Skip to Main Content

The 1918 Influenza Epidemic in Prince George: Learning Resource

A primary source analysis teaching resource about the 1918 Spanish influenza epidemic in the Prince George area

Contact us

Profile Photo
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
APPOINTMENT ONLY
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)

1918 Influenza Epidemic Deaths in the Prince George Area

This listing of deaths from 1918 Spanish influenza epidemic in the Prince George area was compiled via primary source research. This list contains 77 identified names of persons who were likely victims of the epidemic. The number of deaths in the area is certain to be higher.

The majority of deaths were from bacterial pneumonia, a secondary infection caused by influenza, but the virus also killed people directly, causing massive hemorrhages and edema in the lung.

If you have family history records related to any of the 1918 Spanish influenza victims listed below or if you know of another victim of the 1918 Spanish influenza in the Prince George and Upper Fraser area not listed here, please contact us at archives@unbc.ca.

Record of Epidemic Deaths

Date Vital Information Primary Source Evidence
17 Oct. 1918

John Pierway

Age 3

Died at Miworth of pneumonia

Cause of death may have been whooping cough (there was a local outbreak in September 1918) or influenza. Scholarship suggests that in 1918, symptoms were so unusual that initially influenza was misdiagnosed as other illnesses, such as whooping cough.

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242493

19 Oct. 1918

Julie Freddy

Age 13

Died in the Fort George Indian Reserve

Cause of death unknown

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-002825
19 Oct. 1918

Anne Ross

Age 4 months

Born in Prince George

Died of whooping cough at Prince George

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 20 Oct. 1918

Cause of death may have been whooping cough (there was a local outbreak in September 1918) or influenza. Scholarship suggests that in 1918, symptoms were so unusual that initially influenza was misdiagnosed as other illnesses, such as whooping cough.

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242497

PG Citizen (Oct. 22): The infant son of Mr. and Mrs. [?] Ross, of the East End, died Saturday from whooping cough. 

20 or 22 Oct. 1918

Dora Bird

Age 8 months

Died of pneumonia at Prince George

Cause of death may have been whooping cough (there was a local outbreak in September 1918) or influenza. Scholarship suggests that in 1918, symptoms were so unusual that initially influenza was misdiagnosed as other illnesses, such as whooping cough.

Corless Funeral Ledger

PG Citizen (Oct. 22): The infant son of Mr. and Mrs. [?] Ross, of the East End, died Saturday from whooping cough. Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Bird of South Fort George have also lost an infant with the same complaint.

20 Oct. 1918

Iselene Qua

Age 31

Died at the Fort George Indian Reserve

Cause of death unknown

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-002848
22 Oct. 1918

George Churchman

Age 35 years

Born in Austria

Resident of Hutton

Died of pneumonia at the Connaught Hotel temporary hospital

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 29 Oct. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

PG Citizen (Oct. 25): An Austrian who had been brought in from Hutton Mills in a serious condition died in the city on Tuesday night.

23 Oct. 1918

John Lockyer

Age 19 years

Born in Idaho

Resident of Prince George

Occupation: Farmer

Died of pneumonia at Prince George

Buried at Fort George

Corless Funeral Ledger

Prince George Citizen (25 Oct.): A young man named Lockyer, on leave from military training camp, died yesterday at Salmon River, north of the city. He was on a visit to his parents. Other members of the family are reported seriously ill. (Nov. 5): In announcing the regrettable death of a son of the Lockyer family the Citizen in error gave his name as William. The deceased young man's name was Jack Lockyer. William, we are pleased to state, is now making good progress towards recovery.

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242479

23 Oct. 1918

Beatrice Annie Hunter

Age 25 years

Died of pneumonia at Prince Rupert

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 27 Oct. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

PG Citizen (29 Oct.): The body of Mrs. Hunter, of Prince Rupert, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Bateman, of Giscome, was brought in from the west on Sunday's train. Interment took place in the local cemetery. The deceased lady was a victim of influenza. The husband and three small children are left to mourn.

