Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles and Databases
To find journal articles, search the journal indexes covering journals in your discipline. Remember that elements of a topic may fall into other disciplines. Hence, you may find that you also need to search journal indexes that cover other disciplines.
For a complete list of databases affiliated with History, click here.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large multidisciplinary resource that includes the full text for most of the publications in its index.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America). For literature pertaining to history of the United States and Canada use http://wizard.unbc.ca/record=e1000028~S3>America: History and Life.
Empire Online is a powerful and interactive digital resource which spans five centuries: from a translation of Columbus's 1492 voyage to 21st Century works on Imperialism. It includes thousands of images of unique source material such as maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, paintings, drawings, and rare books.
European views of the Americas
This database created from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas 1493-1750 contains more than 32 000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples and includes a wide range of subject areas from natural disasters to disease outbreaks to slavery.
Humanities full text
Humanities full text brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities as well as lesser known specialized magazines. The database indexes abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles interviews obituaries bibliographies original works of fiction drama and poetry book reviews and reviews of ballets dance programs motion pictures musicals operas plays radio and television programs.
International historical statistics
International Historical Statistics includes socio-economic data from not only the Americas and Europe but also Africa Asia and Oceania.
JSTOR provides image and full-text online access to selected scholarly journals in history economics political science demography mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) provides access to hundreds of full text digitized journal backfiles in the arts humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from the first issue to 1995 for most titles and extends to 2000 for some journals.
Project MUSE provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press primarily covering the humanities social sciences and mathematics.
Drop by the Research Help Desk today!
Have a question? We are available at (250) 960-6475
Text a Librarian
Have a research questions? Text us! (250) 999-0478