Subject Guides: American, Canadian, and First Nations Literature: Websites

Useful Websites

There are many American, Canadian, and First Nations Literature-related resources online that might help you to grasp course concepts or complete assignments. The links below are to online e-book collections (public domain only) and websites that you might find useful in your studies.

Canadian Literature Centre: Literature Online
This is an active, growing archive of the Canadian Literature on the internet.
Library and Archives Canada: Literature
Library and Archives Canada holds a vast collection of Canadian literature, including translations of these works into other languages, as well as a significant collection of Canadian children's literature which includes original children's book illustrations and manuscripts. Library and Archives Canada's holdings also include manuscripts, galley proofs, letters, audio and video recordings, book illustrations, photographs, journals and notebooks. The collections also cover small literary presses, private presses and the book arts and include books and periodicals about Canadian literature and its history.
Native American Authors
This website provides information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal websites. Currently the website primarily contains information on contemporary Native American authors, although some historical authors are represented. The website will continue to expand, adding additional authors, books and web resources.
more...less...
ipl2 is hosted by The iSchool at Drexel, College of Information Science and Technology, with major support from the College of Information at Florida State University.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 54,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.
Project Gutenberg: Canada
The ebooks on this website are in the Canadian public domain, and are offered to you at no charge.

Academy of American Poets
Poets.org is an online resource for poems, poets’ biographies, essays about poetry, and resources for K-12 teachers.
American Comparative Literature Association
The American Comparative Literature Association, founded in 1960, is the principal learned society in the United States for scholars whose work involves several literatures and cultures as well as the premises of cross-cultural literary study itself.
American Literature Association
The primary purpose of the American Literature Association is the advancement of humanistic learning by encouraging the study of American authors and their works.
American Society of Journalists and Authors
ASJA's mission is to be the voice and career resource for independent, entrepreneurial, professional nonfiction writers. Since 1948 ASJA has been giving freelance writers the confidence and connections to prosper.
Association for the Study of American Indian Literatures
ASAIL is a professional academic organization created to promote the study, criticism, and research of American Indian written and oral literary traditions.
The Authors Guild
The Authors Guild is the nation's professional organization for writers, aiding and protecting author's interest in copyright, fair contracts, and free expression since 1912.
Modern Language Association
Founded in 1883, the Modern Language Association of America has worked for more than a century to strengthen the study and teaching of languages and literatures.
National Writers Union
The National Writers Union is the only labor union that represents freelance writers working in all genres, formats, and mediums.
PEN American Center
PEN America stands at the intersection of literature and human rights to protect open expression in the United States and worldwide.
Poetry Society of America
The Poetry Society of America, the nation's oldest poetry organization, was founded in 1910. Its mission is to build a larger and more diverse audience for poetry, to encourage a deeper appreciation of the vitality and breadth of poetry in the cultural conversation, to support poets through an array of programs and awards, and to place poetry at the crossroads of American life.
Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America
SFWA is an organization for published authors and industry professionals in the fields of science fiction, fantasy, and related genres.
Society for the Study of American Women Writers
The Society for the Study of American Women Writers (SSAWW) was established in 2000 to promote and advance the study of American women writers through research, teaching, and publication.
Writers Guild of America East
The Writers Guild of America, East, (WGAE) is a labor union of thousands of professionals who are the primary creators of what is seen or heard on television and film in the U.S., as well as the writers of a growing portion of original digital media content.
Writers Guild of America West
The Writers Guild of America West (WGAW) is a labor union composed of the thousands of writers who write the content for television shows, movies, news programs, documentaries, animation, and Internet and mobile phones (new media) that keep audiences constantly entertained and informed.

The Association for Canadian and Québec Literatures
The Association for Canadian and Québec Literatures is a learned society that promotes research, pedagogies, new knowledges, literary criticism and theory about the diverse literatures of Canada and Québec.
Association of Italian Canadian Writers
The Association of Italian Canadian Writers (AICW) brings together a community of writers, critics, academics, and other artists who promote Italian Canadian literature and culture. The AICW's mission is to support and encourage the expression and dissemination of the Italian Canadian experience within an ethnoculturally diverse society.
Canadian Association of Journalists
The CAJ is the national voice of Canadian journalists. They are committed to protecting the public’s right to know and are dedicated to promoting excellence in journalism, from the university classroom to the national stage.
Canadian Authors Association
The Canadian Authors Association is a membership-based organization for writers at all stages of their writing careers—aspiring, emerging, and professional.
Canadian Comparative Literature Association
The Canadian Comparative Literature Association gathers together scholars across Canada interested in Comparative Literature and organizes yearly meetings at the Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Canadian Science Writers' Association
The CSWA is a national association including media professionals, communications officers in science and technology institutions, technical writers and educators - all of whom are involved in communicating science and technology to non-specialist audiences.
Canadian Society of Children's Authors, Illustrators and Performers
The Canadian Society of Children's Authors, Illustrators and Performers (CANSCAIP), founded in 1977, is a not-for-profit National Arts Service Organization for those engaged in the creation of literature and performance for young people.
Crime Writers of Canada
Crime Writers of Canada (CWC) is a national non-profit organization for Canadian mystery and crime writers, associated professionals, and others with a serious interest in Canadian crime writing.
InScribe Christian Writers' Fellowship
They exist to stimulate, encourage and support Christians who write, advance effective Christian writing, and promote the influence of all Christians who write.
League of Canadian Poets
The League of Canadian Poets is a national non-profit organization dedicated to supporting, engaging, and promoting poets and poetry in Canada.
Literary Translators' Association of Canada
The Literary Translators’ Association of Canada (LTAC) is devoted to promoting the art of literary translation and the interests of the profession. Providing access to literature written in other languages and conveying culture across linguistic lines, LTAC members act as full partners in the publishing world. They translate works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry and drama into some twenty languages.
Playwrights Guild of Canada
Playwrights Guild of Canada champions the role of the playwright in the creation of vibrant Canadian theatre.
Professional Writers Association of Canada (PWAC)
PWAC serves Canadian non-fiction freelance writers across the country.
The Word Guild
The Word Guild is a growing community of more than 325 Canadian writers, editors, speakers, publishers, booksellers, librarians and other interested individuals who are Christian.
Writers Guild of Canada
The Writers Guild of Canada (WGC) represents more than 2,200 professional English-language screenwriters in Canada. These are the creators who write the distinctly Canadian entertainment we enjoy on all screens.
Writers' Union of Canada
The national organization of professionally published book authors.

