Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library of Parliament
Concise, non-partisan reports on hot topics.
Concise summaries and background information on proposed Government bills. Updated as the Bills are revised during the legislative process.
Parliament of Canada
Browse or search through the business of Parliament, including the House of Commons, Senate and committees.
See the Online Search Guide for tips on searching effectively through this huge collection: http://www.parl.gc.ca/Search/Guide/1-BasicRules-e.html
Essential tool for tracking progress of bills through Parliament. Includes links to press releases, opposition reports, and articles about proposed legislation.
Up-to-date, community-driven tool for tracking individual MP activities and voting records. Also provides searchable database of House of Commons Hansard (1994-), House of Commons Committee meetings (2006-), and Bills since 1996.
Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources
Searchable database of digitized versions of the debates (Hansard) and journals of the Senate and the House of Commons, from 1867 to date that coverage begins on parl.gc.ca
Linked Parliamentary Data Project
Machine-readable and fully searchable historical Hansard. Produced by U of Toronto. Currently includes only English-language House of Commons debates back to 1901, with links to MP biographies.
Drop by the Research Help Desk today!
Have a question? We are available at (250) 960-6475
Text a Librarian
Have a research questions? Text us! (250) 999-0478
This guide is based in large part on Chris Burns' Government Information guide from Kwantlen Polytechnic University, http://libguides.kpu.ca/gov accessed March 1, 2017. Thanks for sharing, Chris!