Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Geospatial Data Sources
BC Geospatial Data
ICIS GIS Data
The Integrated Cadastral Information Society provides a large collection of GIS data for British Columbia including the Cadastre Fabric, assessment data, TRIM maps, etc. The data comes from municipalities, crown agencies, First Nations, and several BC ministries. To access this data, please contact the Data Services Librarian. More information here
Abacus: British Columbia Research Libraries data services
Collection includes data from Statistics Canada, DMTI Spatial, and other sources. Divided into a series of collections, corresponding to each university, plus one larger shared data collection. Users can download entire datasets.
To log in, choose "University of Northern British Columbia" from the drop-down menu, and enter your UNBC username and password.
Freely available BC Government machine-readable data. The BC Data Catalogue
provides the easiest access to government's data holdings, as well as applications and web services. Thousands of the datasets discoverable in the Catalogue are available under the Open Government License - British Columbia.
Regional District of Fraser-Fort George Maps/Data Catalogue
Includes zoning, park. parcel, electoral area boundaries and designations maps and road maps.
Prince George open data catalogue
Freely available City of Prince George machine-readable data.
MapPlace, the British Columbia Geological Survey database-driven geospatial web service, has provided public geoscience data and custom map-making tools to help decision makers from diverse disciplines access, analyze and download information.
MapPlace 2 is a suite of geospatial web services to visualize and analyse geoscience and mineral resource data and maps in the province of British Columbia, with applications to search, report, and download data.
Canada Geospatial Data
This is the main open data portal for geospatial data produced by the Government of Canada. Open Maps provides access to the Government of Canada’s geospatial information. You can combine, visualize, and analyze geospatial data and collaborate with other Canadians. You can search for a specific data and browse/search by government organization, keywords, subject, data formats.
GeoGratis allows users to search for and to download a wealth of Natural Resources Canada maps data and publications. Here users may access Geological Survey of Canada maps and publications Atlas of Canada maps topographic maps/data (CanMatrix CanTopo CanVec) and much more. Use the Advanced Search to search specific series or collections.