Skip to Main Content

Knowledge Synthesis Guide

Overview of evidence synthesis steps and resources to assist researchers conducting reviews

Databases

The search for studies for a knowledge synthesis should be extensive in order to reduce the risk of reporting bias and to identify as much relevant evidence as possible. A rigorous review requires the researcher to search between 3 and 6 different relevant databases. The review topic usually guides the database selection process.

If the research topic is cross-disciplinary, then the researcher should consider databases from both topics. Also consider that databases overlap a lot within a discipline. A good search strategy seeks comprehensiveness even when there is also duplication. Consulting with subject specialist librarians is strongly recommended. 

There are a few ways to determine which databases you should consider searching for your review:

  1. Look for published syntheses on topics similar to yours and see which databases they searched. 
  2. Look through the UNBC Libraries Research Guides for your subject (or similar subjects) and see which databases are suggested.
  3. Talk to your peers or supervisor to learn about what databases are relevant in your subject area.
  4. Consult with a subject librarian.

Creating an Account

You will only need to make one account for all EBSCO platform databases (CINAHL, APA Psycinfo, Medline via EBSCO). This account is separate from your UNBC login to access the database. It acts as a personal account where you can save your searches. 

Creating an EBSCO account:

1. Log in to an EBSCO platform database such as CINAHL

2. Use the Sign In button towards the top right of the screen

3. Select Create an Account at the top of the pop up

4. Fill in the details and click Create Account

Once you have created your account, you will be able to log in and save your searches. 

You will only need to make one account for all Ovid platform databases (Medline, EBM Reviews). This account is separate from your UNBC login to access the database. It acts as a personal account where you can save your searches. 

Creating an Ovid account:

1. Log in to an Ovid platform database such as Medline

2. Use the My Account button towards the top right of the screen

3. Select Create Account at the bottom of the pop up

4. Fill in the details and click Create Account

Once you have created your account, you will be able to log in and save your searches. 

You will only need to make one account for all ProQuest platform databases (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, BC Historical Newspapers). This account is separate from your UNBC login to access the database. It acts as a personal account where you can save your searches. 

Creating an ProQuest account:

1. Log in to a ProQuest platform database such as ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

2. Click the person shaped icon towards the top right of the screen

3. Select Create My Research Account from the drop-down

4. Fill in the details and click Create Account

Once you have created your account, you will be able to log in and save your searches. 

This account is separate from your UNBC login to access the database. It acts as a personal account where you can save your searches. 

Creating a Web of Science account:

1. Access Web of Science via the UNBC Library. 

2. Use the Sign In button towards the top right of the screen

3. Select Register

4. Fill in the details and click Register

Once you have created your account, you will be able to log in and save your searches. 

PubMed for Knowledge Synthesis

We recommend Ovid Medline, rather than PubMed, for systematic searching for several reasons. Ovid Medline allows you to:

  • easily construct and read your search, because terms are on separate lines
  • use adj operator for proximity searches
  • discover relevant MeSH terms more easily (PubMed's mapping functionality is often more limited)

Some reviews state in their methods section that they have searched both Medline and PubMed. However, there's nearly complete overlap between Ovid Medline and PubMed so there is typically no need to search them independently.

See also: 

MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?

Ovid's Medline Compared To PubMed

Subjects: Medicine, Nursing