Skip to main content

Women in Northern BC

Northern BC Archives collections of various women who have had an influence on Canada and its history.

Overview

Six indigenous womenThe Northern BC Archives includes a few large collections created by women from Northern BC. These include:

  • Dr. Marianne (Marika) Ainley, who spent much of her academic career studying and raising awareness on women in scientific fields and who was the first head of UNBC's Women's Studies program
  • Bridget Moran, who worked as a social worker until writing an open letter in a Vancouver newspaper criticizing Premier W.A.C. Bennett’s Social Credit government for what she saw as gross neglect in addressing the needs of child welfare in the province. After her retirement from social work, she pursued a career as a writer.
  • The Honourable Iona Campagnolo, who was a politician who served as M.P. for Skeena, Minister of State Fitness and Amateur Sport in the Trudeau Government, President of the Liberal Party of Canada, and finally Lieutenant Governor of BC.

The Northern BC Archives also include the Prince George Women’s Organizations Collection which includes materials from various women’s organizations within Prince George.

Image: 2009.10.1.63 - Six indigenous women

The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship

The Office of Graduate Research, with the generous assistance of an anonymous donation, is pleased to announce the creation of The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship. Up to two awards per year with a value of $2,500 each will be awarded to full-time UNBC graduate students in any discipline who are pursuing archival research at the Northern BC Archives for their graduate thesis or project.

Check out our scholarship page or brochure for more information:

Applications accepted: October 15, 2019 to March 1, 2020

Application Instructions: Applicants must apply online through their "myUNBC" portal. Applicants must provide a detailed description of their research proposal including an in-depth explanation as to which archival materials from the NBCA they are interested in researching.

For additional information and criteria, please see the UNBC Scholarship, Bursary, and Awards Guide for the scholarship.

Apply now!