Skip to main content

Transportation Development and Impact in Northern BC

This guide highlights Northern BC Archives collections on railways, highways, and other methods of transportation across Northern BC.

Search the Archives

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed 12:30 PM-1:00 PM daily
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays
Appointments Recommended

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)

Sources on Transportation Development in the Northern BC Archives

Railway tracks through a forestThe Northern BC Archives has over 14 linear meters of textual records, more than 5000 photographs, and other materials on transportation development and its impact on Northern BC. These extensive collections have had little to any scholarly research attention and are full of original research potential. Browse these pages, visit our website, and contact the archives for more information about these collections.

Research Potential: The Prince George Railway & Forestry Museum Collection and the David Davies Railway Collection in particular provide textual, cartographic and photographic evidence of exploratory ventures in BC’s Northern regions. Of significance are rare bodies of records from the early 20th century when entrepreneurs looked to develop transportation links and both provincial and national governments looked to invest in BC’s North in the hopes of economic prosperity and increased settlement. Possible research topics include:

  • Examination of changing rail technology
  • Analysis of the perceptions and hopes of northern communities at the time
  • Examination of changing work conditions in these industries

Any of these research projects and more would be eligible for the Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship (see below for details).

Image: 2013.6.36.1.139.05 - CNR Northern Line - Nechako Subdivision

The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship

The Office of Graduate Research, with the generous assistance of an anonymous donation, is pleased to announce the creation of The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship. Up to two awards per year with a value of $2,500 each will be awarded to full-time UNBC graduate students in any discipline who are pursuing archival research at the Northern BC Archives for their graduate thesis or project.

Check out our scholarship page or brochure for more information:

Applications accepted: October 15, 2019 to March 1, 2020

Application Instructions: Applicants must apply online through their "myUNBC" portal. Applicants must provide a detailed description of their research proposal including an in-depth explanation as to which archival materials from the NBCA they are interested in researching.

For additional information and criteria, please see the UNBC Scholarship, Bursary, and Awards Guide for the scholarship.

Apply now!