Skip to main content

Transportation Development and Impact in Northern BC

This guide highlights Northern BC Archives collections on railways, highways, and other methods of transportation across Northern BC.

Black and white photo of steam locomotivePrince George Railway & Forestry Museum

The Prince George Railway & Forestry Museum Society Collection (1894-1999) contains materials relating to related to regional developments of Canadian National, Pacific Great Eastern, BC Rail, and Grand Trunk Pacific Railways in Northern BC.

Black and white photo of a "Dunrobin" locomotive and saloon coach

1899-2013 Railway Collection

The David Davies Railway Collection (1899-2013) encompasses all facets of railway history in British Columbia and the Yukon.

Association of American Railroads

The Association of American Railroads Collection consists of 5 booklets concerned with different aspects of safe railroad operations between 1950 and 1957. The booklets cover a range of subjects including derailments, loading material dangerous material, and other loading instructions.

Tumbler Ridge Electric Railway

The Tumbler Ridge Electric Railway Collection consists of approximately 940 slides taken during the construction in the early 1980s.

Archival Speaker Series: Dr. Frank Leonard

"This Never-ending Treadmill": Axel Wenner-Gren's British Columbia Project public lecture by Dr. Frank Leonard

On February 27, Dr. Frank Leonard, Adjunct Associate Professor, Dept. of History at University of Victoria will provide a presentation on The Axel Wenner-Gren BC Project, 1956-61, which proposed a massive development in the Rocky Mountain Trench between Swedish financier Wenner-Gren and the W.A.C. Bennett Government. Drawing on archival research undertaken in Sweden, Dr. Leonard suggests that the misfortunes of the "Swedish Midas" in British Columbia offer a fascinating case study in a much larger story of business failure.  

Dr. Leonard is a historian of infrastructure development in western Canada and the United States. His book, A Thousand Blunders: The Grand Trunk Pacific Railway and Northern British Columbia (1996), has received several awards. For eight years, Dr. Leonard taught at the College of New Caledonia in Prince George, and during the 1970s, he was a Visiting Scholar in the Department of History at Uppsala University.

Special Collections Related Reading