Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Archives: Newspapers

Using an item from the archives?

A credit line must be given for the publication, exhibition, presentation, or use of reproductions from the NBCA. Credit line to be written in the manner as follows:

Northern BC Archives, UNBC Accession No. ______.

Citing Newspapers

Chicago Style

Notes:

  1. “The Greatest Marine Disaster in History,” The Globe (Toronto), April 16, 1912, https://search.proquest.com/docview/1351176382?accountid=14601

Bibliography:

“The Greatest Marine Disaster in History.” The Globe (Toronto). April 16, 1912. https://search.proquest.com/docview/1351176382?accountid=14601.

Author-Date In-text:

(The Globe 1912)

Author-Date Bibliography:

The Globe (Toronto). 1912. “The Greatest Marine Disaster in History.” April 16, 1912. https://search.proquest.com/docview/1351176382?accountid=14601.

In newspaper articles with no author, the newspaper title takes the place of the author. Otherwise the format would be:

Author, A. (Year). "Article Title." Newspaper title (City if not in newspaper title). Date of article. URL

APA

In-text citation:

(“Greatest Marine Disaster,” 1912)

Reference list:

The Greatest Marine Disaster in History. (1912, April 16). The Globe, pp. 1-2. https://search.proquest.com/docview/1351176382?accountid=14601.

If the newspaper article has an author then the format would be: Author. A. (Year, Month Day). Article Title. Newspaper Title. URL.

Unidentified newspaper or magazine clipping in a file in an archival collection:

Bibliography:

On BC Rail, Tumbler Ridge Line; July 1986. (1990, October). [Clipping from an unidentified magazine]. David Davies Railway Collection (2013.6.22.2.2), Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC.

In-text citation:

("On BC Rail, Tumbler Ridge Line; July 1986," 1990)

For more guidance/examples, refer to the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association section on Archival Documents and Collections.

MLA

In-text citation:

(“Titanic Disaster”)

Bibliography:

Author, A. “Article Title.” Newspaper Title [City if not in newspaper title] Day Month Year: page number(s). Medium. Date accessed (if from web)

"The Titanic Disaster." Times [London] 16 Apr. 1912: 9. The Times Digital Archive. Web. 27 Nov. 2017.

Ask an Archivist

Profile Photo
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
APPOINTMENT ONLY
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)