23 Oct. 1918

Birdie Mocbus

Age 4 years

Born in Wetaskiwin, Alberta

Resident of Prince George

Died of pneumonia at the Connaught Hotel temporary hospital

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 11 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242482

PG Citizen (Nov. 5): The death on Saturday evening [of Emma] Mocbus, after a valiant struggle with influenza and pneumonia, is deeply felt in the city and community. ...The case is doubly sad owing to the death about ten days ago of her little daughter and only child aged four years. The death of the little one had been kept from the mother's knowledge until her strength was equal to the blow. Besides her husband, who is overseas with the Canadian forces, the parents, Mr. and Mrs. Otto Kling, of Fort George, are bereaved.

24 Oct. 1918

Frank Duncan Seymour

Age 4 years

Died at Miworth of pneumonia

Buried at South Fort George

Corless Funeral Ledger
24 Oct. 1918

Rose Quaw (Corless Ledger)

Rosalie Quaw (Death Certificate)

Age 28

Died at Miworth of pneumonia

Buried at Fort George

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-002845

24 Oct. 1918

Edward William Hoar

Age 37 years

Died at Prince George of pneumonia

Buried at Edmonton, Alberta

 

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242465

PG Citizen (Oct. 25): News of the death yesterday morning of Edward Hoar, a prominent young man of this city, caused a shock to the whole community. Deceased had been ill only a few days and was recovering from an attack of influenza when pneumonia in its most severe form set in and notwithstanding every care and attention he rapidly grew worse until death came. The deceased young man had been a resident of Prince George from the city's inception. He was of a likable character and had a large circle of friends. With his partner, F.G. Taylor, he conducted a billiard parlor and tobacco store here. He was 37 years of age. The body will be forwarded to Edmonton Sunday morning on instructions from his brother who resides there.

PG Citizen (Dec 31): "In the Goods of Edward William Hoar, Deceased. Notice is hereby given to the creditors or persons having any claim upon or against the estate of Edward William Hoar, deceased, to send in their claims to the undersigned on or before the 15th day of January, 1919, after which time the undersigned will distribute the said estate, having regard only to those claims filed with him. P.E. WILSON. Solicitor for Robert Lyle Hoar, administrator of the estate of Edward William Hoar, deceased."

24 Oct. 1918

Katherine Bird

Dora Katherine Bird (Death Certificate)

Age 25

Born in British Columbia

Died at Miworth of pneumonia

Buried at Fort George

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242448

 

24 Oct. 1918

Thomas Henry Lionel Roper

Age 43

Born in England

Temporary resident in the area, resident of New York

Occupation: Mining Engineer

Died at Fort George

Buried in New York

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242499

PG Citizen (Oct. 25): After only a few days illness the occured last night of Mr. H.S. Roper, a prominent mining engineer, who has made his home at Fort George for more than a year. The deceased and Mrs. Roper had only recently returned from a visit to New York. A week ago both contracted influenza which in the husband's case rapidly developed into pneumonia.

PG Citizen (Dec. 3): Mr. Selden F. Marvin, of New York, president of the Nechaco Mines Inc., is in the city today and registered at the Alexandra. With Mr. Marvin is Mr. Burdick, an American mining engineer, who will take up the work of the late Mr. Roper, whose untimely death from influenza occurred here a few weeks ago. The company has some promising mining properties at Houston, west of here.

24 Oct. 1918 Daughter of Postmaster Davidson Prince George Citizen (25 Oct.): Several severe cases of influenza are reported from the lumbering districts east of here. At Aleza Lake the little daughter of Postmaster Davidson died yesterday, though it is not stated that the child's death was due to influenza. 
24 Oct. 1918

Chris Hendrickson (Name on Death Certificate)

George Hendrickson (Prince George Citizen)

Age 26

Died at Aleza Lake

Prince George Citizen (25 Oct.): Several severe cases of influenza are reported from the lumbering districts east of here...Another victim was a man named George Hendrickson, employed at one of the mills.

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242471

24 Oct. 1918

Clair Silcock Sims (Name on Death Certificate)

Clair Silcock Symms (Corless Ledger)

Age 45

Born in England

Resident of Giscome

Died at Giscome of pneumonia

Buried at Willow River

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242503

PG Citizen (Oct. 25): At Giscome, Mrs. Sims, wife of a section foreman, died yesterday. 

