Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
A Concise Dictionary of Literary Terms by
Includes bibliographical references (p. [279]-280).
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by
Includes bibliographical references (p. [279]-280).
Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms by
Includes bibliographical references.
Handbook is just another name for guide. Each of these handbooks serves as a brief and easy-to-use guide to literature, containing entries on writers, literary theories, literary movements and more.
Comparative Literature by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Reference Guide to World Literature by
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Encyclopedia of African Literature by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
A History of South African Literature by
Includes bibliographical references (p 254-286) and index.
A History of Japanese Literature by
Vol. 3; Includes bibliographies and indexes.
A History of Korean Literature by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 512-542) and index.
The literature of China in the twentieth century by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Princeton Companion to Classical Japanese Literature by
Includes index.
Reader's Guide to Japanese Literature by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Oxford Companion to Australian Literature by 
The Oxford Companion to New Zealand Literature by Dictionary of Italian Literature by
Includes bibliographical references (p.[601]-604) and index.
Dictionary of Scandinavian Literature by
Includes bibliographical references (p. [681]-696) and index.
Encyclopedia of German Literature by
Includes bibliographical references.
The History of Polish Literature by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 544-561) and index.
The Oxford Companion to English Literature by Oxford Companion to French Literature by 
The Oxford Companion to German Literature by
Includes bibliographical references.
Reference Guide to Russian Literature by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Routledge Companion to Russian Literature by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 251-259) and index.
The Routledge history of literature in English: Britain and Ireland by 
Russian Literature: a very short introduction by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
A Short History of French Literature by
This text traces the history of French literature from its beginnings to the modern day - from the oral works of the Middle Ages via the print culture in the Renaissance, through to the attempted codification of genres and styles in the 19th century and the resourceful experimentation of the 20th.
A Short History of Greek Literature by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 187-205) and index.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
The Routledge Reader in Caribbean Literature by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Arabic Literature by
Includes bibliography: (p. 183-184) and index.
An Introduction to Arabic Literature by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 239-248) and index.
The Cambridge Companion to Canadian Literature by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 276-283) and index.
The Cambridge Companion to Native American Literature by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 311-328) and index.
Handbook of Native American Literature by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature by
Includes bibliographical references.
The Oxford Companion to American Literature by
Includes index.
The Penguin Companion to American Literature by
Includes bibliographical references.
Literary theory can be challenging to grasp, but there are many guides to theory available in the Library. The books listed below are a selection of works that can give you a general overview of literary theory; for more theory guides, and for in-depth works on specific literary theory areas (Feminist theory, Marxist theory, Postmodernism, etc.), please visit the Library catalog.
Key Concepts in Literary Theory by
Includes bibliographical references.
Modern Literary Theory and Criticism by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Literary Theory by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 237-246) and index.
A Reader's Guide to Twentieth-Century Writers by 