Chicago Style

There is no set standard for citing archival materials in Chicago Style and some examples are not applicable to Canadian archives due to the differences in Canadian and American archiving. Some essential elements are:

Author (if known, see sample footnote 2), Title (not in quotes unless there is an obvious recognizable title, see sample footnote 2), Reference Code, Collection Title, Archive, Parent Institution (if applicable), City, Provence/State (location information not required if internationally known or in the institution name).

Examples for Textual Items and Files

Notes:

1. Richard Corless Funeral Ledger, 18 May 1916-9 July 1951, 2007.23.1.1, Richard Corless Funeral Ledger, Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC, https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/index.php/richard-corless-funeral-ledger-2.
2. Alfred Hugh Phipps, "A. H. Phipps Memoirs of Charles E. Bedaux Sub-Artic Expedition 1934," 1934, [ca. 1964], 2004.1.1.3.2, Phipps-Mackenzie Collection, Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC, https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/index.php/2004-1-1-3-2.
3. Pierre E. Trudeau, Prime Minister - Ephemera, 1971-1998, 2009.6.3.52, The Honourable Iona Campagnolo fonds, Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC.
4. Political Speeches, 1992, 2009.6.3.38, The Honourable Iona Campagnolo fonds.
   *Note the shorter citation for two items from the same collection in footnotes 3 and 4.

Bibliography entries for the above footnotes:

Phipps, Alfred Hugh. "A. H. Phipps Memoirs of Charles E. Bedaux Sub-Artic Expedition 1934." 1934, [ca. 1964]. 2004.1.1.3.2. Phipps-Mackenzie Collection. Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC. https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/index.php/2004-1-1-3-2.

Richard Corless Funeral Ledger. 18 May 1916-9 July 1951. 2007.23.1.1. Richard Corless Funeral Ledger. Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC. https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/index.php/richard-corless-funeral-ledger-2.

The Honourable Iona Campagnolo fonds, 2009.6. Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC.

*Specific items are not included in a bibliography unless only one item from a collection is cited.

Author-Date Bibliography entry:

In-text: 

Single item:
Alfred Hugh Phipps accompanied Beduax on his Sub-Arctic Expedition in 1934, but it is believed he wrote his memoirs of the expedition some 30 years after the fact (Phipps, 2004.1.1.3.2).

Multiple references from a single collection:
Iona Capangnolo explored renewable energy options between 1975 and 1978 (Honourable Iona Campagnolo fonds, 2009.6.13.12.12) while also pursuing other energy options (2009.6.13.12.06-11) such as...

Reference list:

Phipps, Alfred Hugh. 1934, [ca. 1964]. "A. H. Phipps Memoirs of Charles E. Bedaux Sub-Artic Expedition 1934." 2004.1.1.3.2. Phipps-Mackenzie Collection. Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC. https://search.nbca.unbc.ca/index.php/2004-1-1-3-2.

The Honourable Iona Campagnolo fonds, 2009.6. Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC.

Date Note: "When citing manuscript collections in author-date format, it is unnecessary to use n.d. (no date) in place of the date. Dates of individual items should be mentioned in the text, when applicable." (CMOS, 2017, 15.54)

Digital Items

Digital archival items are cited exactly the same way as physical items, with the addition of the URL at the end of the citation.

For more guidance/examples, refer to the Chicago Manual of Style sections 14.221-14.231 on Manuscript Collections.