Reference materials are an excellent way to gather background information on your subject areas and to acquaint yourself with a particular topic. Click on the links below to discover some of the reference materials available relating to Film and Television.
The books listed below are a selection of works that can give you a general overview of film theory; for more theory guides, and for in-depth works on specific film and television theory areas (Feminist theory, Marxist theory, Postmodernism, etc.), please visit the Library catalog.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
European Film Theory by
European film theory : from crypto-nationalism to trans-nationalism / Paul Coates -- The aesthetics of race in European film theory / Tobias Nagl -- The disunity of film theory and the disunity of aesthetics / Casey Haskins -- Real location, fantasy space, performative place : double occupancy and mutual interference in European cinema / Thomas Elsaesser -- Film as philosophy : a mission impossible? / John Mullarkey -- Platonic reconstruction and residual Kantianism in film theory / Colin Burnett -- Epstein, Bergson, and vision / Malcolm Turvey -- Heidegger and cinema / Brian Price -- Listening and touching, looking and thinking : the dialogue in philosophy and film between Jean-Luc Nancy and Claire Denis / Douglas Morrey -- Fabulation and contradiction : Jacques Rancière on cinema / Tom Conley -- The gaze of biocinema / A. Kiarina Kordela -- From cinema to history : Kracauer's shifting philosophical historiography / Scott Mackenzie -- Disposition : from film theory to human action / Astrid Oesmann -- Between the ornament and the corpse : Adolf Loos and classical film theory / Rosalind Galt -- Baroque dialectics or dialectical Baroque : Sergei Eisenstein in/on Mexico / Masha Salazkina -- A screen for projection : Ricciotto Canudo's exponential aesthetics and the Parisian avant-gardes / Ara H. Merjian -- Synaesthesia in film theory / Sabine Doran -- Innocence and ontology : the truthfulness of André Bazin / Lisabeth During -- From distraction to indeterminacy to distraction : Kracauer and contemporary film realist discourse / Temenuga Trifonova -- National identity and realism in postwar Italian film and film theory / Ora Gelley -- Neorealism at a distance / Karl Schoonover.
European Film Theory and Cinema: a critical introduction by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 258-265) and index.
European Film Theory and Cinema: a critical introduction by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 258-265) and index.
Film, Theory and Philosophy: the key thinkers by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 365-389), filmography (p. 359-364), and index.
Film Theory: an introduction by
Includes bibliographical references (p. [278]-307) and index.
Film Theory: an introduction by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 341-365) and index.
Film Theory and Contemporary Hollywood Movies by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Film Theory and Criticism by
from Film technique. [On editing] / Vsevolod Pudovkin -- from Film form. Beyond the shot [the cinematographic principle and the ideogram] ; Dramaturgy of film form [the dialectical approach to film form] / Sergei Eisenstein -- from What is cinema? Evolution of the language of cinema / André Bazin -- Toward a non-bourgeois camera style / Brian Henderson -- from Film language. Some points in the semiotics of cinema ; Problems of denotation in the fiction film / Christian Metz -- Semiotics and the cinema : Metz and Wollen / Gilbert Harman -- Discourse of pictures : iconicity and film studies / Stephen Prince -- Tutor-code of classical cinema / Daniel Dayan -- Against "the system of the suture" / William Rothman -- Spectator-in-the-text : the rhetoric of Stagecoach / Nick Browne -- from Theory of film. Basic concepts / Siegfried Kracauer -- from What is cinema? Ontology of the photographic image ; Myth of total cinema / André Bazin -- from Film as art. Complete film / Rudolf Arnheim -- Apparatus : metapsychological approaches to the impression of reality in cinema / Jean-Louis Baudry -- from Mystifying movies. Jean-Louis Baudry and "The apparatus" / Noël Carroll -- from Vision and