Provide feedback on the Subscription Cancellation List via the Subscription Review Feedback Form. 

• Survey will take ~5 minutes to complete
• Feedback must be received by last Friday of October

• American Journal of Physics 
  • available through print backfiles from 1969-2012 and online perpetual access from 1999-2025.  Very little content is available through Open Access.  This journal is access less than 30 times/year making it more cost-effective to get through Interlibrary Loan.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Annotated Guide to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act 
  • a continually updated print resource. This item has never been checked out.
• Annual Review of Genetics
  • available through alternative sources from 1967-2005 and online perpetual access to content from 2009-2025. In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access. This journal is accessed less than 25 times per year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Annual Review of Microbiology
  • available through alternative sources from 1967-2005 and online perpetual access to content from 2009-2025. In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access. This journal is accessed less than 25 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Annual Review of Physiology
  • available through alternative sources from 1967-2005 and online perpetual access to content from 2009-2025. In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access. This journal is accessed less than 25 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Annual Review of Phytopathology
  • available through alternative sources from 1967-2005 and online perpetual access to content from 2009-2025. In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access. This journal is accessed less than 25 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Applied and Environmental Microbiology
  • available through alternative sources from 1976 to 12month(s) ago.  In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access.  The current year’s content is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Arctic
  • available through Open Access and alternative sources from 1948-1 yr ago but the Library has no perpetual access if the subscription is cancelled. This journal is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is held by some Canadian libraries so a quick ILL turnaround is possible.
• Biology Letters
  • available through Open Access from 2005 to 12 month(s) ago and the Library has online perpetual access to content from 2019-2025.  Most of the content is freely available through Open Access and current year’s content is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material. As of Jan. 2026, this journal will be a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access.
• Caledonia Courier
  • a local newspaper.  Print issues are only kept for a few months and are not well used.  The content is also available online through the newspaper website and is searchable through the alternative databases a few days after publication.
• Canada Tax Manual
  • a continually updated print resource. This item has never been checked out.
• Canadian Journal of Mathematics
  • duplicated in the Cambridge Journal subscription with coverage from 2014 to present. The Library has print backfiles from 1949-2021. This journal is accessed less than 5 times per year.  Cancellation of the CMA membership will impact the Math program’s institutional membership but the Library can no longer afford to carry this duplicate subscription. (see also Canadian Mathematical Bulletin and CMS Notes)
• Canadian Mathematical Bulletin
  • duplicated in the Cambridge Journal subscription with coverage from 2014 to present. The Library has print backfiles from 1958-present.  This journal is accessed less than 5 times per year.  Cancellation of the CMA membership will impact the Math program’s institutional membership but the Library can no longer afford to carry this duplicate subscription.  (see also Canadian Journal of Mathematics and CMS Notes)
• Choice
  • a review journal used by librarians. The content of this journal is available to librarians through another platform.
• CMS Notes
  • an Open Access journal that is included in the CMA membership.  Cancellation of the CMA membership will impact the Math program’s institutional membership but the Library can no longer afford to carry this membership.  (see also Canadian Journal of Mathematics and Canadian Mathematical Bulletin)
• Consolidated Aboriginal Law Statutes, Regulations, and Treaties

  • a continually updated print resource. This item has never been checked out.

• Current Anthropology
  • available through alternative sources from 1959-12 months ago and online perpetual access to content from 1997-2025. Very little content is available through Open Access but the current year’s content is accessed less than 2 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.
• Davis LLP's British Columbia Forestry Law: An Annotated Guide
  • a continually updated print resource. This item has never been checked out.
• Directory of Open Access Books
  • an Open Access initiative that the Library supports.  Cancellation of the financial support will have no impact on access to the resource.
• Directory of Open Access Journals
  • an Open Access initiative that the Library supports.  Cancellation of the financial support will have no impact on access to the resource. 
• English Literary Renaissance
  • available through alternative sources from 1971-2019 and the Library has online perpetual access to content from 1997-2025. Very little content is available through Open Access.  This journal is important for the English program, but there are other journals that cover this topic.  The journal is accessed less than 15 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Environmental History
  • available through alternative sources from 1995-2021 and the Library has online perpetual access to content from 1997-2025.  Very little content is available through Open Access, but the journal is accessed less than 20 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• ERIC
  • a discovery database that can be replaced with the freely available alternative Proquest Education Research Index which combines ERIC with a new index covering the majority of journals in ERIC. 
