Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Subject Specialists: Librarians & Archivists

What do Subject Librarians and Archivists Do?

Librarians and archivists are assigned to subject areas and departments on campus often based on their educational background or experience. They liaise or act as a link to assist communication between the archives or library system and their departments and vice versa to support teaching, learning, and research. There are many roles for librarian/archivist liaisons: providing instruction sessions, research support, and collection development for their departments. Librarians/archivists work with faculty and students in their assigned departments, in the following ways.

  • Serve as an information resource on policies, services, and resources
  • Serve as the contact person for library/archival related questions
  • Provide reliable, consistent, and timely service and responses
  • Provide discipline specific instruction, reference assistance, and research consultations
  • Develop library/archival collections and resources to support the teaching, learning, and research needs of the students and faculty
  • Communicate changes in library services and resources

Librarians and Archivists

Click on each librarian's name to find out more information

Adam Cohen
Metadata Librarian

Annelise Dowd
Access Services Librarian

Heather Empey
Acquisitions Librarian

Trina Fyfe
Northern Health Sciences Librarian

Sarah Giesbrecht (term)
Data Services Librarian

Erica Hernandez-Read
Head of Archives & Special Collections

Kealin McCabe
Research & Learning Services Librarian

Kim Stathers
Archivist

Susie Wilson (on leave)
Data Services Librarian

Adam Cohen - Metadata Librarian

Subject Liaison Areas

  • Anthropology
  • First Nations Studies
  • History

Contact Information

Email: Adam.Cohen@unbc.ca
Phone: (250) 960-6617
Office: 5-482

Make an Appointment

Services

Please contact me for the following services:

  • Provide instruction for:
    • Subject Liaison Areas
  • Purchase books and resources for:
    • Subject Liaison Areas
  • Reference and Research Help

Annelise Dowd - Access Services Librarian

Image of Annelise DowdSubject Liaison Areas

  • English
  • Psychology

Contact Information

Email: Annelise.Dowd@unbc.ca
Phone: (250) 960-5419
Office: 5-485

Make an Appointment

Services

Please contact me for the following services:

  • Provide instruction for:
    • Subject Liaison Areas
  • Purchase books and resources for:
    • Subject Liaison Areas
  • Reference and Research Help

Heather Empey - Acquisitions Librarian

Image of Heather EmpeySubject Liaison Areas

  • Business
  • Biochemistry/Molecular Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Commerce
  • Computer Science
  • Engineering
  • Environmental Science & Engineering
  • Physics
  • Women's and Gender Studies

Contact Information

Email: Heather.Empey@unbc.ca
Phone: (250) 960-6468
Office: 5-458

Make an Appointment

Services

Please contact me for the following services:

  • Provide instruction for:
    • Subject Liaison Areas
  • Purchase books and resources for:
    • Subject Liaison Areas
  • Reference and Research Help
  • Library Donations
  • Scholarly Communication

Trina Fyfe - Northern Health Sciences Librarian

Image of Trina FyfeSubject Liaison Areas

  • Health Sciences
  • Northern Medical Program
  • Nursing

Contact

Email: Trina.Fyfe@unbc.ca
Phone: (250) 960-5195
Office: 9-212

Make an Appointment

Services

Please contact me for the following services:

  • Provide instruction for:
    • Subject Liaison Areas
  • Purchase books and resources for:
    • Subject Liaison Areas
  • Reference and Research Help

Sarah Giesbrecht - Data Services Librarian

Image of Sarah GiesbrechtSubject Liaison Areas

  • Biology
  • Environmental Planning
  • Environmental Studies
  • Forestry
  • Geography
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Outdoor Recreation and Tourism Management

Contact Information

Email: Sarah.Giesbrecht@unbc.ca
Phone: (250) 960-6607
Office: 5-487

Make an Appointment

Services

Please contact me for the following services:

  • Provide instruction for:
    • Subject Liaison Areas
    • Data and Maps
  • Purchase books and resources for:
    • Subject Liaison Areas
    • Data, Maps, and Air Photos
  • Reference and Research Help
  • Research Data Management

Erica Hernandez-Read - Head of Archives & Special Collections

Image of Erica Hernandez-ReadSubject Specialties

  • Northern BC First Nations
  • Northern BC History

Contact Information

Email: Erica.Hernandez-Read@unbc.ca
Phone: (250) 960-6603
Office: 5-426

Make an Appointment

Services

Please contact the archives for the following services:

Kealin McCabe - Research & Learning Services Librarian

Avatar of Kealin McCabeSubject Liaison Areas

  • Economics
  • Education
  • Global and International Studies
  • Political Science
  • Social Work

Contact Information

Email: Kealin.McCabe@unbc.ca
Phone: (250) 960-6473
Office: 5-484

Make an Appointment

Services

Please contact me for the following services:

  • Provide instruction for:
    • Subject Liaison Areas
  • Purchase books and resources for:
    • Subject Liaison Areas
  • Reference and Research Help

Kim Stathers - Archivist

Image of Kim StathersSubject Specialties

  • Northern BC Historical Geography
  • Northern BC Environmental History
  • Northern BC Forest History
  • Northern BC History

Contact Information

Email: Kim.Stathers@unbc.ca
Phone: (250) 960-6644
Office: 5-417

Make an Appointment

Services

Please contact the archives for the following services:

Susie Wilson - Data Services Librarian

On Leave

See Sarah Giesbrecht for assistance.

