Cost Per Use

CPU is a commonly used indicator of value for library subscriptions. Calculated using three years of use and the most recent cost data.

Availability through ILL (InterLibrary Loan)

This criterion protects material that cannot be obtained reliably via means other than a subscription. Availability via ILL is not a criterion across all categories.

Course Reserve and/or inclusion in Moodle

Use of materials for course reserves/use on Moodle is an indicator of curricular relevance. Inclusion in Moodle is limited to syllabi that have been reviewed by the syllabus service. Use for course reserves/Moodle is not a criterion across all categories.

Average annual price increase

Annual increase is a significant factor in the sustainability of library subscriptions.

Accessibility

Library resources should be accessible to all users, regardless of ability, with minimal mediation; this criterion operationalizes that value by holding vendors accountable for ongoing accessibility improvements. 

Usability

Library resources should be easy to access, understood, and used by patrons. This criterion looks at how easy it is to access, whether patrons can quickly understand how to navigate and find information in the resource.

Limitations on number of users

Some e-resources limit access to a fixed number of concurrent users, interrupting access to our full user community and providing poor user experience; this criterion holds vendors accountable for providing broader access.

Support for large number of users

This criterion boosts resources that are highly interdisciplinary or support large departments or programs.

Digital Rights Management restrictions

This criterion refers to use restrictions on e-book platforms, which include limitations on printing, sharing, and downloading, as well as proprietary software and the requirement that users create usernames and passwords to access content. 

Overlap with other resources

This criterion privileges resources with largely unique content, while flagging e-resources with a high degree of overlap. Duplication is not a criterion across all categories.

Commitment to Open Access

As library subscriptions become increasingly unsustainable, UNBC wishes to acknowledge and reward publishers taking real steps toward a more open scholarly landscape. This criterion gives a small boost to e-resources from publishers who make at least some content truly open. Commitment to Open Access is not a criterion across all categories.

Transparency

This criterion holds vendors accountable for having transparent pricing models.

Discoverable through UNBC Library

The ability of users to discover content by searching the Library is a key, albeit small, piece of each e-resource’s value. This criterion acknowledges the vendors who make their content easy to find.

X factor

This criterion represents the extent to which the resource or vendor aligns with the Library's mission and goals, including preference for academy-supported publishing rather than for-profit.  This criterion is not applied across all formats or resources, but rather if and as relevant circumstances emerge. To discuss the X Factor of any resource contact your subject librarian.  

Ebook Packages

Subscription databases containing exclusively ebooks. These packages may be leased or purchased.  Leased packages are year to year subscriptions, so upon cancellation all titles are lost. Purchased ebooks may be purchased individually or in packages and the titles are retained in perpetuity.

Journal Packages/Single Journal

Journal packages or single journal subscriptions. This type of content is usually purchased, so each year’s subscription fees in effect purchase a new year of content. Upon cancellation, content up to the cancellation date is retained (except for any content from prior to the original subscription start date).  Archival collections can also be purchased and the content would be retained in perpetuity.

Full-Text Databases

Subscription databases containing full-text content, whether journals, monographs, conference proceedings, gray literature, etc. Content is leased year to year, so upon cancellation all titles are lost.

Discovery Databases

Subscription databases containing exclusively abstracting/indexing, i.e. that provide a means of discovering content but not the content itself. This can include abstracting/indexing for journals, monographs, conference proceedings, gray literature, etc. The database is leased year to year, so upon cancellation all discovery is lost.

Full-Text Reference

Databases that provide full-text access to a single title or reference work, e.g. an online encyclopedia, dictionary, or handbook. Purchase models for full-text reference works vary: in some cases, content is leased year to year and upon cancellation all material is lost; in other cases, content is owned and each year’s payment secures perpetual access to another year of material.

Streaming Media

Databases consisting primarily of streaming music or video. Content is leased year to year, so upon cancellation all content is lost.