• Erudit (Open access collection)
  • an Open Access initiative that the Library supports. Cancellation of the financial support will have no impact on access to the resource.
• Ethnohistory: The bulletin of the Ohio Valley Historic Indian Conference
  • available through alternative sources from 1954-12 months ago and the Library has online perpetual access to content from 2002-2025. This journal does not appear to support Open Access.  The current year’s content is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Families, all tables, for selected cities and towns in British Columbia
  • an annual custom report from Statistics Canada.  A custom report could be purchased if requested in the future.
• Freshwater Science
  • available through alternative sources from 2012-12 months ago and the Library has online perpetual access to content from 1997-2025. Very little content is available through Open Access, but the current year’s content is accessed less than 2 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Gold Rush
  • an analysis tool used by librarians. It is not a critical resource.
• HealthcarePapers
  • not available through alternative sources and the Library has no perpetual access if the subscription is cancelled.  This journal does not appear to support Open Access.  It is accessed less than 15 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current content.  This journal is held by some Canadian libraries, so a quick turnaround is possible.
• Heritage/Canadiana
  • an Open Access initiative that the Library supports.  Cancellation of the financial support will have no impact on access to the resource.
• Ichthyology & Herpetology
  • not available through alternative sources and the Library has no perpetual access if the subscription is cancelled.  Very little content is available through Open Access.  However, it is accessed less than 8 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current content.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Indigenous Peoples and the Law in Canada: Cases and Commentary
  • a continually updated print resource. This item has never been checked out.
• Infection and Immunity
  • available through alternative sources from 1970 to 12 month(s) ago.  In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access.  The current year’s content is accessed less than 1 time/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• InteLex Past Masters
  • a database of primary source material that can be found elsewhere.  The interface is difficult to use. Usage has been decreasing and in 2024, this database was only accessed once.
• Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
  • a membership to allow access to political and social research data.  Membership also entitles UNBC researchers to discounts on ICPSR courses, but it has not been well used.  Many datasets and teaching resources from ICPSR are openly available and will remain accessible after cancellation. Membership could be reinstated if there was sufficient demand. 
• Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Criticism
  • has an outdated interface, is not indexed, and the content has not been updated since 2005. This resource has a high cost per use and is accessed less than 15 times/year.
• Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
  • available through alternative sources from 1970 to 2019 but the Library has no perpetual access if the subscription is cancelled.  This journal does not appear to support Open Access.  There is no evidence the current material is used, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current content.  This journal is held by many US libraries, so quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Community Development
  • an Open Access initiative that the Library supports.  Cancellation of the financial support will have no impact on access to the resource, although UNBC authors would need to pay $750 USD APC to publish in this journal.  There have only been 3 UNBC authored papers published in this journal since 2013.
• Journal of Bacteriology
  • available through alternative sources from 1916 to 12month(s) ago.  In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access.  The current year’s content is accessed less than 1 time/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Journal of City Climate Policy and Economy
  • an Open Access initiative that the Library supports.  In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access.  There is no evidence that this journal has ever been accessed.
• Journal of Soil and Water Conservation
  • available through alternative sources from 1993-2007 and the Library has online perpetual access to content from 1997-2025. An increasing amount of material is available through Open Access (50% in the latest issue).  The current year’s content is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences
  • available through alternative sources from 1993-present and content becomes Open Access after 12 months.  The Library has print backfiles from 2001-2008.  Some current content (~25%) is immediately available through Open Access.  The current year’s content is accessed less than 5 times/year and is available through Academic Search Complete.
• Journal of Virology
  • available through alternative sources from 1967 to 12 month(s) ago.  In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access.  The current year’s content is accessed less than 1 time/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• JSTOR 19th Century British Pamphlets
  • a high cost per use and was only accessed 5 times in the past 3 years making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing the material.
• JSTOR Global Plants
  • has never been accessed in the past 3 years.
• JSTOR Hebrew Journals Collection
  • has a high cost per use and has only been accessed 9 times in the past 3 years making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing the material.
• JSTOR Struggles for Freedom Collection
  • has not been accessed in the past 3 years.
• JSTOR World Heritage Sites: Africa
  • has not been accessed in the past 3 years.
• Labour Income Profile for Selected Cities and Towns in British Columbia
  • an annual custom report from Statistics Canada.  A custom report could be purchased if requested in the future.