Alberta

Writers Guild of Alberta
The Writers' Guild of Alberta is a provincial arts service organization that represents both professional and emerging writers in Alberta.

British Columbia

B.C. Association of Travel Writers
The BC Association of Travel Writers is a non-profit association duly constituted under the British Columbia Societies Act.
Federation of BC Writers
Federation of British Columbia Writers is a community committed to providing support and assistance to its members, and writers across the province.

Manitoba

Manitoba Writers' Guild
The Manitoba Writers' Guild provides professional and personal support to Manitoba writers throughout their writing lives.

New Brunswick

Writers' Federation of New Brunswick
Writers' Federation of New Brunswick is the only organization in New Brunswick devoted solely and passionately to supporting writers and storytellers at all stages of development and in all genres.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Writers' Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador
The Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador (WANL) contributes to a supportive environment for writing in the province; works to nurture and inspire writers at all levels and stages of their careers; fosters public recognition of NL writers; advocates for the well-being of writers; and promotes the enhancement of the literary arts in the province and beyond.

Nova Scotia

Writer's Federation of Nova Scotia
WFNS fosters creative writing and the profession of writing in the Province of Nova Scotia; provides advice and assistance to writers at all stages of their careers; encourages greater public recognition of Nova Scotian writers and their achievements; and enhances the literary arts in our regional and national culture.

Ontario

The Ontario Poetry Society
The Ontario Poetry Society was founded to create a democratic organization for members to unite in camaraderie,
friendship, emotional support and encouragement in all aspects of poetry, including writing, performing and publishing.

Prince Edward Island

P.E.I. Writers' Guild
The Prince Edward Island Writers’ Guild (PEIWG) is a dynamic organization dedicated to promoting the growth and quality of literary arts on PEI.

Quebec

Quebec Writers' Federation
The Quebec Writers' Federation (QWF) is playing an increasingly prominent role in the life of the Quebec English-language literary community as an arts presenter and professional and community educator, as well as the representative of Quebec's English-language writers.
Union des écrivaines et écrivains québécois (UNEQ)
Depuis 40 ans, l’Union des écrivaines et des écrivains québécois (UNEQ) travaille à la promotion et à la diffusion de la littérature québécoise, au Québec, au Canada et à l’étranger, de même qu’à la défense des droits socio-économiques des écrivains.

Saskatchewan

Saskatchewan Writers Guild
The Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild is a provincial cultural organization that represents writers in all disciplines and at all levels of achievement.

Modern Humanities Research Association
The Modern Humanities Research Association encourages and promotes advanced study and research in the field of the modern humanities, especially modern European languages and literature, including English, and also cinema.

Evaluating Websites

When you are looking at a web page and deciding if it is appropriate to use in your research you must think about how to evaluate a website in order to decide if it is worth using in your research.

For example:

How accurate is this website?

Who is the author? Have they written more on this topic?
Has the author provided contact information?
Is there a bibliography or a reference list?
Does the content make sense and match other sources that you have looked at?

Look at the authority of the website:

Is the author affiliated with an academic institution?
What is the URL? - is it .com for commercial or .edu for education?

What is the context of the writing?

Is the author writing for personal or political reasons?
Are the arguments balanced?
Is there an evidence of a bias?

How current is the website?

Are the web documents dated?
When was the site last updated?
Look at the date of the items listed on the reference list, how old are they?
Are the links on the page broken?

What is the design like?

Is it professional looking and easy to navigate?

Subject Librarian

Annelise Dowd

Email Me

Contact:

250-960-5419

Contact Us

Frequently Asked Questions
Check out our FAQs!
In Person
Drop by the Research Help Desk today!
Email
library@unbc.ca
Call
Have a question? We are available at (250) 960-6475
Text a Librarian
Have a research questions? Text us! (250) 999-0478

Geoffrey R. Weller Library

American, Canadian, and First Nations Literature: Websites