The objectives of this guide are the following:
Try entering simple search terms such as:
"heart failure"
"concussion"
"anxiety"
Here are some sources of background information:
DynaMed is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for physicians and other health care professionals created for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'.
Search for the drug name in the compendium or a drug guide.
eg. "bisoprolol"
RxTx is an authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care and provides pharmacists and health care professionals with online access to evidence-based Canadian drug and therapeutic information. This database also includes the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties (CPS) which provides the most current Canadian drug information, Compendium of Therapeutic Choices (CTC), Compendium of Therapeutics for Minor Ailments (CTMA), Compendium of Products for Minor Ailments (CPMA), the Lexi-Interact Calculator, links to Health Canada advisories, printable information for patients, and searchable product images.
Use a database to search complex (multi-concept) questions. Find general search tips here: Library Research Guide: Finding Articles. Find more detailed information here: Knowledge Synthesis Guide: Building Your Search and here: Video Tutorials (Search Tips).
Try entering multiple search terms such as:
"heart failure" AND (edema OR ascites)
Here are some common databases, see also Finding Articles for a more comprehensive list:
If you are conducting a knowledge synthesis (systematic review, scoping review, or similar methodology) please refer to the following guide:
Understanding how to read and critique a research paper is an integral aspect to evidence-based nursing care. The following resources can assist you with understanding what to look for in a high quality research paper:
If you are looking for information on how to design and conduct a research project, need to learn a new research method, or need help doing a literature review or analyzing your date, Sage Research Methods may be useful.
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method.
Browse 'Sage Research Methods Online' for material on specific methods. Note the filters on the right of your results, which allow you to focus in on specific document types:
DiagnosaurusDynaMed is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for physicians and other health care professionals created for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'.
