Reference materials are an excellent way to gather background information on your subject areas and to acquaint yourself with a particular topic. Click on the links below to discover some of the reference materials available relating to Mexican, South and Central American, and Caribbean History.
Dictionaries are a great resource to use in order to familiarize yourself with general subject terms or to gain a better understanding of a term's meaning and proper use. Listed below is a selection of the dictionaries related to Mexican, South and Central American, and Caribbean History that we possess.
A Political and Economic Dictionary of Latin America by 
Dictionary of Afro-Latin American Civilization by
Includes bibliographical references (p. [505]-512) and index.
Encyclopedias are a great way to begin the research process and an easy way to locate quick facts and figures. Use encyclopedias as a means of introducing yourself to a topic before you begin the research process.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Conflict in the Early Americas by
Includes bibliographical references (pages 451-461) and index.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Handbook is just another name for guide. Click on the titles below to find out the locations of these useful tools. Each of these handbooks serves as a brief and easy-to-use guide to Mexican, South and Central American, and Caribbean History.
HLAS online: handbook of Latin American studies by
Contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 800 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings. Most records include abstracts with evaluations.
Mexico Handbook by
Contents: Overview -- Population -- Urbanization -- Marriage, fertility, and family planning -- Migration -- Mortality, health, and housing -- Social characteristics -- The economy -- Labor force -- Development -- Politics.