25 Oct. 1918

She Jong Ung

Age 32

Died in Prince George

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242507
26 Oct. 1918

Catherine Bird

Age 27

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242450

 

27 Oct. 1918

Albert Bessette

Age unknown

Born in France

Occupation: Lumbering

Resident of Aleza Lake

Died of pneumonia in hospital

Buried at Fort George

Corless Funeral Ledger
27 Oct. 1918

Eva Oswalda (Corless Ledger)

Eva Oswald (Death Certificate)

Age 23

Born in Russia

Occupation: Housewife

Resident of Prince George

Died of pneumonia at Prince George city hospital

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 28 Oct. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242491

27 Oct. 1918

John Pierrie(?) Roftus

Age 40 years, 10 months

Born in Ireland

Occupation: Brakeman

Died of pneumonia at Prince George

Corless Funeral Ledger
27 Oct. 1918

Terrace Niedermaier

Age 29

Born in Germany

Resident of Fort George

Died of pneumonia at Hansard

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242486

27 Oct. 1918

Thomas Joseph Williams

Age 30 years

Born in Ireland

Occupation: Conductor

Resident of Prince Rupert

Died of pneumonia at Connaught Hotel temporary hospital

Buried at Prince Rupert

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242509

28 Oct. 1918

Clinton Sandface McKenzie (Corless)

Clinton Sandford McKenzie (Death Registration)

Age 19 years

Born in Nova Scotia

Died of pneumonia at Connaught Hotel temporary hospital

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242485

28 Oct. 1918

William "Billy" Seymour

Age 18 (or 19)

Born in British Columbia

Died of pneumonia at South Fort George

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242504

(Date of Death given as Oct. 29, 1918)

28 Oct. 1918

Alex Dishleway

Age unknown

Occupation: Ferryman

Resident of Miworth

Died of pneumonia at Union Rooms temporary hospital

Buried at Prince George, funeral on 30 Oct. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger
28 Oct. 1918

Chow Young Quong (Corless Ledger)

Young Quong Chow (Death Certificate)

Chew Wing (PG Citizen)

Age 25

Born in China

Occupation: Cook

Resident of Prince George

Died of pneumonia at 3rd Avenue, Prince George

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 30 Oct. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242454

PG Citizen (Oct. 29): Early last evening a young Chinaman named Chew Wing died at his home on Third avenue. He had lived from early childhood in Cariboo and had attended school in Quesnel.

29 Oct. 1918

John V. McCabe

Age 44

Born in Strathroy, Ontario

Occupation: Lumbering

Resident of Prince George

Died of pneumonia at Prince George city hospital

Buried in Strathroy, Ontario

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242484

PG Citizen (Oct. 29): Two more deaths were reported from the epidemic today, one a man named McCabe, who had been brought in from Bednesti in a serious condition...Pneumonia had resulted in both instances.

29 Oct. 1918

Eva Coil Niedermaier

Age 9 days

Born in Hutton

Resident of Hutton

Died of pneumonia at "Cache" [possibly what is now named as Island Cache or Foley's Cache, where there was a small Grand Trunk Pacific hospital]

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 2 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger
29 Oct. 1918

Hattie May Guss

Age 29 years, 3 months

Born in the United States

Resident of Rose Lake

Died of pneumonia at Maundrell Hospital

Buried at Prince George

Corless Funeral Ledger

PG Citizen (Nov. 1): The death of Mrs. Guss, of Rose Lake, occurred here this week from influenza. A husband and five small children are left to mourn her demise.

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242462

29 Oct. 1918

Marif Nazarek

Age 27

Died at Willow River

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242488
29 Oct. 1918

Mary Jane Joseph

Age 58

Died at the Fort George Indian Reserve

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-002831
30 Oct. 1918

Percy Hunter Hiscock (Corless Ledger)

Percy Dunton Hiscock (Death Certificate)

Age 29

Born in London, England

Occupation: Lumber mill

Resident of Hutton

Died of pneumonia at Connaught Hotel temporary hospital

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 1 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242469

PG Citizen (Nov. 1): Other deaths occurring at the local hospitals and in the city during the past two days were...Percy Hiscock, a young Englishman.

30 Oct. 1918

Paul Hesse

Age 25 years

Born in Germany

Occupation: Lumber mill

Resident of Hutton

Died of pneumonia at Connaught Hotel temporary hospital

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 1 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242467

PG Citizen (Nov. 1): Other deaths occurring at the local hospitals and in the city during the past two days were ...Paul Hesse, a resident of Hutton.

