Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American, Canadian, and First Nations Databases
The Geoffrey R. Weller Library has access to many databases that contain thousands of scholarly articles on American, Canadian, and First Nations Literature.
To find journal articles, search the journal indexes covering journals in your discipline. Remember that elements of a topic may fall into other disciplines. Hence, you may find that you also need to search journal indexes that cover other disciplines. Below are a selection of databases that index journals related to American, Canadian, and First Nations Literature.
For related information, you may want to check out the Postcolonial Literature research guide.
Find a full list of UNBC's American, Canadian, and First Nations Literature-related databases in our catalogue.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large multidisciplinary resource that includes the full text for most of the publications in its index.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Canadian Business & Current Affairs is a comprehensive bibliographic full text reference and current events database. Information is available from a broad range of Canadian sources with the database containing over 4 million records. Subjects covered are current events, business, science, the arts, and Canadian academic information. Full text is available from over 750 journals with indexing for an additional 800 periodicals and daily news sources.
Humanities full text
Humanities full text brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities as well as lesser known specialized magazines. The database indexes abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles interviews obituaries bibliographies original works of fiction drama and poetry book reviews and reviews of ballets dance programs motion pictures musicals operas plays radio and television programs.
InteLex Past Masters
The InteLex Past Masters provide full text databases in the humanities in original languages and translations which include philosophy English letters women writers religious studies political thought & theory and Germanic studies.
JSTOR provides image and full-text online access to selected scholarly journals in history economics political science demography mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
MLA international bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles books and dissertations. Coverage is international and dates back to 1963 subjects include literature language and linguistics folklore literary theory & criticism dramatic arts as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Nines : Nineteenth-century scholarship online
NINES is an aggregator of digital resources that provide a comprehensive research environment for scholars working on Victorian and Romantic literature history the fine arts and philosophy of the long nineteenth century (1770-1920).
Project MUSE provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press primarily covering the humanities social sciences and mathematics.
Drop by the Research Help Desk today!
Have a question? We are available at (250) 960-6475
Text a Librarian
Have a research questions? Text us! (250) 999-0478