Databases to search:

• Canadian Historical Newspapers: List of freely accessible Canadian historical newspapers compiled by SFU library staff.  URLs to titles are included in this spreadsheet.  Click on title of entry for access choices.  If no URL is provided to link to the full text document, use the MicroLog ID to access pre-2015 documents in the Library's micromaterials collection (located on the 2nd floor of the Library).
• Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies: Search for full text articles from major Canadian Newspapers
• Canadian Newsstand Pacific: Search for full text articles from a wide assortment of BC newsspapers
• Globe and Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844: Full text access to articles in the Globe and Mail from June 1844 - December 2011.

• Canadian Books and Documents Collection: Full text publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
• Canadian Research Index: Indexes selected federal, provincial and territorial publications. See Document Access Tips for guidance on how to access the publications cited by this index.
• Early Canadiana Online: Full-text historical content about Canada, including books, magazines and government documents.
• GALLOP Portal: Indexes full-text and bibliographic content from the electronic government documents collections of 10 Canadian jurisdictions.
• CBC Digital Archives

Note: The Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions (CIHM) collection, a precursor to Early Canadiana Online (ECO), can be searcher by adding CIHM to a Geoffrey R. Weller Library catalogue search.  Use the CIHM no. in the library catalogue entry to find the document in the Library's micromaterials collection (located on the 2nd floor of the Library).

• You may focus a Google search by limiting the search results to Web pages published within Canada.  To do this, perform your search, click on Search tools above the search results, click on the Any country dropdown menu, and select Country: Canada.
• Critically evaluate your search results.  Who published the page?  Are they credible?  Do they have a bias?  Are there other points of view?
• You may use Google to seach a specific site.  For instance, to search for materials on Quebec in the CBC Digital Archives, search Google for Quebec identity, click on the Options icon just under the Sign in button (Options icon looks like a gear), click on Advanced search, enter the appropriate information in the site or domain: box (for this example enter www.cbc.ca/archives), adjust your search terms as necessary, and then click on the Advanced Search button (bottom right) to conduct your search.