Headstone: http://geneofun.on.ca/names/photo/2527970

30 Oct. 1918

Anastasia Louie

Age 82

Died in South Fort George

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-002836
31 Oct. 1918

Thomas H.L. Fisher

Age 20, 8 months, 7 days

Born in Bolton, England

Occupation: Farmer

Died of pneumonia at Windsor Hotel

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 4 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242459

PG Citizen (Nov. 1): Other deaths occurring at the local hospitals and in the city during the past two days were ...a young man named Fisher, who has no relatives so far as known in the district. (Nov. 5): The death of Thomas Fisher on Thursday last was greatly regretted by a large circle of friends. The young man came to visit his mother at Lockyer's farm, Salmon River, a couple of weeks ago and was taken with influenza. This developed into bronchial pneumonia and he died after an illness of seven days. All through his illness he was attended by his mother and friends with great love and care

31 Oct. 1918

Garnett McManus

Age 37 years

Born in Kings County, New Brunswick

Occupation: Lumbering

Died of pneumonia at Millar Addition [likely the temporary hospital set up at the school]

Corless Funeral Ledger

PG Citizen (Nov. 1): Other deaths occurring at the local hospitals and in the city during the past two days were Garnett McManus, a native of New Brunswick...

31 Oct. 1918

Hilda Theresa Feren

Age 27, 9 months

Born in Ontario

Resident of Prince George

Died of influenza at 9th Avenue, Prince George

Buried at Port Arthur, Ontario

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242460

PG Citizen (Nov. 1): The people of the community were shocked yesterday to learn of the death of Mrs. Feren, wife of Mr. J.A. Feren, local station agent. The deceased lady's illness was brief, pneumonia following closely after the birth of a son on Wednesday. Today the affliction of the family was increased by the death of a young son of 17 months. The bereaved husband and five children have the heartfelt sympathy of all. The two bodies will be sent to Port Arthur, Ont., for burial.

Dr. Lazier's Record of Confinements: "Oct 29. Prince George. Mrs. Feren. Age 27. 7th [pregnancy? child?] Flue Temp 101. Died 3rd day, bronchial pneumonia. Boy. Circumsion."

31 Oct. 1918

Adeline Fradie Qua

Age 26 years

Born in British Columbia

Died of pneumonia at Miworth

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 4 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger
31 Oct. 1918

Joseph Qua

Age 61

Died at Willow River

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-002846

PG Citizen (Nov. 5): The death rate has been particularly heavy among the Indians, several deaths in the local tribe having occurred during the past few days. Among the victims are...Joseph Qua, sub-chief, and his son and daughter. ...The death of the Qua family was particularly sad. The father, son and daughter had left the Indian village to escape the possible contracting of the disease and were camping up the Fraser a few miles from the village. Nothing having been heard of them for some days, a search was instituted and their dead bodies were discovered in the tent.

1 Nov. 1918

Antoine Qua

Age 37

Died at Willow River

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-002847

PG Citizen (Nov. 5): The death rate has been particularly heavy among the Indians, several deaths in the local tribe having occurred during the past few days. Among the victims are...Joseph Qua, sub-chief, and his son and daughter. ...The death of the Qua family was particularly sad. The father, son and daughter had left the Indian village to escape the possible contracting of the disease and were camping up the Fraser a few miles from the village. Nothing having been heard of them for some days, a search was instituted and their dead bodies were discovered in the tent.

1 Nov. 1918

Harold C. Feren

Age 1 year, 6 months

Born in Prince George

Died of "whooping cough" at 9th Avenue, Prince George [this diagnosis is very questionable, since his mother died of "pneumonia" the day previous]

Buried at Port Arthur, Ontario

Corless Funeral Ledger​

PG Citizen (Nov. 1): The people of the community were shocked yesterday to learn of the death of Mrs. Feren, wife of Mr. J.A. Feren, local station agent. The deceased lady's illness was brief, pneumonia following closely after the birth of a son on Wednesday. Today the affliction of the family was increased by the death of a young son of 17 months. The bereaved husband and five children have the heartfelt sympathy of all. The two bodies will be sent to Port Arthur, Ont., for burial.

1 Nov. 1918

Chief Louis

Chief Louie (Death Certificate)

Age 80 (BC Archives) or 90 (Corless)

Occupation: Indian Chief

Resident of South Fort George

Died of pneumonia at South Fort George

Buried at South Fort George, funeral on 3 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-002835

PG Citizen (Nov. 5): The death rate has been particularly heavy among the Indians, several deaths in the local tribe having occurred during the past few days. Among the victims are Louis, chief of the Fort George band...Louis has been in poor health for some years and fell an easy victim.