Librarians & Archivists by Subject

Faculty/Subject Main Contact Email
Faculty of Business and Economics Heather Empey Heather.Empey@unbc.ca
Business Heather Empey Heather.Empey@unbc.ca
Economics Kealin McCabe Kealin.McCabe@unbc.ca
Faculty of Human and Health Sciences

Trina Fyfe

Kealin McCabe

Trina.Fyfe@unbc.ca

Kealin.McCabe@unbc.ca

Education

Kealin McCabe

Kim Stathers (Archivist)

Kealin.McCabe@unbc.ca

Kim.Stathers@unbc.ca

Health Sciences Trina Fyfe Trina.Fyfe@unbc.ca
Nursing Trina Fyfe Trina.Fyfe@unbc.ca
Psychology Annelise Dowd Annelise.Dowd@unbc.ca
Social Work Kealin McCabe Kealin.McCabe@unbc.ca
Faculty of Indigenous Studies, Social Sciences and Humanities

Adam Cohen

Erica Hernandez-Read (Archivist)

Adam.Cohen@unbc.ca

Erica.Hernandez-Read@unbc.ca

Anthropology

Adam Cohen

Erica Hernandez-Read (Archivist)

Adam.Cohen@unbc.ca

Erica.Hernandez-Read@unbc.ca

English

Annelise Dowd

Erica Hernandez-Read (Archivist)

Annelise.Dowd@unbc.ca

Erica.Hernandez-Read@unbc.ca

First Nations Studies

Adam Cohen

Erica Hernandez-Read (Archivist)

Adam.Cohen@unbc.ca

Erica.Hernandez-Read@unbc.ca

History

Adam Cohen

Erica Hernandez-Read (Archivist)

Adam.Cohen@unbc.ca

Erica.Hernandez-Read@unbc.ca

Global and International Studies

Kealin McCabe

Kealin.McCabe@unbc.ca

Northern Studies

Kealin McCabe

Erica Hernandez-Read (Archivist)

Kealin.McCabe@unbc.ca

Erica.Hernandez-Read@unbc.ca

Political Science

Kealin McCabe

Erica Hernandez-Read (Archivist)

Kealin.McCabe@unbc.ca

Erica.Hernandez-Read@unbc.ca

Women's and Gender Studies

Heather Empey

Erica Hernandez-Read (Archivist)

Heather.Empey@unbc.ca

Erica.Hernandez-Read@unbc.ca

Faculty of Environment

Sarah Giesbrecht

Kim Stathers (Archivist)

Sarah.Giesbrecht@unbc.ca

Kim.Stathers@unbc.ca

Biology

Sarah Giesbrecht

Sarah.Giesbrecht@unbc.ca

Environmental Planning

Sarah Giesbrecht

Kim Stathers (Archivist)

Sarah.Giesbrecht@unbc.ca

Kim.Stathers@unbc.ca

Environmental Science

Heather Empey

Heather.Empey@unbc.ca

Environmental and Sustainability Studies

Sarah Giesbrecht

Kim Stathers (Archivist)

Sarah.Giesbrecht@unbc.ca

Kim.Stathers@unbc.ca

Forestry

Sarah Giesbrecht

Kim Stathers (Archivist)

Sarah.Giesbrecht@unbc.ca

Kim.Stathers@unbc.ca

Geography

Sarah Giesbrecht

Kim Stathers (Archivist)

Sarah.Giesbrecht@unbc.ca

Kim.Stathers@unbc.ca

Outdoor Recreation and Tourism Management

Sarah Giesbrecht

Kim Stathers (Archivist)

Sarah.Giesbrecht@unbc.ca

Kim.Stathers@unbc.ca

Faculty of Science and Engineering Heather Empey Heather.Empey@unbc.ca
Chemistry and Biochemistry Heather Empey Heather.Empey@unbc.ca
Computer Science Heather Empey Heather.Empey@unbc.ca
Engineering Heather Empey Heather.Empey@unbc.ca
Math Sarah Giesbrecht Sarah.Giesbrecht@unbc.ca
Physics Heather Empey Heather.Empey@unbc.ca