropsychopharmacology
Searching the library catalogue for information about psychological testing requires a different strategy than searching for other resources.
The library catalogue's default search setting is set to keyword. If you're interested in a specific test, such as the Stanford-Binet test or the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, you can simply search by the test name.
However, if you are interested in types of tests (e.g., intelligence tests, personality tests), searching by subject will be a more effective strategy.
Searching by subject heading ensures that you are able to pull up all of the materials associated with a given subject. Each and every book in the library has a predetermined subject heading assigned to them. These subject headings indicate the different subjects or topics being dealt with in a particular book. Each of the subject headings found in the catalogue is hyperlinked to other materials dealing with the same subject matter.
Do a Subject Heading search and see what you can find:
Begin by going to the library catalogue and selecting subject from the drop-down menu next to the search bar. Try searching any and or all of the following subject headings to see the various materials we have.
One of the easiest ways to identify a particular test is to consult a bibliography or catalogue of tests. Fortunately, the library has a few of these on hand. You may also want to check the databases section of this guide for more resources.
The ETS Test Collection Catalog by
v. 1. Achievement tests and measurement devices -- v. 2. Vocational tests and measurement devices -- v. 3. Tests for special populations -- v. 4. Cognitive aptitude and intelligence tests -- v. 5. Attitude tests -- v. 6. Affective measures and personality tests.
Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business by
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Test reviews will provide more specific information about a certain test, including its author, a general description, the intended use and areas, and the name of the test publisher or distributor. More in-depth reviews will may also include critiques and commentary, as well as sample questions.
Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes by
Includes bibliographical references.
Can't find a book or book chapter, article, thesis or dissertation, or multimedia that you need?
If we don't have the item in our collection, you can request it through interlibrary loan at no cost for students.