1 Nov. 1918

Alphorsine John

Age 24

Died at the Fort George Indian Reserve

Cause of death unknown

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-002830
1 Nov. 1918

Mary F. Seymour

Age 35

Born in British Columbia

Resident of Miworth

Died of pneumonia at Miworth

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 4 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242505

1 Nov. 1918

Katherine Gazimiel (Corless Ledger)

Kathrine Gazimel (Death Certificate)

Age 5

Born in British Columbia

Died of pneumonia at Miworth

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 4 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-002826

2 Nov. 1918

Emma Mocbus [nee Kling]

Age 25

Died of pneumonia and influenza

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242483

PG Citizen (Nov 5): The death on Saturday evening [of Emma] Mocbus, after a valiant struggle with influenza and pneumonia, is deeply felt in the city and community. The deceased lady had been one of the first to volunteer for nursing service when the outbreak of influenza occurred and when stricken with the disease her strength was not equal to a successful fight with the malady. The case is doubly sad owing to the death about ten days ago of her little daughter and only child aged four years. The death of the little one had been kept from the mother's knowledge until her strength was equal to the blow. Besides her husband, who is overseas with the Canadian forces, the parents, Mr. and Mrs. Otto Kling, of Fort George, are bereaved.

2 Nov. 1918

Elizabeth Davidson

Age 50, 4 months

Born in Scotland

Occupation: Housewife

Resident of Prince George

Died of pneumonia at Prince George

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 4 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242456

PG Citizen (Nov. 5): The death of Mrs. James A. Davidson, aged 50 years, occurred on Saturday last after a brief illness. Deceased was a victim of pneumonia. Besides the bereaved husband, a daughter, Mrs. C. McNab, of McBride, and a son are left. The death of Mrs. Davidson is keenly felt among a wide circle of friends. Of a gentle, and kindly nature she was greatly loved by all who knew her. In the work of the Presbyterian she gave her whole-hearted support, and her cheery help will be greatly missed by the minister and congregation. The sympathy of all is extended to the bereaved ones.

2 Nov. 1918

Alderie Pelletier

Age 36 years

Born in Quebec

Occupation: Lumbering

Resident of Edmonton

Died of pneumonia at Connaught Hotel temporary hospital

Buried at Fort George, funeral in November

Corless Funeral Ledger
2 Nov. 1918

Uldenic Pellitrin

Age 36

Died in the Fort George District

Cause of death unknown

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242495
3 Nov. 1918

Johnnie Pierre Roy

Age 49 years, 10 months

Buried at Fort George

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242498

 

4 Nov. 1918

Lee Esties

Age unknown

Died of pneumonia at the Union Rooms temporary hospital

Funeral on 7 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger
4 Nov. 1918

Virginia Qua

Age 35

Died at Willow River

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-002849

PG Citizen (Nov. 5): The death rate has been particularly heavy among the Indians, several deaths in the local tribe having occurred during the past few days. Among the victims are...Joseph Qua, sub-chief, and his son and daughter. ...The death of the Qua family was particularly sad. The father, son and daughter had left the Indian village to escape the possible contracting of the disease and were camping up the Fraser a few miles from the village. Nothing having been heard of them for some days, a search was instituted and their dead bodies were discovered in the tent.

5 Nov. 1918

[Daughter] Jorgenson

4? days

Died at Prince George

PG Citizen (Nov. 5): The death is reported today of the little daughter of Mr. and Mrs. N.C. Jorgensen. Others of the family are reported seriously ill.

Dr. Lazier's Record of Confinements p.94: "Nov. 1, [19]18. Prince [George]. Mrs. N. Jorgenson. 3rd child. Age 26. [Illegible]. Girl. 8 lbs. Flue and bronchial pneumonia. Instruments[?]. Normal recovery."