visuality. Modernizing vision / Jonathan Crary -- from Cinema 1 and Cinema 2. Preface to the English edition ; Origin of the crisis : Italian neo-realism and the French new wave ; Beyond the movement-image / Gilles Deleuze -- Style and medium in the motion pictures / Erwin Panofsky -- from Theory of film. Establishment of physical existence / Siegfried Kracauer -- from Theory of the film. Close-up ; Face of man / Béla Balász -- from Film as art. Film and reality ; Making of a film / Rudolf Arnheim -- from Philosophical problems of classical film theory. Specificity thesis / Noël Carroll -- from Film/cinema/movie. Projection / Gerald Mast -- from The world viewed. Photograph and screen ; Audience, actor, and star ; Types, cycles as genres ; Ideas of origin / Stanley Cavell -- Statement on sound / Sergei Eisenstein, Vsevelod Pudovkin, Grigori Alexandrov -- Voice in the cinema : the articulation of body and space / Mary Ann Doane -- Technology and aesthetics of film sound / John Belton -- from What is cinema? Theater and cinema / André Bazin -- from The world in a frame. Acting : stage vs. screen / Leo Braudy -- from Film form. Dickens, Griffith, and ourselves ; [Dickens, Griffith, and film today] / Sergei Eisenstein -- from Concepts in film theory. Adaptation / Dudley Andrew -- from Novel to film. Backgrounds / Brian McFarlane -- from D.W. Griffith and the origins of American narrative film. Narrative discourse and the narrator system / Tom Gunning -- Film music and narrative agency / Jerrold Levinson -- Godard and counter cinema ; Vent d'est / Peter Wollen -- from Poetics of cinema. Cognition and comprehension : viewing and forgetting in Mildred Pierce / David Bordwell.
Notes on the auteur theory in 1962 / Andrew Sarris -- from Signs and meaning in the cinema. Auteur theory [Howard Hawks and John Ford] / Peter Wollen -- Face of Garbo / Roland Barthes -- from The material ghost. [On Keaton and Chaplin] / Gilberto Perez -- From Stars / Richard Dyer -- from Acting in the cinema. Katherine Hepburn in Holiday / James Naremore -- from From reverence to rape. Female stars of the 1940s / Molly Haskell -- How Howard Hawks brought Baby up : an Apologia for the studio system / Richard B. Jewell -- from The genius of the system. "Whole equation of pictures" / Thomas Schatz -- from The world in a frame. Genre : the conventions of connection / Leo Braudy -- Semantic/syntactic approach to film genre / Rick Altman -- from Hollywood genres. Film genre and the genre film / Thomas Schatz -- Gangster as tragic hero / Robert Warshow -- Notes on film noir / Paul Schrader -- Ideology, genre, auteur / Robin Wood -- Film bodies : gender, genre, and excess / Linda Williams -- Terror of pleasure : the contemporary horror film and postmodern theory / Tania Modleski -- Feminist frameworks for horror films / Cynthia A. Freeland -- Art cinema as a mode of film practice / David Bordwell -- Work of art in the age of mechanical reproduction / Walter Benjamin -- Cinema/ideology/criticism / Jean-Luc Comolli, Jean Narboni -- from The imaginary signifier. Identification, mirror ; Passion for perceiving ; Disavowal, fetishism / Christian Metz -- Visual pleasure and narrative cinema / Laura Mulvey -- from The women who knew too much : Hitchcock and feminist theory. Master's dollhouse : Rear window / Tania Modleski -- Aesthetic of astonishment : early film and the (in)credulous spectator / Tom Gunning -- Colonialism, racism, and representation : an introduction / Robert Stam, Louise Spence -- Black spectatorship : problems of identification and resistance / Manthia Diawara -- from The language of new media. Synthetic realism and its discontents ; Synthetic image and its subject ; Digital cinema and the history of a moving image / Lev Manovich -- End of cinema : multimedia and technological change / Anne Friedberg -- from Change mummified / Philip Rosen -- Impact of digital technologies on film aesthetics / Michael Allen -- Tales of upward mobility : the new verticality and digital special effects / Kristen Whissel -- Reconceptualizing national cinema(s) / Stephen Crofts -- Difficulty of being radical : the discipline of film studies and the postcolonial world order / Mitsuhiro Yoshimoto -- Issues in world cinema / Wimal Dissanayake.
