Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UNBC Map Collection: Home

UNBC Map Collection

The Geoffrey R. Weller Library has a collection of more than 8000 maps, located on the 2nd floor of the library. The focus of the collection is Canada, and more specifically central and northern British Columbia, but our collection does span the globe. This guide will give you an overview of the types of materials collected, as well as information on how to access the maps.

Circulation Policy

The maps in the UNBC Map Collection are non-circulating, and are limited to in-library use only. Exceptions may be granted on a case-by-case basis.

Contact the Data Services Librarian if you have questions about our circulation policy.

Retrieving a Map

Patrons may retrieve maps of interest for themselves, as well as browse the collection. If you would prefer to have a map retrieved for you please stop at the circulation desk and request map assistance (you may need to come back at a later time to access the map). To keep the maps in good condition, take the following steps:

  1. Open the drawer completely - and only open a single drawer in a cabinet at a time.
  2. Lift the metal or fabric flap covering the map folders up and pull it back as far as it will go. Our map cabinets are a variety of different models - if you have trouble getting the flap up check in with the circulation desk for assistance.
  3. Folder contents are written in pencil in the right-hand corner, visible when the cover is lifted. Remove all folders above the folder of interest - do not attempt to slide a folder out from the middle of the drawer.
  4. Place the folder on top of a map cabinet. As with the folders, do not slide a map out from the middle - remove all the maps above the map of interest, take our the map you want, and then place the other maps back in the folder.
  5. Done with the maps? All you need to do is close all the drawers. Library staff will re-file the maps for you

Finding Maps

Our map collection includes both catalogued and uncatalogued material - what does that mean for you? Part of our collection can be found by searching the online catalogue, but some of it will only be discovered by browsing the cabinets.

National vs. Provincial Map Classification

You'll notice our collection includes sections for Canada and British Columbia (as well as other provinces and international locations). What do these distinctions mean?

Maps from the Canada section are produced by national organizations, and come from series that cover the country of Canada as a whole (for example, our NTS series maps). These maps will include more detailed maps of smaller regions, but are classified at the series level.

Similarly, British Columbia maps are often produced by provincial organizations and cover the province of BC. This section also includes maps that are not part of any series, but that cover locations in BC.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Susie Wilson
Contact:
250-960-6607

Citing Maps

Maps don't have the same type of bibliographic information as a book or article, which can make them intimidating to cite. This publication: ACLMA Recommended Best Practices in Citation of Cartographic Material covers everything from a single map sheet to a globe (and everything in-between) which can be used in conjunction with your citation style guide to ensure you include all necessary information in your bibliography or works cited.

Most citation styles manuals will provide specific rules and examples for citing different types of maps. Find your required citation style guides for details.