5 Nov. 1918

 

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242474

5 Nov. 1918

Arona Nordquist (Corless)

Aroud Nordquist (Death Registration)

Age 27 years

Born in Sweden

Occupation: Steam Shovel Engineer

Resident of Bergland, Ontario

Died of pneumonia at Connaught Hotel temporary hospital

Burial place unknown, body shipped 9 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242490

5 Nov. 1918

George Boutiz

Age unknown

Died of pneumonia at Millar Addition temporary hospital

Funeral on 9 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger
5 Nov. 1918

Daniel Nelson

Age 63

Born in Sweden

Resident of Prince George

Died of pneumonia at the Union Rooms temporary hospital

Buried in Prince George

Corless Funeral Ledger

PG Citizen (Nov. 8): Two deaths occurred last night in local hospitals. Daniel Nelson, a man of 63 years, who arrived recently from Edmonton, succumbed to pneumonia. The man had been stopping at a local rooming house and was in an advanced stage of the illness before seeking medical assistance.

5 Nov. 1918

Annie Nizoygit

Age 4

Born in Calgary

Died of pneumonia at Connaught Hotel temporary hospital

Corless Funeral Ledger
6 Nov. 1918

Phillipe Boutez

May be the same person as George Boutiz

Age 19

Died in the Fort George District

Cause of death unknown

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242452
6 Nov. 1918

Frank Dyer Jorgenson

Age 3 years, 5 months

Born in Prince George

Buried in Prince George, funeral on 7 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242473

8 Nov. 1918

Henry Charles Parsons

Age 44

Born in Birmingham, England

Resident of Kinsley, Saskatchewan

Died of pneumonia at Connaught Hotel temporary hospital

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242494

PG Citizen (Nov. 8): Two deaths occurred last night in local hospitals...The other victim was Henry Parson, aged 44, of Kinsley, Sask., who had recently arrived here in search of land.

8 Nov. 1918

Gordon Thompson (Corless Ledger)

George G. Thompson (Death Certificate)

Age 29 (Death Certificate) or 30 (Corless)

Born in Ottawa

Occupation: Grader

Resident of Edmonton

Died of pneumonia at Hutton Mills

Buried at Fort George, funeral 10 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-291344

13 Nov. 1918

Annie Unrau (Corless Funeral Ledger)

Susie Unrau (Death Certificate)

Mrs. Unrun (Prince George Citizen)

Age 33 years, 5 months

Born in Winnipeg

Resident of Prince George

Died of pneumonia at Millar Addition temporary hospital

Buried at Prince George, funeral 15 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242508

PG Citizen (Nov. 15): "The death of Mrs. Unrun, of this city, from pneumonia occured on Wednesday. Besides the husband, two small children are left."

13 Nov. 1918

John Heildman

Age 32

Died of pneumonia at Millar Addition temporary hospital

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242470

14 Nov. 1918

Otto Gross

Age 24

Born in Alberta

Occupation: Farmer

Resident of Czar, Alberta

Died of pneumonia at Connaught Hotel temporary hospital

Funeral on 14 Dec. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242463

PG Citizen (Nov. 15): "Otto Gross, a young man recently arrived from Alberta, died last night in the provincial hospital from pneumonia. He was 24 years of age. A younger brother is recovering from influenza at the hospital."

15 Nov. 1918

Jennie Louisa Westman

Age 33 years, 7 months, 3 weeks

Born in the United States

Resident of Hutton

Died of "grand mal" at Hutton Mills

Buried at Fort George, funeral on 18 Nov. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

PG Citizen (Nov. 19): The remains of Mrs. Joseph Westman, of Hutton, were brought to the city yesterday and laid to rest in the local cemetery. Besides the husband two small children are left.

19 Nov. 1918

Agnes Ruth Keller

Age 30

Died at Dewey of pneumonia

Buried at McBride, funeral on 24 Nov. 1918

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242516

PG Citizen (Nov. 26): "Keller--Agnes Ruth, beloved wife of Charles E. Keller (sister of Mrs. W.E. Palmer and Mrs. Thos. R. Lloyd) died of pneumonia at Dewey, B.C., after a short illness of four days, aged 30. Funeral took place from home of Mrs. Thos. R. Lloyd, McBride, B.C., at 10 a.m. on Nov. 24th."

[between Nov. 15 - Dec. 19, 1918]

Johnnie

Age unknown

Died of pneumonia at the Union Rooms temporary hospital

Corless Funeral Ledger

PG Citizen (Dec. 3) describes the following unknown case, which may (or may not) be related to this death: A man who appeared partially demented and evidently suffering severely from influenza was picked up by the police this morning and taken to the provincial emergency hospital for treatment. He evidently came in from some of the lumber camps, though he was unable to give little information about himself.