• MathSciNet
  • can be replaced with the freely available alternative zbmath.  Zbmath is very similar to MathSciNet with similar coverage and both use the Mathematics Subject Classification.
• MBio
  • available through Open Access and alternative sources from 2010-2025.  This is an Open Access journal.  Cancellation of the financial support will have no impact on access to the resource, although UNBC authors would need to pay $4300 USD APC to publish in this journal.  No UNBC authored papers are found in this journal.
• Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews
  • available through alternative sources from 1997 to 12 month(s) ago.  In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access.  The current year’s content is accessed less than 3 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Microbiology Spectrum
  • available through Open Access and alternative sources from 2013-2025.  This is an Open Access journal.  Cancellation of the financial support will have no impact on access to the resource, although UNBC authors would need to pay $3450 USD APC to publish in this journal.  No UNBC authored papers are found in this journal.
• MIT Sloan Management Review
  • a trade publication available through alternative sources from 2001-present.  This journal does not appear to support Open Access.  The content is accessed less than 5 times/year and is available through Gale Academic OneFile.
• Novel
  • available through alternative sources from 1967-2019 but the Library has no perpetual access if the subscription is cancelled.  Very little content is available through Open Access.  However, it is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current content.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• One Earth
  • available through Open Access from 2019 to 12 month(s) ago and the Library has online perpetual access from 2023-2025.  The current year’s content is accessed ~25 times/year, but the high subscription cost makes ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  The journal is held by many US libraries so a quick ILL turnaround is possible.
• Oregon Historical Quarterly
  • available through alternative sources from 1926-present but the Library has no perpetual access if the subscription is cancelled.  The journal does not appear to support Open Access.  The content of this journal has a geographic overlap with UNBC but is accessed less than 5 times/year and is available through Gale Academic OneFile.
• Physiological Reviews
  • available through Open Access from 1998 to 12 month(s) ago and the Library has online perpetual access to content from 1998-2025.  The Library has print backfiles from 1980-1997.  Some current content (~50%) is immediately available through Open Access.  The current year’s content is accessed less than 1 time/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Plan Canada
  • a print trade magazine that is not peer reviewed but the Library has no perpetual access if the subscription is cancelled.  The Library has print backfiles from 1959-2008 (some issues missing).  Although faculty recommend students review it to familiarize themselves with the field, there is no evidence it is used.
• Proceedings of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences
  • available through Open Access from 1997 to 12 month(s) ago and the Library has online perpetual access to content from 2019-2025.  Some current content (~50%) is immediately available through Open Access.  The current year’s content is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is held by some Canadian libraries, so a quick ILL turnaround time is possible.  As of Jan. 2026, this journal will be a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access.
• Quesnel Cariboo Observer
  • a local newspaper.  Print issues are only kept for a few months and are not well used.  The content is also available online through the newspaper website and is searchable through the alternative databases a few days after publication.
• Seniors, All Tables, for Selected Cities and Towns in British Columbia
  • an annual custom report from Statistics Canada.  A custom report could be purchased if requested in the future.
• Shakespeare Bulletin
  • available through alternative sources from 1983-2019 but the Library has no perpetual access if the subscription is cancelled.  This journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access.  The content is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Social Work Abstracts
  • a discovery (non-full text) database with no full text content. It has very little unique content and is not recommended by librarians.
• Society & Animals: Social Scientific Studies of the Human Experience of Other Animals
  • available through alternative sources from 1999 to 3 years ago and the Library has online perpetual access to content from 2024-2025.  Some current content (~50%) is immediately available through Open Access.  The current year’s content is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is held by some Canadian libraries, so a quick ILL turnaround time is possible.
• Terrace Standard
  • a local newspaper.  Print issues are only kept for a few months and are not well used.  The content is also available online through the newspaper website and is searchable through the alternative databases a few days after publication.
• The American Economic Review
  • available through alternative sources from 1911 to 2 years ago and the Library has online perpetual access to content from 2024-2025.  This publisher does not appear to support Open Access.  The current year’s content is accessed less than 15 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is held by many US libraries, so a quick ILL turnaround time is possible.
• The American Journal of Psychology
  • available through alternative sources from 1887 to 1 year ago and the Library has online perpetual access to content from 2005-2025.  Very little content is available through Open Access.  However, the current year’s content is accessed less than 2 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is held by some Canadian libraries, so a quick ILL turnaround time is possible.