The Film Theory Reader: debates and arguments by
"The Film Theory Reader brings together a range of key theoretical texts, organized thematically to emphasise the development of specific critical concepts and theoretical models in the field of film theory. Each section presents well-known or significant texts, which have introduced a particularly influential concept, followed by texts that have developed or extended the concept, or that have offered explicit critiques or arguments against the original model. The collection thus represents and reproduces the debates and arguments that have shaped the theoretical landscape of film studies, guiding the reader through the complex terrain of theoretical debate, and offering suggestions for further reading and research. An Introduction from the editor contextualises the essays and provides a logical guide to the book, clarifying the links between articles and tracing the development of key arguments. The notes to the Introduction include extensive references, for readers to explore and further their own studies, as they are guided through the history of debate in film theory."
Each of these handbooks serves as a brief and easy-to-use guide to various aspects of film and television theory, containing entries on film and television history, theory, movements and more.
The titles below represent a chronological selection of the Film and Television-related handbooks in the Library. For more, please search the Library catalog.
Film Studies : the basics by
Includes bibliographical references.
An Introduction to Film Studies by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Oxford Guide to Film Studies by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Television Studies: the key concepts by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 261-275) and index.
The Television Studies Reader by
Institutions of television ; Introduction ; "Ises" and "oughts": public service broadcasting in Europe / Richard Collins ; Moving beyond the vast wasteland: cultural policy and television in the United States / Laurie Ouellette and Justin Lewis ; Protecting the citizen, protecting society / David Hutchison ; Australian's television culture / Tom O'Regan ; Telefeminism: how lifetime got its groove, 1984-1997 / Eileen Meehan and Jackie Byars -- Spaces of television ; Introduction ; Hollywood planet: global media and the competitive advantage of narrative transparency / Scott Olson ; Geolinguistic region as global space: the ase of Latin America / John Sinclair ; The global, the local and the public sphere / Colin Sparks ; Popular media as public 'Sphericules' for diasporic communities / Stuart Cunningham -- Modes of television ; Introduction ; A cultural approach to television genre theory / Jason Mittell ; Live television is still alive: on television as an unfulfilled / Jérôme Bourdon ; Codes and conventions of drama/doc and docu/drama / Derek Paget ; News as performance: the image as event / Margaret Morse ; Adworlds / John Corner ; Making sense of soaps / Robert C Allen ; The pie and the crust: television program formats / Albert Moran -- Making television ; Introduction ; Television production / John Ellis ; Modes of production / John T Caldwell ; Big Brother Australia: performing the 'real' twenty-four-seven / Jane Roscoe ; Studio discussions: social spaces and postmodernity / Sonia Livingstone and Peter Lunt ; Media pilgrims: on the set of Coronation Street / Nick Couldry ; Public access/private confession: home video as (queer) community television / Eric Freedman ; Hausa dramas and the rise of video culture in Nigeria / Brian Larkin -- Social representation on television ; Introduction ; Television, representation and gender / Julie D'Acci ; Primetime TV in the gay nineties: network television, quality audiences and gay politics / Ron Becker ; Welcome home?: CBS, PAX-TV, and 'heartland' values in a neo-network era / Victoria Johnson ; Broadcasting and the construction of the national family / David Morley ; 'The biggest show in the world': race and the global popularity of The Cosby show / Timothy Havens -- Watching television ; Introduction ; qualitative audience research / Ellen Seiter ; In the worst possible taste: children, television and cultural value / Hannah Davies, David Buckingham, and Peter Kelley ; Television while you wait / Anna McCarthy ; Defining cult TV: texts, inter-texts and fan audiences / Matt Hills ; Democratainment and DIY citizenship / John Hartley -- Transforming television ; Introduction ; Reality TV in the digital era: a paradox in visual culture? / Arild Fetveit ; Camcorder cults / Jon Dovey ; Living on Dawson's Creek: teen viewers, cultural convergence and television overflow / Will Brooker ; Postmodern virtualities / Mark Poster ; Social relationships and identity online and offline / Don Slater."
Cinema : a critical dictionary : the major film-makers by
Includes index. 2 volumes: v.1. Aldrich to King -- v.2. Kinugasa to Zanussi.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