25 Nov. 1918

Mary Leizinger (Corless)

Mary Leuzinger (Death Registration)

Age 27

Died of pneumonia [possibly at the Millar Addition temporary hospital]

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242480

PG Citizen (Nov. 26): "The death occurred at the city hospital last night of Miss Mary Leizinger, of pneumonia. Deceased had been ill for a considerable time and her death was not unexpected owing to a frail constitution."

7 Dec. 1918

Andrew Walter Jackson

Age 0

Stillborn son of Isabella and Paul Jackson

Buried at Prince George, funeral on 20 Dec. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242475

Dr. Lazier's Record of Confinements p.95: "Dec. 7. Prince [George]. Mrs. Paul Jackson. Age 23. 2nd child. Boy. 10 lbs..."

Headstone:http://geneofun.on.ca/names/photo/2528690

http://geneofun.on.ca/names/photo/2517686

19 Dec. 1918

Isabella McLeod A. Jackson [nee Allan]

Age 23, 5 months, 2 weeks

Born in Canada [Chief Lake?]

Occupation: Housewife

Resident of Prince George

Died of acute pneumonia at Prince George

Buried at Prince George, funeral on 20 Dec. 1918

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242476 (Date of Death given as Dec. 19, 1918)

PG Citizen (Dec. 20): "The death occurred yesterday at the home of Mrs. Otto of Mrs. Paul Jackson, aged 23 years. The deceased lady had many friends in this district. She was a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Allan, of Chief Lake, and had lived here since childhood. Besides a bereaved husband and little daughter, the parents, four brothers and one sister, Mrs. Norman Heavenor, of Vancouver, are left to mourn."

Dr. Lazier's Record of Confinements p.95: "Dec. 7. Prince [George]. Mrs. Paul Jackson. Age 23. 2nd child. Boy. 10 lbs. R.F.P. Called 11:00. Gave H.M.[?]. 2 PM. [Illegible] large head [illegible] pelvis. Instruments slipped tried 3 [illegible]. Sent for Dr. Lyons. His instruments slipped. Did [illegible]tomy at 5:20. Dec 8. Temp. [?] 100 & 102[.2]. Gave uterine douche [M & E?]. Dec 9. Temp [?] 100. Gave uterine douche. Vulva very much [illegible] & Temp 100. Dec 10. [?] Temp 103. Saline irrigation & uterine douche. & Temp 103.2 Saline (& douche [illegible]). Saline [illegible]. Swelling vulva going down. Dec 11. M.Temp. 104. Douche & saline. Swelling going down in vulva and vagina discharge [illegible]. Died [illegible] from Influenza & Bronchial Pneumonia."

Headstone: http://geneofun.on.ca/names/photo/2517686

28 Dec. 1918

Harman Emmebuan

Age 18

Died in the Fort George District

Cause of death unknown

BC Archives: Death Registration 1918-09-242458

5 Jan. 1919

Asbjorn Osmunson Kjitsaa

Age 29 (Death Certificate) or 25 (Corless)

Born in Norway

Occupation: Lumberman

Resident of Hutton

Died of pneumonia at Hutton Mills

Buried at Prince George, funeral on 7 Jan. 1919

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1919-09-253782

Headstone: http://geneofun.on.ca/names/photo/2528714

7 Jan. 1919

John Anderson Strome

Age 30

Born in Sweden

Occupation: Lumberman

Resident of Hutton

Died of pneumonia at Hutton Mills

Buried at Prince George, funeral on 9 Jan. 1919

Corless Funeral Ledger
22 Mar. 1919

William Hamilton Null

Age 49

Died of pneumonia/influenza at McBride

Buried in St. Paul, Minnesota (PG Citizen) or Wisconsin (Corless)

Corless Funeral Ledger

BC Archives: Death Registration 1919-09-253800

PG Citizen (Apr. 2): "The body of W.H. Null, a G.T.P. locomotive engineer, who died at McBride on Thursday last of influenza, was brought to the city Saturday and now rests at Corless' undertaking rooms. Deceased was 50 years of age and leaves a widow and four children. Tomorrow, accompanied by the sorrowing family, the body will be taken to St. Paul, Minn., the former home, for burial."