Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find journal articles, search the journal indexes covering journals in your discipline. Remember that elements of a topic may fall into other disciplines. Hence, you may find that you also need to search journal indexes that cover other disciplines. Below are a selection of databases that index journals related to World Literature.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large multidisciplinary resource that includes the full text for most of the publications in its index.
Defining Gender 1450-1910
The documents in the Defining Gender database reflect changing notions of masculinity and femininity and the social climate in which they developed during the 15th through 19th centuries particularly in Great Britain with an emphasis on social conduct and etiquette marriage and family life consumption leisure activities and the philosophy and practice of education.
Literature resource center
The Literature Resource Center allows users to simultaneously search Contemporary Authors Dictionary of Literary Biography the Literary Criticism series and a collection of scholarly journals. This resource contains in-depth information on the lives and writings of over 100 000 authors from all genres time periods and locations along with critical reaction to their works.
Humanities full text
Humanities full text brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities as well as lesser known specialized magazines. The database indexes abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles interviews obituaries bibliographies original works of fiction drama and poetry book reviews and reviews of ballets dance programs motion pictures musicals operas plays radio and television programs.
InteLex Past Masters
The InteLex Past Masters provide full text databases in the humanities in original languages and translations which include philosophy English letters women writers religious studies political thought & theory and Germanic studies.
Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory and criticism
The Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory and criticism includes almost 300 alphabetically arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists critical schools and movements and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
JSTOR provides image and full-text online access to selected scholarly journals in history economics political science demography mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
Medieval travel writing
The original multiple manuscript sources contain the journeys of famous travelers from Prester John and Marco Polo to Sir John Mandeville and John Capgrave. These sources talk about the attitudes and preconceptions of people across Europe in the medieval period shedding light on issues of race economics trade militarism politics literature and science.
MLA international bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles books and dissertations. Coverage is international and dates back to 1963 subjects include literature language and linguistics folklore literary theory & criticism dramatic arts as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
MLA directory of periodicals
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7 100 journals with 4 400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information as well as frequency circulation subscription prices and submission guidelines.
Nines : Nineteenth-century scholarship online
NINES is an aggregator of digital resources that provide a comprehensive research environment for scholars working on Victorian and Romantic literature history the fine arts and philosophy of the long nineteenth century (1770-1920).
Project MUSE provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press primarily covering the humanities social sciences and mathematics.