 |
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. |
 |
Social Work Reference Center is an evidence-based collection including quick lessons, care sheets, clinical assessment tools, and patient education information. |
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries are a great way to begin the research process and an easy way to locate quick facts and figures, or familiarize yourself with general subject terms or to gain a better understanding of a term's meaning and proper use.
The Social Work Dictionary by
Social work terms -- Milestones in the development of social work and social welfare.
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care by
This new dictionary provides over 1,500 A-Z definitions of terms from the field of social care, concentrating on social work as a significant area within this field. Covering social work theories, methods, policies, organisations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics such as health and education, this is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind available. It also provides extended entries on specialisms such as children and families, domestic violence, and residential care. Useful appendices include a glossary of acronyms and a Table of Legislation, Regulations, and Codes of Practice. Entry-level bibliographies and web links provide further resources and the web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website. A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care is a must-have for students of social care and related subjects, as well as for qualified social workers undertaking continuing professional development programmes.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Work by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 389-394) and indexes.
Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work by
Includes bibliographical references.
Encyclopedia of Social Work by Handbook is just another name for guide. Click on the titles below to find out the locations of these useful tools. Each of these handbooks serves as a brief and easy-to-use guide to Social Work.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Work by
The SAGE Handbook of Social Work is the world's first generic major reference work to provide an authoritative guide to the theory, method, and values of social work in one volume. Drawn from an international field of excellence, the contributors each offer a critical analysis of their individual area of expertise. The result is this invaluable resource collection that not only reflects upon the condition of social work today but also looks to future developments.
Handbook of Clinical Social Work Supervision by
Ch. 1. Introduction -- Ch. 2. History of supervision -- Ch. 3. Values and ethics -- Ch. 4. Supervisor styles -- Ch. 5. Practitioners̕ reactions to supervisor styles -- Ch. 6. Technique in supervision -- Ch. 7. The Role of authority and structure -- Ch. 8. Use of theory -- Ch. 9. Evaluation of practice -- Ch. 10. Stress reactions -- Ch. 11. Administrative activities -- Ch. 12. Audiovisual and action techniques -- Ch. 13. Supervision in different settings -- Ch. 14. Supervision in unique situations -- Ch. 15. Art and science in social work practice -- Appendix I. Assessment Scale for becoming a Clinical Supervisor (ASBCS) -- Appendix II. Educational Assessment Scale (EAS) -- Appendix III. Clinical social work credentialing, accrediting, and professional organizations -- Appendix IV. Code of ethics of the National Association of Social Workers, the American Board of Examiners in Clinical Social Work, and the Clinical Social Work Federation -- Appendix V. Ethics Knowledge Survey (EKS) for the NASW code of ethics -- Appendix VI. Practitioner Self-Assessment Form (PSAF) -- Appendix VII. Short Form Stress Scale (SFSS) -- Appendix VIII. Supervision Analysis Questionnaire (SAQ) -- Appendix IX. Short Form Supervision Satisfaction -- Questionnaire (SFSSQ) -- Appendix X. Individual and group supervision report form.
The Routledge International Handbook of Social Work Supervision by
General Principles of Crisis Counseling and Prevention -- Conceptualizations and General Principles of Crisis Counseling, Intervention, and Prevention / Jonathan Sandoval -- Preparing for the School Crisis Response / Stephen E. Brock -- Culture, Diversity, and Crisis / Jonathan Sandoval -- Crisis Throughout Childhood and Adolescence But Particularly Common in the Elementary School -- School and Learning: School Entry, School Failure, and the Discovery of Learning Disabilities / Colette L. Ingraham -- Divorce: Crisis Intervention and Prevention With Children of Divorce and Remarriage / Andrew M. Lamden, Mariam J. King, Ruth K. Goldman -- Bullying / Dorothea M. Ross -- Child Maltreatment / Robert Germain, Jonathan Sandoval -- Helping Children Cope With Death / Pamela Green Hawkins -- Illness: a Crisis for Children / Margaret S. Steward -- Children of Parents With Disabilities / Mari Griffiths Irvin -- Moving / Jonathan Sandoval -- School Violence and Disasters / Jonathan Sandoval, Stephen E. Brock -- Adolescent Crises -- Suicide / John M. Davis, Stephen E. Brock -- Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Questioning Youth / Suzy R. Thomas, Timothy G. Larrabee -- Adolescent Parenthood: A Crisis for Males and Females / Barbara S. Hardy -- Parent-Adolescent Crises / Marvin J. Fine, Linda D. Robert, Jonathan Sandoval -- Rape and Sexual Assault / Virginia L. Schiefelbein -- Helping Children with Eating Disorders: Quintessential Research on Etiology, Prevention, Assessment, and Treatment / Shane R. Jimerson, Renee Pavelski, Micah Orliss.
The Routledge Handbook of Green Social Work by
Introduction and overview / Janet Bennett, Milton Bennett, Dan Landis -- State of the art of intercultural training. Intercultural training in historical perspective / Margaret D. Pusch -- An analysis of methods for intercultural training / Sandra Mumford Fowler, Judith M. Blohm -- Instrumentation in intercultural training / R. Michael Paige -- Evaluation studies of cross-cultural training programs : a review of the literature from 1988-2000 / Mark E. Mendenhall ... [et al.] -- Theory into practice. Developing intercultural sensitivity : an interactive approach to global and domestic diversity / Janet Bennett, Milton Bennett -- Fundamental psychological processes in intercultural relations / John W. Berry -- Psychological theories of culture contact and their implications for intercultural training and interventions / Colleen Ward -- Translating conflict face-negotiation theory into practice / Stella Ting-Toomey -- Embodied ethnocentrism and the feeling of culture : a key to training for intercultural competence / Milton J. Bennett, Ida Castiglioni -- Media and intercultural training / Carlos E. Cortes -- Training for specific contexts. Study abroad at the university level / Kenneth Cushner, Ata U. Karim -- Intercultural reentry of students and professionals : theory and practice / Judith Martin, Teresa Harrell -- Long-term cross-cultural adaptation : translating an integrative theory into practice / Young Yun Kim -- The evolution of cross-cultural training in the Peace Corps / Laurette Bennhold-Samaan -- Diversity management and training in non-American forces / Donna Winslow, Stefan Kammhuber, Joseph L. Soeters -- Looking into studies of heterogeneous small groups : an analysis of the research findings / Aysen Bakir, Dan Landis, Kenji Noguchi -- Final thoughts. Afterword: Reflections on the future of training / George Renwick -- Synthesizing theory building and practice in intercultural training / Dan Landis, Dharm P.S. Bhawuk.
Handbook of Social Work in Child and Adolescent Sexual Abuse by
Child and adolescent sexual abuse : historical overview -- Child and adolescent sexual abuse -- Child and adolescent sexual abuse and family dysfunction : theoretical explanations and ethnic considerations -- Intrafamilial child and adolescent sexual abuse -- The non-family sex offenderchild and adolescent sexual abuse -- Child and adolescent sexual abuse : current empirical assessment methods -- Treatment for the sexually abused child -- Treatment for sexually abused adolescents -- Child and adolescent sexual abuse : treatment for the non-offending caregiver -- Child and adolescent sexual abuse : prevention endeavors -- Child and adolescent sexual abuse : policy and practice implications.
Handbook of Social Work in Health and Aging by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Handbook of Social Work Practice with Vulnerable and Resilient Populations by
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
The Routledge Handbook of Postcolonial Social Work by 
The Routledge Handbook of Critical Pedagogies for Social Work by 
The Routledge International Handbook of Social Work and Sexualities by 