• The Canadian Field-Naturalist
  • available through Open Access and alternative sources from 1919 to 1 year ago but the Library has no online perpetual access if the subscription is cancelled.  The Library has print backfiles from 1918-2014 (some issues missing).  All content older than 12 months is Open Access.  As the journal is delayed, all content is older than 12 months and thus Open Access.
• The Journal of the History of Childhood and Youth
  • not available through alternative sources and the Library has no perpetual access if the subscription is cancelled.  This journal does not appear to support Open Access.  It is accessed less than 12 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current content.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• The Modern Language Review
  • available through alternative sources from 1905-2021 but the Library has no perpetual access if the subscription is cancelled.  Very little content is available through Open Access.  However, the content is accessed less than 2 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is held by some Canadian libraries, so a quick ILL turnaround time is possible.
• Theatre in Video
  • a collection of films of Shakespearean plays.  It has been accessed less than 5 times in the past 3 years.
• Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
  • a discovery (non-full text) database with very little unique content and frequent technical issues.  Most of the content is available through alternative databases.

Titles on this list would be additional potential cancellations if necessary to meet the cancellation target of $100,000.  Cancellation of these titles will only be necessary if titles are removed from the above list.

• Access Science
  • Online dictionary of scientific terms.  There are alternatives both in print in the library’s collection and freely available online.
• Annual Review of Anthropology
  • available through alternative sources from 1972-2019 and online perpetual access to content from 2009-2025. In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access. Content after 2019 is accessed less than 15 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Annual Review of Biochemistry
  • available through alternative sources from 1997-2005 and online perpetual access to content from 2009-2025. In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access. Content after 2005 is accessed less than 15 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences
  • available through alternative sources from 1996-2005 and online perpetual access to content from 2009-2025. In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access. Content after 2005 is accessed less than 15 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics
  • available through alternative sources from 1970-2019 and online perpetual access to content from 2009-2025. In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access. Content after 2019 is accessed less than 10 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material. This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Annual Review of Plant Biology
  • available through alternative sources from 2002-2005 and online perpetual access to content from 2009-2025. In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access. Content after 2005 is accessed less than 20 times/year.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Annual Review of Political Science
  • available through alternative sources from 1950-2005 and online perpetual access to content from 2009-2025. In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access. Content after 2005 is accessed less than 15 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Annual Review of Sociology
  • available through alternative sources from 1975-2019 and online perpetual access to content from 2009-2025. In addition, this journal is a Subscribe2Open journal, making it likely that current content will be freely available through Open Access. Content after 2019 is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Arctic and Antarctic Regions
  • a discovery database. It has very little unique content and frequent technical issues.  Most of the content is available through alternative databases.
• Canadian Social Work
  • An archive of content from 2004-2019.  available through alternative sources from 2010-2019 and in print from 1999-2003.  This journal is a valuable Canadian resource, but is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing material from 2004-2009.
• Environmental Ethics
  • available through print backfiles from 1979-2012 (some issues missing).  Very little content is available through Open Access.  This journal is access less than 15 times/year making it more cost-effective to get through Interlibrary Loan.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Journal of Anthropological Research
  • available through alternative sources from 1973-2019 and online perpetual access to content from 2005-2025. Very little content is available through Open Access. Content after 2019 is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing current material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Journal of Gerontological Nursing
  • available through alternative sources from 2019-present.  Very little content is available through Open Access. Content before 2019 is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing older material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Journal of Wildlife Diseases
  • available through Open Access and alternative sources from 1970-2017.  Very little content is available through Open Access. This journal is accessed less than 5 times/year, making ILL a more cost-effective method of accessing material.  This journal is widely held by libraries, making quick ILL turnaround time very likely.
• Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
  • Discovery database (not full text) containing reviews of commercially published English-language tests for educational, personality, vocational aptitude, psychological, and related areas.  Not comprehensive enough to cover psychology measures and can be frustrating for patrons.  The Library has older print copies in the collection. 
• Physical Review A
  • No access through alternative sources and the Library does not retain perpetual access if the subscription is cancelled.  This subscription has a high cost per use and is accessed ~30 times/year, making ILL a marginally feasible alternative but less expensive than the subscription.  This journal is widely held by libraries, so a quick ILL turnaround time is likely.
• Trade Analyser
  • Online platform for access to world trade data and Canadian import and export data.  This resource is not well used.  Alternative information is freely available through Statistics Canada, World Bank, etc. although not as conveniently gathered.